Author Topic: Speedtest Snapshots  (Read 25682 times)

Offline BAHayman

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 1944
  • Total likes: 21
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2012, 03:07:53 PM »

Offline myb821

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 7475
  • Total likes: 3
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: New York
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2012, 03:08:32 PM »
of couse from my gnexus

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 56976
  • Total likes: 4797
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16442
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #17 on: January 26, 2012, 03:08:37 PM »
Nice!
I guess I should go outdoors and try again with a full signal!
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline myb821

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 7475
  • Total likes: 3
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: New York
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #18 on: January 26, 2012, 03:10:28 PM »
Nice!
I guess I should go outdoors and try again with a full signal!
lol

Offline elikay

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Posts: 5327
  • Total likes: 10
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #19 on: January 26, 2012, 03:52:17 PM »
lol

Ah ok, if you're looking for a car charger check this one out. One of the usb ports is for a tablet so it provides double the amount of power and thus charges a phone that much faster :)
CMIIW but the amperage is decided by ho much the phone pulls. So it using it with a 2.1 A will not help as the regular charge amount is ~1A

Offline BAHayman

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 1944
  • Total likes: 21
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #20 on: January 26, 2012, 04:12:39 PM »
CMIIW but the amperage is decided by ho much the phone pulls. So it using it with a 2.1 A will not help as the regular charge amount is ~1A
Correct. My phone has a custom kernel that allows 2A IIRC.

Sometimes I forget they don't come like that with stock :P

Offline AsherO

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 20K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 22143
  • Total likes: 676
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 74
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #21 on: January 26, 2012, 05:12:45 PM »
It says it in the screenshot!

That's the server being used, not the location of the device.

First of all please turn off that annoying tapatalk signature.

+1000

uploaded from nyc

Sweet!!!! 29mbps+ is impressive! I'd be afraid of those speeds with a data cap (and overage charges), it could get out of hand very quickly...

My barber needs your support, hes a real sweetheart.

https://www.gofundme.com/f/save-our-barber-shop

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 56976
  • Total likes: 4797
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16442
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #22 on: January 26, 2012, 05:20:48 PM »
Sweet!!!! 29mbps+ is impressive! I'd be afraid of those speeds with a data cap (and overage charges), it could get out of hand very quickly...
The GNex has custom warning settings when you pass data thresholds you set and you can see how much data any app is using and block any apps from using data.
Even at those speeds 2GB is fine if you take it easy on the streaming.
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline yossi4k

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1573
  • Total likes: 7
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: NMB FL
  • Programs: Avis President's Club National Executive Elite Sixt Platinum
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2012, 11:54:42 PM »
The GNex has custom warning settings when you pass data thresholds you set and you can see how much data any app is using and block any apps from using data.
Even at those speeds 2GB is fine if you take it easy on the streaming.
FYI at the rate of  29 Mbps you would use up 2GB in 9.41 min (or 564 seconds) of usage 8)

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 56976
  • Total likes: 4797
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16442
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #24 on: January 27, 2012, 12:04:38 AM »
Considering I use data quite heavily (tethering, streaming Amazon MP3, etc) and over the last 30 days have only used 1.65GB I would say that's some funny math.
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline yossi4k

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1573
  • Total likes: 7
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: NMB FL
  • Programs: Avis President's Club National Executive Elite Sixt Platinum
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #25 on: January 27, 2012, 12:09:57 AM »
Considering I use data quite heavily (tethering, streaming Amazon MP3, etc) and over the last 30 days have only used 1.65GB I would say that's some funny math.
The math is right it just doesn't "add" up!  :P Simple answer is that your not consistently streaming at 29 Mbps.
For the record here's the math: 2Gb=16384 Megabits / 29= 564.96 / 60 = 9.41  8)

Offline Name Changed

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4846
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 13
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
  • Programs: Avis Presidents Club, National Executive Elite, Hertz Presidents Circle, Sixt Platinum, SPG Gold, eBay Platinum
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #26 on: January 27, 2012, 09:16:48 AM »
The math is right it just doesn't "add" up!  :P Simple answer is that your not consistently streaming at 29 Mbps.
For the record here's the math: 2Gb=16384 Megabits / 29= 564.96 / 60 = 9.41  8)

Deff true. Most streams yoo wont get close to that speed.

@Dan - were you getting speeds of file downloading of 29Mbps? I have Verizon Fios in my house and I only get 15Mbps


Offline Mocha

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2011
  • Posts: 2516
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #27 on: January 27, 2012, 11:19:32 AM »
@Dan - were you getting speeds of file downloading of 29Mbps? I have Verizon Fios in my house and I only get 15Mbps
This is from VZW faster than Fios lol

Online Sammy82

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 887
  • Total likes: 44
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: 5Towns
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #28 on: January 27, 2012, 02:35:59 PM »
how do I take a screenshot on my bionic? I tried the power/home buttons together and it just takes me to recent apps.

Offline yossi4k

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1573
  • Total likes: 7
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: NMB FL
  • Programs: Avis President's Club National Executive Elite Sixt Platinum
Re: Speedtest Snapshots
« Reply #29 on: January 29, 2012, 12:56:48 PM »
how do I take a screenshot on my bionic? I tried the power/home buttons together and it just takes me to recent apps.
For Bionic:  Screen grabber from the market works even though the description says it requires root. Under advanced settings, uncheck root required and it works fine on stock bionic