Author Topic: Colorado (Rocky Mountain National Park #1)  (Read 4413 times)

Online cgr

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
Colorado (Rocky Mountain National Park #1)
« on: September 11, 2019, 04:57:28 PM »
I’m not that good at writing, so I’ll keep it to bulleted points with ratings and short notes where applicable.

Background: This trip in August 2018 was based around a business trip to Denver. This is the trip that inspired me to make a goal for myself to visit every National Park in the US. Rocky Mountain National Park just took my breath away.

Flights:
•   JFK to DEN on AA
  • Award Ticket: 30k Miles+ $5.60 per ticket+ $150 in AAdvantage award fees
•   STL to LGA on Southwest
  • This was a paid ticket
  • We missed this flight even with TSA Precheck because American’s computers were malfunctioning, and we were unable to check in online. We ended up taking a cab to LGA to catch the last flight out to Denver that night.
•   LGA to DEN on Frontier
  • I had never flown a budget airline before, but since we weren’t checking any bags in, the process was smooth, and we had no issues at all
•   DEN to JFK on AA
  • This was a paid ticket

Hotel:
•   Denver Marriott Tech Center- 3/5
  • Cash booking
  • This is a bit of a drive from the airport, but since we just needed a place to crash for the night, it was perfect

•   Westin Riverfront Avon Vale- 4/5
  • Cash booking
  • Beautiful hotel with awesome views
  • We checked in on Friday, and our Gold status coupled with Amex luxury hotel benefits allowed us to leave our room at 4PM. We then stayed over til the zman at a family member’s suite.
•   Hotel Talisa Vail- 3/5
  • Cash booking
  • Hotels in the areas were sold out, so we had to hop around a bit. The hotel was nice and modern, but oddly enough, not very clean. (no actually trash, but hair in the shower, that kind of thing).

Method of Transport:
•   Car Rental- National

Food:
•   Rosenberg’s Bakery- 4/5