DansDeals.com Forums

DansDeals Forum => Tech Talk => Topic started by: yeshivabucher on September 02, 2020, 12:03:10 PM

Title: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: yeshivabucher on September 02, 2020, 12:03:10 PM
im getting fios and dont want to rent/buy a router from verizon can anyone recommend a good modem/router to use i plan on getting 200/200 plan so i dont need anything too crazy would perfer if it has wifi 5 as well
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: mercaz1 on September 02, 2020, 12:07:39 PM
would love to know as well but I think there is a thread for this already
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: yeshivabucher on September 02, 2020, 12:09:46 PM
would love to know as well but I think there is a thread for this already
a quick search couldnt find anything
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: yungermanchik on September 02, 2020, 03:02:38 PM
I got this one (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0145REEA0/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) when that was the same one that Verizon was offering for approx. double the price. I'm sure by now they have better ones...
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: Yisroel Tech on September 02, 2020, 06:07:03 PM
im getting fios and dont want to rent/buy a router from verizon can anyone recommend a good modem/router to use i plan on getting 200/200 plan so i dont need anything too crazy would perfer if it has wifi 5 as well
I don't have a recommendation, but one thing to keep in mind is that you most likely don't really need a modem/router, just any router should suffice. I believe Fios comes into your structure to their ONT device (the modem) and that gives you out a typical Ethernet connection.
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: avromie7 on September 02, 2020, 06:40:26 PM
I don't have a recommendation, but one thing to keep in mind is that you most likely don't really need a modem/router, just any router should suffice. I believe Fios comes into your structure to their ONT device (the modem) and that gives you out a typical Ethernet connection.
Correct, you don't need a modem and any router works.
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: yeshivabucher on September 02, 2020, 09:52:20 PM
really good to know thanks can anyone recommend a router that would be good for this dual band prefered
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: yungermanchik on September 02, 2020, 10:28:35 PM
really good to know thanks can anyone recommend a router that would be good for this dual band prefered
I got this one (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0145REEA0/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) when that was the same one that Verizon was offering for approx. double the price. I'm sure by now they have better ones...
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: myi on September 02, 2020, 10:52:18 PM
really good to know thanks can anyone recommend a router that would be good for this dual band prefered
Do you need it for an apartment? A home?

 Google mesh WiFi routers.
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: zoefoster on September 05, 2020, 05:55:04 AM
google mesh wifi routers  :-*
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: avadah on September 10, 2020, 06:19:55 PM
Have the same question as OP. Do i need to know any specs? The ISP's rent routers or you can bring your own modem and router for free so i need a modem as well.

Optimum says For the best performance you must have a DOCSIS 3.0 modem and a router capable of delivering an 802.11AC connection. Certified modems are listed below. Using a different modem may impact performance.
Arris TM 1602
Arris TG 1672G
Arris TM 3202A
Optimum equipment ensures you will receive the highest quality of service, and gives you free equipment upgrades so your equipment is future proof.

Do i really need to get one of those models?
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: Yisroel Tech on September 10, 2020, 07:16:01 PM
It's not really the same question... because with Verion Fios the question is only about the Router (modem is a Fios device that you can't really buy, and they do not charge you for it) while with your Optimum you're looking at a modem.

You certainly want a device that they officially support (I believe there are many more officially supported devices, not sure where you got those 3). You can have both in one (like the Arris TG1672Gor the SBG7580-AC) or you can have a separate modem (in the SURFboard line, like the SBV3202) and use whatever router you want.
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: Definitions on September 10, 2020, 07:21:25 PM
Have the same question as OP. Do i need to know any specs? The ISP's rent routers or you can bring your own modem and router for free so i need a modem as well.

Optimum says For the best performance you must have a DOCSIS 3.0 modem and a router capable of delivering an 802.11AC connection. Certified modems are listed below. Using a different modem may impact performance.
Arris TM 1602
Arris TG 1672G
Arris TM 3202A
Optimum equipment ensures you will receive the highest quality of service, and gives you free equipment upgrades so your equipment is future proof.

Do i really need to get one of those models?
Optimum and fios run on two different things. One is cable and one is fiber optics.

But anyways regarding optimum you definitely don't need a router that has 802.11AC any router will work fine.

For the modems I believe there are other modems that work for it as well. But for simplicity get one of those models but make sure wherever you buy from that it says specifically compatible with optimum. There's some that only work with other companies.

You can check this thread for more info
https://forums.dansdeals.com/index.php?topic=7266.msg2313253#msg2313253

Also check this link for more modems I believe they are accurate https://pickmymodem.com/approved-modems-for-optimum-cablevision-internet-service/
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: avadah on September 10, 2020, 07:30:24 PM
It's not really the same question... because with Verion Fios the question is only about the Router (modem is a Fios device that you can't really buy, and they do not charge you for it) while with your Optimum you're looking at a modem.

You certainly want a device that they officially support (I believe there are many more officially supported devices, not sure where you got those 3). You can have both in one (like the Arris TG1672Gor the SBG7580-AC) or you can have a separate modem (in the SURFboard line, like the SBV3202) and use whatever router you want.
I copy and pasted it from the optimum website when i said i want to bring my own device. Verizon wanted to charge me $93 for 30 mbps so i started looking at optimum
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: shwarmabob on September 10, 2020, 09:43:50 PM
I copy and pasted it from the optimum website when i said i want to bring my own device. Verizon wanted to charge me $93 for 30 mbps so i started looking at optimum
Are you sure?
I paid $39 for 100/100 the first year with  verizon
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: avromie7 on September 10, 2020, 10:01:36 PM
I copy and pasted it from the optimum website when i said i want to bring my own device. Verizon wanted to charge me $93 for 30 mbps so i started looking at optimum
This doesn't sound like FIOS, it may not be available in your area.
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: etech0 on September 10, 2020, 10:15:43 PM
Verizon wanted to charge me $93 for 30 mbps so i started looking at optimum
That's called "high speed internet" which came before fios was invented. Been there done that. And do not judge an internet plan by its name!
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: yesitsme on September 10, 2020, 11:25:31 PM
With optimum it depends if you plan to use their phone service, if not any docsis 3 should be fine
Title: Re: ISO: verizon fios modem and router
Post by: Definitions on September 11, 2020, 12:46:13 AM
With optimum it depends if you plan to use their phone service, if not any docsis 3 should be fine
Except for
I'm trying to use this modem, but for some reason Optimum is having a hard time finding it. I thought it might be defective so I replaced it, but still not working. Any ideas?

ARRIS SURFboard (32x8) Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem, Certified for Xfinity, Spectrum, Cox & More (SB6190 Black) https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B06ZZGXJKM
I think I had the same issue a while back. I think I posted it here. I'll have to find it

ETA
Yup
Just tried changing to the Arris sb6190 modem. Waited on the phone for 1/2 hour.

Not compatible :(