Author Topic: Maldives  (Read 3763 times)

Online cgr

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
Maldives
« on: September 11, 2019, 05:27:27 PM »
I’m not that good at writing, so I’ll keep it to bulleted points with ratings and short notes where applicable.

Background: This trip was based around cheap flights from MLE to DXB to JFK that Dan posted. We travelled in late August 2017, and spent 4 days in Singapore, 5 days in Maldives, and 3 days in UAE.

Flights:
•   SIN to MLE non-stop with SilkAir
  • Award Booking: 18.5k KrisFlyer Miles +68 SGD per ticket
  • Originally there was no reward availability, but I was able to book a waitlist ticket on. About two weeks later, when availability had not yet opened up, I called Singapore and asked them if they were able to open up more availability. The answer was no of course, but they promised to have a supervisor look into it. A day later I received an email that availability had opened up. Looks like they are able to release inventory upon request.
•   MLE to DXB to JFK (3 day stopover in Dubai) with Emirates Air
  • $144.13 per ticket (Thank you, Dan!)

Hotel:
•   Constance Halaveli- 5/5
  • Being Maldives, this was obviously an out of this world experience. Seaplane transfers were included in our hotel package, but unfortunately just as we took off a storm rolled in. We were forced to land on a different island, and after several hours waiting for the seas to calm, were taken by boat to our resort’s island. We had an Overwater Villa, and the service was incredible. They kept our food that we needed for the next leg of our trip frozen in the general freezer with no issues.

Food: