Author Topic: Email to Spirit CEO re antisemitic FA on Tuesday FLL-LGA Mid-Flight  (Read 559 times)

Offline Shmuli11

• Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
https://www.facebook.com/groups/dansdeals/permalink/10158896578066041/

Dear Ted Christie (CEO of Spirit),

It’s time you invest in diversity training.

This is my story. We are orthodox Jews. We were discriminated against by Spirit Airlines on Flight 604 FLL-LGA on 4/6/21.

I am a CPA. My wife is a Special Education Teacher. We have five children under the age of eight. She is an American citizen and with Hungarian and Czechoslovakian heritage. I am American and Australian, but I am also by ancestry, Burmese, Iraqi, Polish and Russian. I am light skinned; my Burmese-Iraqi great grandparents were dark skinned. My wife’s great grandparents were killed by the Nazi’s for being Jewish. My great grandfathers were killed by the Soviets for running schools that taught about Judaism.

We do not believe conspiracy theories. We stayed home for many months at the start of COVID. Wore masks out of home. We have not been on vacation in over a year due to quarantining. We only caught COVID around January due my wife’s job as a teacher, which was not essential enough to receive the vaccine earlier. We did not play games. We did not wait. We tested instantly and then and quarantined immediately to avoid spreading the disease.

Our vigilance did not save us from discrimination by Spirit. Two hours into the flight a male white flight attendant (and I believe there was only one FA to fit that description) came over to us and started hollering at us, “I’ve been watching you. You are playing games. You are passing around a bag of chips to trick us. I will report you and you will never be allowed to fly again.”