Author Topic: Cleveland, Ohio (Cuyahoga Valley National Park #7)  (Read 3468 times)

Offline cgr

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
Cleveland, Ohio (Cuyahoga Valley National Park #7)
« on: October 31, 2019, 12:57:42 AM »
I’m not that good at writing, so I’ll keep it to bulleted points with ratings and short notes where applicable.

Background: I’m trying to visit every National Park in the USA. This was a short trip in October 2019 to see Cuyahoga Valley National Park.

Flights:
  • JFK to CLE on AA
  • Ticket purchased with AA GC redeemed via Annual Amex Travel Credit
  • CLE to ORD on United
  • This was a paid (skiplagged) ticket
  • Read about the continuation of this trip here

Hotel:
  • Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence- 3/5
  • I was looking for a Hyatt hotel (working on elite status via this promotion) situated roughly between Cuyahoga Valley National Park, the Jewish community, and University Circle.
  • At check-in I was informed that I was the chosen Guest of the Day. I received a tray with fruits and snacks to my room, a free beverage, and 500 bonus points. Only issue I had was that my floor had a weird smell.

Method of Transport:
  • Uber

Food:
  • Jade- 3/5
  • Ordered via UberEats pickup ($5 Off Promotion), and had it delivered to my hotel via Uber
  • I have no idea why Dan raves about this place. Egg roll was rather tasteless, and the sesame chicken tasted like a million others out there
  • Kantina- 4/5
  • Had to wait a bit for my food, but Ari was super helpful, and everything was delicious.

Activities:
  • Cuyahoga Valley National Park - 3/5
  • After checking in at the hotel (free airport transfer), I headed to the park. I spent about 4 hours in the park. I wasn’t expecting to be wowed on any level, as the photos I’ve seen from the park were nothing major. I was pleasantly surprised. I started my visit at the Boston Mill Visitor Center, and from there headed to Brandywine Falls.