Author Topic: Charlotte, NC  (Read 2115 times)

Offline cgr

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
Charlotte, NC
« on: November 24, 2019, 02:02:16 PM »
I’m not that good at writing, so I’ll keep it to bulleted points with ratings and short notes where applicable.

Background: I’m trying to visit every National Park in the USA. This was a trip in November 2019 that started off with Congaree National Park in SC. I spent 3 more days in the region visiting Charlotte, NC (1 day), and Charleston, SC (2 days).

Flights:
  • CAE to CLT on AA
  • Ticket purchased with AA GC redeemed via Annual Amex Travel Credit
  • CLT to CHS on AA
  • Tickets were originally about $420, so I booked with BA for 7,500 Avios+$5.60. When the price dropped below $130, I cancelled the BA ticket, and booked it on Cheapoair, applying a $50 GC I had previously earned. (I would never book with them otherwise. Hateful company, horrible customer service, and they charge a booking fee)
  • I visited the MinuteSuites lounge, part of the PriortyPass network, at CLT when I had some time to spare before my flight thanks to TSA PreCheck. Loved it. You get a suite with a bed/sofa, pillows, blankets, a TV, and a desktop computer. They also have a mini bar, but I’m pretty certain it’s not complimentary. They also have showers for a fee. Perfect way to relax before my flight after having been on my feet most of the day.

Hotel:
  • Hyatt House Charlotte/ Center City- 5/5
  • I chose this hotel for two reasons. #1, I’m working towards status via this promotion, and #2, because it is centrally located. I was really happy with my choice. The customer service was great, and I had no complaints.