Author Topic: Portage, Indiana with a bite of Chicago (Indiana Dunes National Park #8)  (Read 3224 times)

Offline cgr

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
I’m not that good at writing, so I’ll keep it to bulleted points with ratings and short notes where applicable.

Background: I’m trying to visit every National Park in the USA. This was a short trip in October 2019 to see Indiana Dunes National Park.

Flights:
  • CLE to ORD on United
  • This was a paid (skiplagged) ticket
  • Read about the start of this trip here
  • ORD to LGA on AA
  • Ticket purchased with AA GC redeemed via Annual Amex Travel Credit

Hotel:
  • Comfort Inn Near Indiana Dunes- 3/5
  • I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I needed a hotel next to the park, since I wanted to get an early start in the AM (I landed at about 7:15PM, and took the South Shore Line from Millennium Station to Portage- I didn’t want to delay the train ride til the AM, as this wouldn’t allow for an early start). There aren’t any 4-star hotels in Portage, so I was worried how this would turn out. Thankfully, the rooms were clean and there were no weird smells for once. Nothing fancy but it surely did the job…

Method of Transport:
  • Uber
  • I’ve finally learnt my lesson. I figured I could visit the parks that are near metro areas without renting a car. Big mistake. Ubers within the park were expensive, and the waits were way too long (and the weather! Oh, the weather! You’ll hear more about that soon).
  • Mass transit

Food:
  • Milt’s
  • After my day at the park I went back to Chicago and nipped over to Milt’s- surprise- they’re closed. Since March. No mention of it on google or anywhere else I looked. I decided to hop over to Shallots.
  • Shallots Bistro- 5/5
  • Heavenly sushi, as usual.

Activities:
  • Indiana Dunes National Park- 4/5