Author Topic: Brooklyn rental question  (Read 1943 times)

Online gozalim

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Brooklyn rental question
« Reply #20 on: June 14, 2022, 08:28:58 PM »
Not disputing, just curious how you come to that figure? And how to factor in the risk of a market correction in the short term as inflated as it is right now?
Person looking within Frum Brooklyn communities. to what extent do market corrections even dip there? has CH seen a dip like that ever?

Online Yehuda57

• Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
    • Squilled
  • Programs: Official Dansdeals salad correspondent
« Reply #21 on: June 14, 2022, 08:33:54 PM »
Person looking within Frum Brooklyn communities. to what extent do market corrections even dip there? has CH seen a dip like that ever?

I'm new to the market, so I can't say, but even granting that CH is crash proof, is the same true for Kensington?

Either way, my main question is the first part.

Offline ExGingi

• Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 19
    • View Profile
  • Programs: בשורת הגאולה. From Exile to Redemption. GIYF. AAdvantage Executive Platinum®
« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2022, 08:42:03 PM »

Yes. At least twice that I can recall. It's hard to tell what might happen if mortgage rates persist above 6% (or higher).

For that amount of bedrooms, you probably need a full house. If you need it long term (+2-3 years), probably makes more sense for you to buy, and then sell when you need to move. A mortgage should cost you around 3-4K.
Always the case, buy and sell don't rent

It's not only the mortgage payment, it's the closing cost (buying and selling), maintenance costs, taxes and insurance, as well as the cost of capital of the down payment.
I've been waiting over 5 years with bated breath for someone to say that!
-- Dan

Offline sguitarist18