Author Topic: Panama  (Read 5997 times)

Offline cgr

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
Panama
« on: September 11, 2019, 05:05:27 PM »
I’m not that good at writing, so I’ll keep it to bulleted points with ratings and short notes where applicable.

Background: We decided on a Tuesday afternoon in July that we’d like to get a way for July 4, which was the next day. We definitely overpaid for most things here, but it was an awesome trip.

Flights:
•   JFK to CUN on Interjet
  • This was a paid ticket
•   CUN to PTY on Copa Air
  • Award Booking: 17.5k KrisFlyer Miles +42.60 SGD per ticket (These KrisFlyer miles were left over from my trip to Singapore, and were just sitting there waiting to expire)
•   PTY to MIA to JFK on AA
  • This was a paid ticket
  • This was actually a Skiplagged ticket, which then continued onto Montreal.

Hotel:
•   Le Méridien Panama
  • This hotel was not too close to the Jewish Community, but Ubers were cheap. The traffic is crazy, so I recommend staying close to the Jewish Community so that food is readily accessible.

Method of Transport:
•   Uber
  • These were ridiculously cheap ($2-$3 for a 15-minute trip)

Food:
•   Panama has a large Jewish community, with a ton of kosher food. We found https://kosher.com.pa/ to be particularly useful.
•   Most dairy establishments use Cholov Yisroel for everything except one or two items, so if you are makpid, just ask which dishes are/aren’t CY.
•   Shabbos Meals- Chabad- 4/5
  • The food and company were great, but after reserving our meal here we found out that the local Jewish community offers meals as well (one shul hosts Friday night, and another Shabbos Lunch). It would probably have been more of an experience to mingle with the locals.
•   La Spezia- 4/5
  • Delicious Pizza!
•   Jeffrey’s Bakery- 4/5
  • Good breakfast place
•   Pita Pan- 3/5
•   Restaurant KO- 3/5
•   Aroma Restaurant- 4/5
•   Aria Restaurant- 3/5