Author Topic: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?  (Read 10601 times)

Offline yelped

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 2230
  • Total likes: 58
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #135 on: December 04, 2017, 05:08:31 PM »
before 5.8 it was slower... the with 5.8 it stopped working and now it works very well
Probably because way less people using it.

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 993
  • Total likes: 50
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 17
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #136 on: December 05, 2017, 06:04:08 PM »
but when i go to the deals thread i get "The requested URL /web_login.html was not found on this server." why??
anyone know why now that i get optimum wifi through a netgear extender, i cant access some websites but most websites i can??
🏃🏻Time flies when you're in a rush

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 171
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #137 on: December 06, 2017, 01:33:40 PM »
I thought I'd share I finally got one of these https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LW442N4?psc=1&ref=yo_pop_mb_pd
And what do you know those lost wifi signals are back!! Getting 4 bars better than before maybe cause there's a small
antenna.. however not as fast like I hoped maybe cause it's been a while since my computer had internet updating stuff...and my computer recognized it immediately just had to click by the wifi settings "wifi 2"
« Last Edit: December 06, 2017, 01:41:25 PM by 4yourinfo »

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 977
  • Total likes: 85
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #138 on: December 07, 2017, 06:49:01 PM »
Anyone else notice optimum hotspots in residential areas in nj seem to have changed bands from 2.4g to 5.8 my house which always had a hot spot disappeared and I heard from others saw online the same... My Nexus phone seems to pick it up I guess it's 5.8 compatible...buying a dual adapter for my computer hope that works...
My friend got a dual-band adapter and it works fine. Thanks for the heads up.

Here is it in their own words:

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 171
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #139 on: December 09, 2017, 11:09:25 PM »
My friend got a dual-band adapter and it works fine. Thanks for the heads up.
Your welcome

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 3770
  • Total likes: 14
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 19
    • View Profile
    • Bill Kristol Taunts Kayleigh McEnany: 'You're Embarrassed To Support Trump'
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #140 on: December 12, 2017, 06:07:32 PM »
So I followed this

Yay! My obi is working.

But for some reason, my devices (phone, computer) can not login to the SSID "MY REPEATER" that I set up.
Can anyone think of a reason why?
TIA!
I followed the linked instructions but had troube with step 4. There is no wireless mode "repeater". While OP writes that he is using DD-WRT v24 my router is using v3.0-r29396. I have a TP-Link WA901ND version3.

Would updating to this version work/help?
"I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit."

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 3770
  • Total likes: 14
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 19
    • View Profile
    • Bill Kristol Taunts Kayleigh McEnany: 'You're Embarrassed To Support Trump'
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #141 on: December 12, 2017, 09:40:37 PM »
Should this work on my current version?
http://electrodisc.com/dd-wrt/atheros/repeater.htm
"I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit."