Topic Wiki

Hidden-City Ticketing.

http://matrix.itasoftware.com/

Using

Searching a one-way from LGA-CLE on 07/06 comes up $500 for a nonstop.
To find a hidden-city ticket:
Search for a one-way from LGA::CLE and then going to CLE and cities within 300 miles and it will come up with the same non-stop flight (along with a throw-away leg to PIT) for $140.
Just don't do it too often and don't check luggage!

There's lots of other useful codes if people want similar demonstrations.
« Last edited by elikay on September 13, 2014, 09:48:55 PM »

Author Topic: ITA Code Lesson #1: Hidden-City Ticketing.  (Read 35697 times)

Offline youG

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 673
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #15 on: June 30, 2010, 06:51:48 PM »
lol, i did it without putting in the code.   just switched from non stop to 1 stop and then looked through for the cle stopover...   code is certainly much easier

but then you have to put in the cities within 300 miles and find cheapest with stopover now that Dan wrote pit made it easier but with this code you don't have to !!

Offline YOSEF

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Posts: 2164
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2010, 07:41:54 PM »
lol, i did it without putting in the code.   just switched from non stop to 1 stop and then looked through for the cle stopover...   code is certainly much easier

when does it pay to look for hidden city ticks in general?  short hop domestic, trans-atl. etc?
My experience tells me transcontinental (lax-ewr, add a leg to bos or rdu), and very short haul, (phl to nyc, add a leg to rdu).
I'm assuming the reason being that the trans-con. is usually alot more expensive for a non-stop, and so is a short haul.

Offline exfallsburg

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Posts: 62
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2010, 10:08:28 AM »

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 53593
  • Total likes: 2403
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16441
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2010, 10:17:33 AM »
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline Monsey

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 474
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #19 on: July 05, 2010, 05:45:48 PM »
Not accurate. For example dtw::nyc to nyc (including airports within 300 miles) on aug 4 the best fare is 561 on co to iad with a stop in ewr however if you check dtw::nyc to bwi then the best is 106 on co even though the original search should include bwi which is closer to nyc then iad is and under 300 miles

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 53593
  • Total likes: 2403
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16441
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #20 on: July 05, 2010, 06:40:42 PM »
Not accurate. For example dtw::nyc to nyc (including airports within 300 miles) on aug 4 the best fare is 561 on co to iad with a stop in ewr however if you check dtw::nyc to bwi then the best is 106 on co even though the original search should include bwi which is closer to nyc then iad is and under 300 miles
Interesting.
Well that just means it's good to include more airports in the destination field.  For DTW::NYC I would also try BOS, WAS, CLE, CHI, ATL, etc. +300 miles in the destination field
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline Monsey

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 474
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #21 on: July 05, 2010, 06:52:37 PM »
Interesting.
Well that just means it's good to include more airports in the destination field.  For DTW::NYC I would also try BOS, WAS, CLE, CHI, ATL, etc. +300 miles in the destination field
can i include more than one city in the destination field or do i have to check each separately

Offline aussiebochur

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Posts: 5321
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2010, 02:59:56 AM »

Offline The Travelin Man

  • DansDeals Copper Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 14
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #23 on: July 06, 2010, 04:11:21 PM »
Not accurate. For example dtw::nyc to nyc (including airports within 300 miles) on aug 4 the best fare is 561 on co to iad with a stop in ewr however if you check dtw::nyc to bwi then the best is 106 on co even though the original search should include bwi which is closer to nyc then iad is and under 300 miles

I THINK (I am not sure) that the issue is that no matter how far from center you search (100 mi, 200 mi, 300 mi, etc.), ITA can only search a given number of airports at once, so it uses the most likely alternative airports.  Just as an example, sometimes when I am checking flights for NYC, I search +/-150 miles, which may yield results for PHL, but not ABE or HPN, which are both much closer.

Offline Monsey

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 474
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #24 on: July 06, 2010, 06:58:46 PM »
I THINK (I am not sure) that the issue is that no matter how far from center you search (100 mi, 200 mi, 300 mi, etc.), ITA can only search a given number of airports at once, so it uses the most likely alternative airports.  Just as an example, sometimes when I am checking flights for NYC, I search +/-150 miles, which may yield results for PHL, but not ABE or HPN, which are both much closer.
i think thats the issue because by me also when i check nyc it doesnt give me hpn or swf and pit doesnt check cak but those are small airports so i understand but bwi isnt small so i thought it would check it

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 53593
  • Total likes: 2403
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16441
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #25 on: July 06, 2010, 07:11:55 PM »
pit doesnt check cak but those are small airports so i understand but bwi isnt small so i thought it would check it
PIT +100 definitely checks CAK.
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline Monsey

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 474
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #26 on: July 06, 2010, 07:15:10 PM »
PIT +100 definitely checks CAK.
are you sure because i think it didnt check for me but maybe it was just so expensive that nothing came up until page 15 (which i obviously didnt check)

Offline Devorah

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 1231
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #27 on: July 06, 2010, 07:21:39 PM »
Sorry if I sound dense, but do you do this using the multi-segment option.  One segment LGA-CLE and the second segment CLE-CLE or anything within 300 miles?

Thanx

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 53593
  • Total likes: 2403
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16441
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #28 on: July 06, 2010, 07:29:30 PM »
are you sure because i think it didnt check for me but maybe it was just so expensive that nothing came up until page 15 (which i obviously didnt check)
Try a one-way from pit+100 to lga and it gives CAK options.
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline Monsey

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 474
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Using ITA Codes.
« Reply #29 on: July 06, 2010, 08:31:17 PM »
Sorry if I sound dense, but do you do this using the multi-segment option.  One segment LGA-CLE and the second segment CLE-CLE or anything within 300 miles?

Thanx
no you do a one way and in the from field you type in lga::cle and in the to field you type in cle including airports within 300 miles