Topic Wiki

I figured that even this thread can have a wiki.
If your computer or phone is giving you issues:

Please read this before posting: 4 Reasons Why IT People Ignore Your Requests for Help
Restart the computer. Hopefully this will take care of any issues
If your problem has not yet been solved, try to Google it. There may be a very simple solution
On a Windows computer, a system restore may do the trick.
(This is a work in progress, please feel free to add whatever you may feel is helpful)


Please post whether or not the problem was fixed

Apple iPhone Master Thread
« Last edited by Thingywingy on May 07, 2019, 08:00:02 PM »

Author Topic: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread  (Read 1021987 times)

Offline DH Data Recovery

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4559
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 64
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #280 on: December 05, 2013, 09:48:57 PM »
I have an HP 510t desktop with 12GB RAM from a few years ago.

Any way to find out how HP configured the 12GB in the 4 available slots?
Think it's 4x2 and 2x2?

Is 16GB the most I can pack into this thing (Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit)?

I believe your system can take 16GB max.

Offline tll

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 208
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #281 on: December 05, 2013, 11:14:52 PM »
Dh data recovery- do you have any advice for me on my dell e510 that wont power up?
No numbers are blinking
Thank you

Offline DH Data Recovery

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4559
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 64
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #282 on: December 05, 2013, 11:19:00 PM »
Does it get any power?

1) Unplug and Hold down power button for 30 sec then connect power and turn on,
2) Try reseating the RAM.
3) Try new Power Supply

Offline tll

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 208
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #283 on: December 06, 2013, 10:16:09 AM »
I tried your suggestions.
I recently replaced the power supply.
I reseated the RAM.
Its still just blinking.
How can I know if its the motherboard and not worth fixing?

Offline DH Data Recovery

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4559
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 64
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #284 on: December 06, 2013, 11:28:35 AM »
Whats blinking??

Offline DH Data Recovery

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4559
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 64
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #285 on: December 06, 2013, 11:29:17 AM »
You didn't mention that, Dell has diagnostics based on blinking lights

Offline tll

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 208
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #286 on: December 06, 2013, 11:30:53 AM »
The amber power light is blinking
No numbers and it doesnt power on

Offline DH Data Recovery

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4559
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 64
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #287 on: December 06, 2013, 11:42:41 AM »
I can tell you that some of these specific Dell Systems are very picky with power supplies and you may need and exact replacement. Some of them also have an issue with the small board that the power switch is on and it may require replacement. You can also try dif RAM or switching Dimms around and the slots around to see if one of them is faulty and shorting.

Offline tll

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 208
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #288 on: December 06, 2013, 11:44:26 AM »
Ok thank you very much for your help
I will bring it in for repair

Offline AnonymousUser

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 3002
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #289 on: December 08, 2013, 09:19:21 AM »
I just bought a new 1TB Internal HD to replace my current 320GB one. What's the best way to clone the old one to the new one? It has 3 partitions: one large partition which is the main partition, a recovery partition, and a small partition which is just marked OEM partition in Disk Management and doesn't show a file system. I have a USB enclosure.

Offline DH Data Recovery

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4559
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 64
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #290 on: December 08, 2013, 11:19:42 AM »
If you know how to use Ghost, that would be your best option. It will clone the data onto the full size of the new hard drive unlike many other cloning software that will clone 320GB to 320GB of your new HD and you will still need to resize the new drive

Offline AnonymousUser

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 3002
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #291 on: December 08, 2013, 12:25:46 PM »
If you know how to use Ghost, that would be your best option. It will clone the data onto the full size of the new hard drive unlike many other cloning software that will clone 320GB to 320GB of your new HD and you will still need to resize the new drive
Is there a freeware program I can use? CMIIW, but it shouldn't be to hard to resize the partition in Disk Management.

Offline DanH

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 2181
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
For tech help feel free to Telegram me @DanTechSupp

Offline AnonymousUser

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 3002
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #293 on: December 08, 2013, 01:25:08 PM »
http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx
Thanks. Is it better to install the new HD and clone by booting to the PE, or is it better to put it in the enclosure, clone it from within Windows and then switch them?

Offline kracked dude

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1900
  • Total likes: 37
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #294 on: December 08, 2013, 09:09:50 PM »
My brother gave me his old desktop when he got a new one. It is very slow takes at least 20 minutes just to startup, is very laggy in performance, has a secure doc program that starts on startup that I can't get rid of among other things.
Here are the specs
Windows XP Home SP3
Dell DIMENSION DIM4600
Intel(R)
Pentium(R)  4 CPU 2.66GHz
2.66 GHz, 512 MB of RAM.

I ran AVG PC Analyzer
This is the results

I am also on a budget.


Offline notanonymous

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 2122
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #295 on: December 08, 2013, 09:19:54 PM »
My brother gave me his old desktop when he got a new one. It is very slow takes at least 20 minutes just to startup, is very laggy in performance, has a secure doc program that starts on startup that I can't get rid of among other things.
Here are the specs
Windows XP Home SP3
Dell DIMENSION DIM4600
Intel(R)
Pentium(R)  4 CPU 2.66GHz
2.66 GHz, 512 MB of RAM.

I ran AVG PC Analyzer
This is the results

I am also on a budget.
Are you in Lakewood? I'd have to dig it up, but I may have RAM.  Do you have the XP CD? Reinstall (with a format).

Offline DH Data Recovery

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4559
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 64
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #296 on: December 08, 2013, 09:23:13 PM »
I can give you about 10 of those systems I have the laying in the corner of my office lol. Imo Anyone that believes the concept of time is money shouldn't use a slow computer

Offline kracked dude

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1900
  • Total likes: 37
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #297 on: December 08, 2013, 09:42:17 PM »
Are you in Lakewood? I'd have to dig it up, but I may have RAM.  Do you have the XP CD? Reinstall (with a format).
Yes I'm in Lakewood. So the answer is adding RAM? Reinstall? Both?
I don't have the cd but I can ask my brother if he still has it.


I can give you about 10 of those systems I have the laying in the corner of my office lol. Imo Anyone that believes the concept of time is money shouldn't use a slow computer
Was this considered slow when it came out or just by today's standards?

Offline kracked dude

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 1900
  • Total likes: 37
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #298 on: December 08, 2013, 09:43:31 PM »
Should I push the fix now button on the PC Analyzer?

Offline DH Data Recovery

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4559
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 64
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #299 on: December 08, 2013, 10:17:36 PM »
Yes I'm in Lakewood. So the answer is adding RAM? Reinstall? Both?
I don't have the cd but I can ask my brother if he still has it.

Was this considered slow when it came out or just by today's standards?
was an old flip phone considered outdated when it came out? No, is it very outdated today? YES