Author Topic: Smart homes  (Read 2925 times)

Offline efflpetzel

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2121
  • Total likes: 12
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #75 on: November 02, 2017, 11:57:49 AM »

Offline efflpetzel

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2121
  • Total likes: 12
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #76 on: November 02, 2017, 12:03:58 PM »
I put in a hearing system which is a mix of radiant & radiator heating in my house, over 2 floors they're split into different zones.

It seems obvious that each zone gets it's own thermostats which leads to the question, if I want to put in smart thermostats will I need to buy separate ones for each zone $$$$$$?

Offline somefield

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 65
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #77 on: November 07, 2017, 01:04:01 PM »
Why?
B/c its not a line voltage stat. I've mentioned this in previously that it IS possible to make it work if you get your HVAC contractor to rig up some relays etc. It's not pretty and most contractors will tell you its cheaper for you (less labor) to stick with a stat that's geared for your equipment.

Offline ushdadude

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 3336
  • Total likes: 21
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Long Island
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #78 on: November 12, 2017, 11:13:58 AM »
Is there a way to get WeMo light switches to interface with zwave controlled device? My alarm system is z wave but my thermostat and switches aren't.
If you see something that is 50% off but don't need it, walk away and save yourself 100%