Author Topic: International Connection in DCA  (Read 4237 times)

Offline Yordai Dooma

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4162
  • Total likes: 33
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA LT Platinum, SPG gold, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, National EE,
International Connection in DCA
« on: May 11, 2010, 10:10:34 PM »
If i am flying into DCA from Canada on Air Canada and connecting with a UA flight to ORD...I am going to have to go through customs in DCA as that is where i am entering. Would 1 hour and 24 minutes be too short to get my bags, go through customs and get to my connecting flight?

Does anyone know DCA and whether AC and UA are different terminals? Will i have to go through security again?

Offline me

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 444
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: YUL
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2010, 10:13:45 PM »
As far as I know DCA isnt such a big airport (ive only been to dulles)

Are you flying from YYZ or YUL? If yes, you will go through customs before you board the plane to DCA...

Offline Yordai Dooma

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4162
  • Total likes: 33
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA LT Platinum, SPG gold, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, National EE,
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2010, 06:31:28 AM »
As far as I know DCA isnt such a big airport (ive only been to dulles)

Are you flying from YYZ or YUL? If yes, you will go through customs before you board the plane to DCA...

Flying from YOW. Would i go through customs there as well?

Is flying from Canada different than flying from Switzerland or Germany?
Wont i have to get my bags in DCA, go through the whole game, and then recheck them again?

Offline me

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 444
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: YUL
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2010, 10:25:31 PM »
I never flew out of YOW but its probably like YYZ and YUL where they have US customs before you board and they land as a domestic flight in the US. It works really well!

(So no it wouldnt be like coming international)

Offline steve2

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 2077
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: outside some Club
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2010, 10:38:27 PM »
 Depending on the time of ones flight alot of the DUB (Dublin) to US flights also get preclearance even into EWR

 I didnt know DCA even had a Customs & Imm

Offline Yordai Dooma

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4162
  • Total likes: 33
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA LT Platinum, SPG gold, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, National EE,
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2010, 01:38:14 AM »
I looked into it some more...it seems all CAN-USA flights are cleared through customs before boarding the plane.

In that case, would 1 hour 24 minutes be enough time in DCA transferring from an AC flight to a UA flight? Anyone know how the terminals and security are set up there?

Offline eliteflyer

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 1454
  • Total likes: 41
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2010, 02:25:59 AM »
There is no customs and immigration at DCA. You will clear customs at YOW

Offline damaxer91

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 3164
  • Total likes: 48
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2010, 02:29:46 AM »
[KVS Availability Tool 5.4.0/Diamond - Reference: Minimum Connection Time [MCT]: DCA]

                                         ** EXCEPTIONS EXIST **
                                                      DD  DI  ID  II  
STANDARD:         DCA                        045 060 060 060  
INTER-AIRPORT:   DCA  TO  IAD           180 180 180 180  
                         IAD  TO  DCA           180 180 180 180  
**END OF DISPLAY**                                              



Offline Yordai Dooma

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4162
  • Total likes: 33
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA LT Platinum, SPG gold, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, National EE,
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2010, 10:33:10 AM »
[KVS Availability Tool 5.4.0/Diamond - Reference: Minimum Connection Time [MCT]: DCA]

                                         ** EXCEPTIONS EXIST **
                                                      DD  DI  ID  II   
STANDARD:         DCA                        045 060 060 060 
INTER-AIRPORT:   DCA  TO  IAD           180 180 180 180 
                         IAD  TO  DCA           180 180 180 180 
**END OF DISPLAY**                                             




Interesting. Where did you get that from? and how does it work?

Offline moish

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 9453
  • Total likes: 49
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA LT Plat, Avis, SPG Plat
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2010, 11:28:36 AM »
better yet, what does it mean?

Offline steve2

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 2077
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: outside some Club
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2010, 11:38:47 AM »
 KVS is a paid service that shows alot of stuff started up by a FlyerTalker go to FT and search around I think the 1st moth is a free trail period

Offline damaxer91

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 3164
  • Total likes: 48
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2010, 11:50:47 AM »
KVS is a paid service that shows alot of stuff started up by a FlyerTalker go to FT and search around I think the 1st moth is a free trail period

KVS is the single greatest invention since Kosher Hot Dogs at Yankee Stadium :)

Though it may be hard to use for those who are not in the "industry"

Offline SuperFlyer

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 8668
  • Total likes: 53
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2010, 07:44:33 PM »
The free trial is not fully (enough) functional.

To Moish, you are right, not very clear. The numbers are minutes I suppose.

As IAD is the main airport and not very big, and made a couple of 1:40 mins transfers (coming for intl) I believe it cannot be a problem in DCA.

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 54109
  • Total likes: 2595
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16441
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2010, 08:02:22 PM »
[KVS Availability Tool 5.4.0/Diamond - Reference: Minimum Connection Time [MCT]: DCA]

                                         ** EXCEPTIONS EXIST **
                                                      DD  DI  ID  II   
STANDARD:         DCA                        045 060 060 060 
INTER-AIRPORT:   DCA  TO  IAD           180 180 180 180 
                         IAD  TO  DCA           180 180 180 180 
**END OF DISPLAY**                                             




better yet, what does it mean?

D=Domestic
I=International.

So 45 minutes is the minimum connect time for a domestic/domestic connection, 60 minutes for any flight with an international leg, and 3 hours for a DCA/IAD connection.
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline moish

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 9453
  • Total likes: 49
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA LT Plat, Avis, SPG Plat
Re: International Connection in DCA
« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2010, 04:13:31 PM »
aha. is this accurate? 45 mins seems a bit long