Author Topic: Air Canada Question  (Read 6236 times)

Offline yitrap

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 3319
  • Total likes: 49
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #30 on: May 11, 2015, 02:11:31 PM »
To yourself?
Yup, and for anyone else in the future that may type faster then they process...

Online rileywiles23

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5437
  • Total likes: 76
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #31 on: May 11, 2015, 04:08:13 PM »

I remember reading just recently that AC only opens one F per flight
And this is why you should pause for a second before posting....
Like Ergel said, I specifically phrased the question "AC miles". I read through this whole thread, before asking my question. Thank you for trying to help.
Life is as good as you make it...

Online rileywiles23

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5437
  • Total likes: 76
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #32 on: May 11, 2015, 04:13:47 PM »

Best option is find availability on UA to avoid YQ
You mean flying UA with AC miles ? Also are there any specific options that I should look into in regards to a stopover. I.e. Flying air China, or Swiss where there are no YQ when using AC miles ?
Life is as good as you make it...

Offline travel agent

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 589
  • Total likes: 12
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #33 on: May 12, 2015, 10:38:51 AM »
in order to save some miles when booking with Aeroplan to TLV in J

its possible to book (over the phone only) XXX - TLV - (overnight) IST / ATH & then its only 52,500 points instead of 82,500

Offline yitrap

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 3319
  • Total likes: 49
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #34 on: May 12, 2015, 10:40:58 AM »
in order to save some miles when booking with Aeroplan to TLV in J

its possible to book (over the phone only) XXX - TLV - (overnight) IST / ATH & then its only 52,500 points instead of 82,500
Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 12, 2015, 11:36:59 AM by yitrap »

Online rileywiles23

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5437
  • Total likes: 76
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #35 on: May 12, 2015, 11:48:53 AM »

in order to save some miles when booking with Aeroplan to TLV in J

its possible to book (over the phone only) XXX - TLV - (overnight) IST / ATH & then its only 52,500 points instead of 82,500
Would I have to have the mikes sitting in my aero plan account already, or can I transfer the miles from Amex after they find it, so I can make the booking ?
Life is as good as you make it...

Offline travel agent

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 589
  • Total likes: 12
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #36 on: May 12, 2015, 12:29:21 PM »
Would I have to have the mikes sitting in my aero plan account already, or can I transfer the miles from Amex after they find it, so I can make the booking ?
in order to book you need to have miles, you cant place on hold, but you can check availability before you transfer

Online rileywiles23

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5437
  • Total likes: 76
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Air Canada Question
« Reply #37 on: May 13, 2015, 04:04:36 PM »
I currently see, US flight Phl-tlv on J using AA miles available for date I need. I would prefer to book UA Jfk-tlv instead with AC miles, to save on infant charges. My question is, is it worth it to wait it out for UA flight to open up ? My concern is that, I might lose the US flight availability, and I'll be screwed either way. Or should I just suck up the $ and book the US flight ?
Life is as good as you make it...

Offline Ergel

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 12276
  • Total likes: 510
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #38 on: May 13, 2015, 04:15:45 PM »
If you are looking for succos time, I would for sure book what is available now.
Life isn't about checking the boxes. Nobody cares.

Online rileywiles23

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5437
  • Total likes: 76
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #39 on: May 13, 2015, 04:25:27 PM »

If you are looking for succos time, I would for sure book what is available now.
LOL. Thank you.
Life is as good as you make it...

Offline shmooz

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 1423
  • Total likes: 21
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #40 on: May 18, 2015, 08:50:39 AM »
Is there any way, besides for booking on United, to avoid YQ with an AC award?

Offline JoeCha

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 512
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Avis President's Club, Expedia+ Silver
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #41 on: May 18, 2015, 08:57:47 AM »
Is there any way, besides for booking on United, to avoid YQ with an AC award?
Yes.

Book on:
-CA
-SN
-MS
-ET
-BR
-SAS
-SQ
-LX
-TK

-Fly out of Manila

-Fly out of Brazil

-Change ticket to a YQ carrier once travel started.
"There is no such thing as bad whiskey. Some whiskeys just happen to be better than others" ― William Faulkner

Online rileywiles23

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5437
  • Total likes: 76
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #42 on: May 18, 2015, 09:04:05 AM »

Change ticket to a YQ carrier once travel started.
?
Life is as good as you make it...

Offline JoeCha

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 512
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Avis President's Club, Expedia+ Silver
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #43 on: May 18, 2015, 09:09:31 AM »
Say you wish to fly LH F, you can first book RT on UA and once you flew the first leg you can call them to change the return on LH.
"There is no such thing as bad whiskey. Some whiskeys just happen to be better than others" ― William Faulkner

Offline shmooz

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 1423
  • Total likes: 21
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Air Canada Question
« Reply #44 on: May 18, 2015, 09:46:21 AM »
Yes.

Book on:
-CA
-SN
-MS
-ET
-BR
-SAS
-SQ
-LX
-TK



Thanks! So if I have a lot of Amex MR, but not so many Chase/United points, it seems the best bet would be to transfer to Krisflyer  to book AC?