Author Topic: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?  (Read 14695 times)

Online yelped

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 2603
  • Total likes: 87
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #45 on: April 03, 2017, 11:38:01 AM »
If he only uses one PC I'd go with a long-range antenna or his PC. Something like this https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0038Q4AIG/
Thanks.

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 11295
  • Total likes: 580
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 201
    • View Profile
  • Location: brklyn/Israel
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #46 on: April 03, 2017, 01:21:11 PM »
I'm not personally familiar with tmobile, but IIRC this is one of the benefits they announced a while ago as part of the "uncarrier" announcements.

A search brings me this https://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-24795. I guess he shall give them a call.
Actually got a hold of a twitter rep last night and spoke with them, explaining the problem, he told me the service in that whole area is very week and this week there working on adding some towers, and should the coverage not work after that or should things get delayed I will try to get you a signal extender(booster). Time will tell.. but for the laptop thanks though! 
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Online regular

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 589
  • Total likes: 3
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #47 on: April 03, 2017, 10:47:04 PM »
There's no real setup to do (except at some PCs installing the drivers that come on a disk). This isn't an extender for the WiFi but a new WiFi card for his laptop which is long range and can pick up signals farther away.

You just plug it in to the USB port on the computer and it shows up as WiFi 2 under which you'll find all the networks it finds just like the normal WiFi connection of the PC.
That's great. What if the laptop was registered with optimum to automatically login would it still be registered? I know with a WiFi extender it's not. Also if it does stay registered and you make the laptop into a hotspot would any device that I connect to that also be as if its registered?

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 602
  • Total likes: 28
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #48 on: April 03, 2017, 10:58:33 PM »
Actually got a hold of a twitter rep last night and spoke with them, explaining the problem, he told me the service in that whole area is very week and this week there working on adding some towers, and should the coverage not work after that or should things get delayed I will try to get you a signal extender(booster). Time will tell.. but for the laptop thanks though!
For buisness plans they give one (usually for free) no questions asked for regular plans they'll probably drive you a little crazy then agree to give one... if your lucky you'll get away with just a deposit but most likely they'll charge you something for it

Offline gozalim

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 2814
  • Total likes: 19
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #49 on: April 14, 2017, 07:10:17 PM »
That's great. What if the laptop was registered with optimum to automatically login would it still be registered? I know with a WiFi extender it's not. Also if it does stay registered and you make the laptop into a hotspot would any device that I connect to that also be as if its registered?
a registered laptop can be used as a hotspot to share that connection to other devices. (range would be its own issue)

Offline Yehuda25

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 5093
  • Total likes: 22
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #50 on: April 23, 2017, 06:01:05 PM »
I'm trying this setup for a backup network in my apartment, the issue is the dd-wrt setup keeps losing the wan ip for some reason. Any ideas?
To avoid criticism say nothing, do nothing, be nothing.


― Aristotle

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 602
  • Total likes: 28
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #51 on: May 18, 2017, 10:52:49 PM »
Bump
Can someone recommend a cheap extender that'll extend the optimum signal? Possibly one that can be turned into my own network that one day I can add a obi...

Offline chulent613

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 298
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #52 on: June 05, 2017, 06:06:48 AM »
Bump
Can someone recommend a cheap extender that'll extend the optimum signal? Possibly one that can be turned into my own network that one day I can add a obi...

I've added an obi to optimum WiFi without an extender.

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 602
  • Total likes: 28
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #53 on: June 05, 2017, 07:07:29 AM »
I've added an obi to optimum WiFi without an extender.
That's with obi+wifi? I need the wifi signal to go further anyways so it doesn't completely help..

Offline chulent613

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 298
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
« Last Edit: June 06, 2017, 05:59:10 AM by chulent613 »

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 602
  • Total likes: 28
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #55 on: June 13, 2017, 10:23:18 PM »
I have a extender (TP-Link AC1200 Dual band wifi range extender) that's connected to a optimumwifi and my devices are connecting to the extender but can't seem to get Internet actually working... how do I sign in to optimum?

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1071
  • Total likes: 89
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #56 on: June 13, 2017, 10:30:46 PM »
I have a extender (TP-Link AC1200 Dual band wifi range extender) that's connected to a optimumwifi and my devices are connecting to the extender but can't seem to get Internet actually working... how do I sign in to optimum?
Probably no way to sign in manually. You'll need to add the extender's MAC address to the account for auto sign-in. And even then I'm not sure it will work.

Online ExGingi

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 3773
  • Total likes: 384
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: 770
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #57 on: June 13, 2017, 10:56:13 PM »
I've all but given up on various wireless routers.

I recently installed a Ubiquity Wireless Access Point (Unifi AP-AC LR) which I picked up at Micro Center for under $100 and I get much better coverage and no drops.
I've been waiting over 5 years with bated breath for someone to say that!
-- Dan

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1071
  • Total likes: 89
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #58 on: June 13, 2017, 11:03:18 PM »
I've all but given up on various wireless routers.

I recently installed a Ubiquity Wireless Access Point (Unifi AP-AC LR) which I picked up at Micro Center for under $100 and I get much better coverage and no drops.
Ubiquity is certainly a beast.

(Are you referring to the Optimum Public WiFi conversation? If yes, how would you get the Ubiquity to work with it?)

Online ExGingi

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 3773
  • Total likes: 384
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: 770
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #59 on: June 13, 2017, 11:09:00 PM »
Ubiquity is certainly a beast.

(Are you referring to the Optimum Public WiFi conversation? If yes, how would you get the Ubiquity to work with it?)
Not talking about public WiFi.

I guess if you wanted to use that you'd set up a DD-WRT router as a wifi client on optimumwifi and connect the Ubiquity AP to it using CAT5.
I've been waiting over 5 years with bated breath for someone to say that!
-- Dan