Topic Wiki

I figured that even this thread can have a wiki.
If your computer or phone is giving you issues:

Please read this before posting: 4 Reasons Why IT People Ignore Your Requests for Help
Restart the computer. Hopefully this will take care of any issues
If your problem has not yet been solved, try to Google it. There may be a very simple solution
On a Windows computer, a system restore may do the trick.
(This is a work in progress, please feel free to add whatever you may feel is helpful)


Please post whether or not the problem was fixed

Apple iPhone Master Thread
« Last edited by Thingywingy on May 07, 2019, 08:00:02 PM »

Author Topic: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread  (Read 598389 times)

Offline pixi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 1970
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3180 on: September 05, 2016, 10:53:29 PM »
This screen keeps on popping up in middle using my computer,  I am using windows 10.  Any help? TIA
« Last Edit: September 05, 2016, 10:57:42 PM by pixi »
money doesn't talk......      it SCREAMS !

Offline yesitsme

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 3812
  • Total likes: 1356
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3181 on: September 05, 2016, 10:58:29 PM »
This screen keeps on popping up in middle using my computer,  I am using windows 10.  Any help? TIA
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/14238/windows-10-troubleshoot-blue-screen-errors
["-"]

Offline pcgeek

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 947
  • Total likes: 39
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: פֹּה
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3182 on: September 05, 2016, 11:31:15 PM »
This screen keeps on popping up in middle using my computer,  I am using windows 10.  Any help? TIA
That error is associated with k9. Try reinstalling k9

Offline pixi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 1970
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3183 on: September 05, 2016, 11:37:49 PM »
That error is associated with k9. Try reinstalling k9
That is correct,  I tried to uninstall the driver that  caused this error but I was unable to do so because K9 was using that driver I  had to first uninstall K9 and then uninstall the driver that cause this issue. I'm really surprised on Dell,  I have  called for help (I still have premium support) they scanned my  computer over an hr and at the end they couldn't help me they said my only option is to reinstall windows..  They have no idea what they are  talking about.
money doesn't talk......      it SCREAMS !

Offline pcgeek

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 947
  • Total likes: 39
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: פֹּה
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3184 on: September 05, 2016, 11:51:44 PM »
That is correct,  I tried to uninstall the driver that  caused this error but I was unable to do so because K9 was using that driver I  had to first uninstall K9 and then uninstall the driver that cause this issue. I'm really surprised on Dell,  I have  called for help (I still have premium support) they scanned my  computer over an hr and at the end they couldn't help me they said my only option is to reinstall windows..  They have no idea what they are  talking about.
#OutsourcedTechSupport  ::)

Offline pixi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 1970
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3185 on: September 05, 2016, 11:55:30 PM »
#OutsourcedTechSupport  ::)
It's really a shame that  the biggest computer company should have such a outsourced tech support.
money doesn't talk......      it SCREAMS !

Offline David R

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 1809
  • Total likes: 35
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3186 on: September 06, 2016, 12:02:20 AM »
That is correct,  I tried to uninstall the driver that  caused this error but I was unable to do so because K9 was using that driver I  had to first uninstall K9 and then uninstall the driver that cause this issue. I'm really surprised on Dell,  I have  called for help (I still have premium support) they scanned my  computer over an hr and at the end they couldn't help me they said my only option is to reinstall windows..  They have no idea what they are  talking about.
It's not really Dell's problem. They just want to demonstrate that there is nothing wrong with the computer you bought. Anyone can corrupt Windows or your programs; that does not mean Dell is responsible for it.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12125
  • Total likes: 2175
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3187 on: September 06, 2016, 12:03:15 AM »
It's not really Dell's problem. They just want to demonstrate that there is nothing wrong with the computer you bought. Anyone can corrupt Windows or your programs; that does not mean Dell is responsible for it.
Isn't Premium Support supposed to help you with these things? Why else would you pay for it?
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline pixi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 1970
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3188 on: September 06, 2016, 12:09:23 AM »
It's not really Dell's problem. They just want to demonstrate that there is nothing wrong with the computer you bought. Anyone can corrupt Windows or your programs; that does not mean Dell is responsible for it.
I never said it's dell's problem,  I just said that I as a computer n00b was able to fix this issue myself after a bit of research and playing around with it and they are so called professional tech support and couldn't do anything but to reinstall windows.
money doesn't talk......      it SCREAMS !

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4602
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3189 on: September 06, 2016, 03:22:41 PM »
If my iPad has passcode to wifi network but my laptop does not, can I tether from an iPad (wifi) to a Laptop?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline avromie7

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 6825
  • Total likes: 1386
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3190 on: September 06, 2016, 03:42:07 PM »
If my iPad has passcode to wifi network but my laptop does not, can I tether from an iPad (wifi) to a Laptop?
No
I wonder what people who type "u" instead of "you" do with all their free time.

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4602
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3191 on: September 06, 2016, 04:22:13 PM »
Any way to extract the wifi passcode?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline DanH

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 2180
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
For tech help feel free to Telegram me @DanTechSupp

Offline ari9

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 363
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3193 on: September 08, 2016, 07:56:08 PM »
I am trying to connect a projector that has an HDMI cable to a laptop that has VGA port - is this possible? I think I need a female HDMI to male VGA adapter but having a hard time finding that
TIA

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12125
  • Total likes: 2175
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3194 on: September 08, 2016, 08:30:10 PM »
I am trying to connect a projector that has an HDMI cable to a laptop that has VGA port - is this possible? I think I need a female HDMI to male VGA adapter but having a hard time finding that
TIA
They make adapters, but they're not so reliable. Does either end have a DVI port? They make HDMI-DVI cables that work well.
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline kayef

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 1105
  • Total likes: 18
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3195 on: September 08, 2016, 08:36:17 PM »
I am trying to connect a projector that has an HDMI cable to a laptop that has VGA port - is this possible? I think I need a female HDMI to male VGA adapter but having a hard time finding that
TIA
Do you have a vga cable?  If so you can get this.

VicTsing Gold-Plated HDMI to VGA Converter Adapter for PC, Laptop, DVD, Desktop and other HDMI Input Devices - Black (VS1-VC38BVT-VD)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016HL4CAY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_4mG0xb4PH6R8M

Offline bostonfan87

  • DansDeals Copper Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 10
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3196 on: September 08, 2016, 08:52:46 PM »
I am trying to connect a projector that has an HDMI cable to a laptop that has VGA port - is this possible? I think I need a female HDMI to male VGA adapter but having a hard time finding that
TIA
What make & model is the projector

Offline ari9

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jun 2012
  • Posts: 363
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3197 on: September 08, 2016, 09:23:13 PM »
They make adapters, but they're not so reliable. Does either end have a DVI port? They make HDMI-DVI cables that work well.
Do you have a vga cable?  If so you can get this.

VicTsing Gold-Plated HDMI to VGA Converter Adapter for PC, Laptop, DVD, Desktop and other HDMI Input Devices - Black (VS1-VC38BVT-VD)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016HL4CAY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_4mG0xb4PH6R8M
What make & model is the projector
Thanks!
the laptop doesnt have dvi. I don't have the projector here, but will find out make/model and if it has dvi port

Offline User6669

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 3530
  • Total likes: 213
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3198 on: September 09, 2016, 04:14:27 AM »
Do you have a vga cable?  If so you can get this.

VicTsing Gold-Plated HDMI to VGA Converter Adapter for PC, Laptop, DVD, Desktop and other HDMI Input Devices - Black (VS1-VC38BVT-VD)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016HL4CAY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_4mG0xb4PH6R8M

Will only work to VGA not from VGA.

VGA is an analog signal wherein HDMI is digital - by default a setup using a single cable can't work. The only exception to this is if your graphics/video card supports to send a digital signal via the VGA output. Otherwise you have to use something like this.
".איזהו חכם, הלומד מכל אדם"

Offline Iz

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 6615
  • Total likes: 427
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 13
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3199 on: September 13, 2016, 09:33:08 AM »
Is there a way to tweak settings that a laptop should run cooler (or the fan should run more often/faster)? Thanks.