Author Topic: Columbia, SC (Congaree National Park #9)  (Read 1892 times)

Online cgr

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
Columbia, SC (Congaree National Park #9)
« on: November 24, 2019, 02:02:22 PM »
I’m not that good at writing, so I’ll keep it to bulleted points with ratings and short notes where applicable.

Background: I’m trying to visit every National Park in the USA. This was a trip in November 2019 that started off with Congaree National Park in SC. I spent 3 more days in the region visiting Charlotte, NC (1 day), and Charleston, SC (2 days).

Flights:
  • LGA to CAE on AA
  • Tickets held steady in the $400+ range, so I booked on BA for 7,500 Avios +$5.60
  • CAE airport is the prettiest one I’ve been to so far. It has a grand total of 12 gates, and they have fountains, fake trees, and outdoorsy benches to relax.
  • CAE to CLT on AA
  • Ticket purchased with AA GC redeemed via Annual Amex Travel Credit

Hotel:
  • Gallus Stadium Park Inn, Ascend Hotel Collection- 2/5
  • Big mistake. The room I was assigned at check-in had a horrible smoke smell, and there was some stuff lying around, as though the previous guest had only just checked out and they hadn’t had a chance to clean the room. In their defense, there was a knock on the door before I made it the phone to complain, and they switched my room. This one didn’t have the smokers smell, and was ‘clean’, but the bathroom had a weed stench. Their response: “this is a college town. We can’t control everything”. That I could live down. The part that got to me was the stained towels, and the less then well cleaned bathroom. Only reason they don’t get a 1/5 is because… well, I guess you get what you pay for (although for $80 I should be able to get a clean towel).

Method of Transport:
  • Uber