Author Topic: Trying to install ADB and remove select features from my Flip phone? Any help ..  (Read 4006 times)

Offline ChapsTheMatzav

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2021
  • Posts: 256
  • Total likes: 38
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
You would probably get a better answer posting in the forum here with these questions.

https://forum.apps4flip.com/d/
Take out the first 2 words when using webadb.
Whether you think you can or you think you cannot, you're right.

Offline ChapsTheMatzav

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2021
  • Posts: 256
  • Total likes: 38
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Also does anyone know how to uninstall a system app thru shell. when i try to do it typing "adb shell pm uninstall" etc. it gives me an error something like "adb not recognized" - is this a problem with the phone? i am using a sonim xp3. the same problem happens when i try to look up the packages.
Take out the first 2 words when using webadb.
Whether you think you can or you think you cannot, you're right.

Offline Yo ssi

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 3804
  • Total likes: 1217
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 38
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Did I hear webadb? Learn something new everyday, though I can't imagine it being easier..

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 20K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 20920
  • Total likes: 1615
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 313
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
Did I hear webadb? Learn something new everyday, though I can't imagine it being easier..
Definitely easier for those who are not so so tech savvy. And all you have to go is attach the apk file and or the commands..
 It's a program which helps you install and remove with ease.

 At first glance seems a bit complicated. But after you get the hang of it. It's real simple.
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 20K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 20920
  • Total likes: 1615
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 313
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
I forgot how to enable to location services on the flip phones after installing waze and or google maps, any idea how to enable location services?
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Offline Yo ssi

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 3804
  • Total likes: 1217
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 38
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Quick search brought up

To Enable:

For GPS: adb shell settings put secure location_providers_allowed +gps
For Network: adb shell settings put secure location_providers_allowed +network

To Disable:

GPS: adb shell settings put secure location_providers_allowed -gps
For Network: adb shell settings put secure location_providers_allowed -network

Offline ChapsTheMatzav

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2021
  • Posts: 256
  • Total likes: 38
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
I forgot how to enable to location services on the flip phones after installing waze and or google maps, any idea how to enable location services?
Go to settings? Which phone is this?
Whether you think you can or you think you cannot, you're right.

Offline ChapsTheMatzav

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2021
  • Posts: 256
  • Total likes: 38
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Also does anyone know how to uninstall a system app thru shell. when i try to do it typing "adb shell pm uninstall" etc. it gives me an error something like "adb not recognized" - is this a problem with the phone? i am using a sonim xp3. the same problem happens when i try to look up the packages.
Yes I've removed apps on my XP3. If you are using WEBADB skip out the first two words. I think you have to also use a certain Nusach. pm uninstall -k --user 0 com.android.browser that's the script for webadb to remove the browser...you can do pm list packages and remove any package
Whether you think you can or you think you cannot, you're right.

Offline shabbosabba

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2020
  • Posts: 71
  • Total likes: 146
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Female
    • View Profile
  • Programs: Preschool
I am trying to use adb. I am having trouble connecting my phone. I have already enabled USB debugging. WHat else am i missing that I need to do?

Offline MoYS

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 674
  • Total likes: 42
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
I am trying to use adb. I am having trouble connecting my phone. I have already enabled USB debugging. WHat else am i missing that I need to do?
Pretty basic stuff but ill put it out there. First double check that the phone is in media transfer protocol. Then make sure the drivers are installed. I had an issue that after each successful apk install i had to reload the webadb page in order to connect. 

Offline WonderingYid

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2021
  • Posts: 58
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: New York
I am trying to use adb. I am having trouble connecting my phone. I have already enabled USB debugging. WHat else am i missing that I need to do?
You might have to change the transfer type to "photo transfer"

Offline Jojo202

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2020
  • Posts: 130
  • Total likes: 30
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Pretty basic stuff but ill put it out there. First double check that the phone is in media transfer protocol. Then make sure the drivers are installed.
I think it actually has to be in "Charging" mode and NOT Mtp mode.

I had an issue that after each successful apk install i had to reload the webadb page in order to connect.

+1

Offline shabbosabba

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2020
  • Posts: 71
  • Total likes: 146
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Female
    • View Profile
  • Programs: Preschool
Pretty basic stuff but ill put it out there. First double check that the phone is in media transfer protocol. Then make sure the drivers are installed. I had an issue that after each successful apk install i had to reload the webadb page in order to connect. 
Thanks. That was the issue. I switched from file transfer to MIDI device, and it worked.

Offline MoYS

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 674
  • Total likes: 42
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
You might have to change the transfer type to "photo transfer"

I think it actually has to be in "Charging" mode and NOT Mtp mode.

I switched from file transfer to MIDI device, and it worked.

Quite the 'chalukei deios'. all i can say is that for my sonim xp3 that it worked in mtp. the one i find surprising is @Jojo202 which phone were you using that had to be in charging?

Offline Jojo202

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2020
  • Posts: 130
  • Total likes: 30
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quite the 'chalukei deios'. all i can say is that for my sonim xp3 that it worked in mtp. the one i find surprising is @Jojo202 which phone were you using that had to be in charging?
Lg Exalt and Lg Classic

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 20K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 20920
  • Total likes: 1615
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 313
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
Quite the 'chalukei deios'. all i can say is that for my sonim xp3 that it worked in mtp. the one i find surprising is @Jojo202 which phone were you using that had to be in charging?
Interesting, as I used MTP!
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Offline Jojo202

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2020
  • Posts: 130
  • Total likes: 30
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Interesting, as I used MTP!
Funny. I've done Tens of Lg Exalts/Classics and it wont work for me unless I am off Mtp... Maybe diff computers/setup? Even my with my Mac setup I had the same Experience (I always thought it was funny that no one mentioned this requirement in the ADB tutorials....)
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 11:16:37 PM by Jojo202 »

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 20K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 20920
  • Total likes: 1615
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 313
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
Funny. I've done Tens of Lg Exlats/Classics and it wont work for me unless I am off Mtp... Maybe diff computers/setup? (I always thought it was funny that no one mentioned this requirement in the ADB tutorials....)
Will get you a video if I remember the next time I run the commands.
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.