Author Topic: CS91's Surprise Trip to the Cayman Islands  (Read 14295 times)

Offline CS91

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
CS91's Surprise Trip to the Cayman Islands
« on: January 11, 2016, 03:57:38 PM »
Introduction

I’ve never written a trip report before, so feel free to provide me with some feedback. I was originally planning on making my debut with a trip report after my MLE trip in two months, but I realized that there isn’t much here on the Cayman Islands so thought that this might be helpful to some.

Back in August, DW and I were thinking of what to do during my last winter break, and we thought that Miami would be the easiest option because we were expecting and our soon to be arriving baby would be four months old by the time my vacation came around. I grew up going to Miami several times a year (grandparents have a place on the beach so it’s a quick, cheap trip) so I’m very familiar with the city and really enjoy going there. I went ahead and booked us flights direct from PHL using Avios (7,500 per person OW from PHL). Once we were booked, I didn’t give the trip much thought until about two weeks ago when JJ and I were texting about meeting up in Miami for dinner one night. JJ being JJ was like “you’re staying in Miami for eight days? That’s long. Why don’t you split your trip up and take a quick trip to the Caribbean?” So I thought about it for a bit, and after looking at flight distance and which islands have SPG properties (I’m a bit limited on points these days because of some other trips that I’m booking), I settled on the Cayman Islands. I also decided that I’d turn it into a surprise for my wife.

I got on the phone with BA (awful experience as usual) and booked us flights (4,500 Avios per person OW, 450 Avios for my daughter OW, and $192.90 taxes in total). Then I called SPG and booked us at the Westin Grand Cayman for two nights at 16,000 SPG points per night.