Topic Wiki

I figured that even this thread can have a wiki.
If your computer or phone is giving you issues:

Please read this before posting: 4 Reasons Why IT People Ignore Your Requests for Help
Restart the computer. Hopefully this will take care of any issues
If your problem has not yet been solved, try to Google it. There may be a very simple solution
On a Windows computer, a system restore may do the trick.
(This is a work in progress, please feel free to add whatever you may feel is helpful)


Please post whether or not the problem was fixed

Apple iPhone Master Thread
« Last edited by Thingywingy on May 07, 2019, 08:00:02 PM »

Author Topic: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread  (Read 594167 times)

Offline Yammer

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 3697
  • Total likes: 215
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3320 on: November 06, 2016, 10:40:19 AM »
You can buy a USB stick that supports it.  You can ask them to change router settings to also support g or n bands.
Im wondering if this makes sense

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-2043772/laptop-detecting-wifi.html

"ur wifi adapter does not support channel of broadcast above 8 
so open ur modem configuration by connecting ur lan cable(192.168.1.1)
find channel and set its value to 1
this will surely solve ur problem."

But when I put in 192.168.1.1 nothing happens because I'm not connected to any network.

Offline avromie7

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 6817
  • Total likes: 1383
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3321 on: November 06, 2016, 10:42:10 AM »
Im wondering if this makes sense

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-2043772/laptop-detecting-wifi.html

"ur wifi adapter does not support channel of broadcast above 8
so open ur modem configuration by connecting ur lan cable(192.168.1.1)
find channel and set its value to 1
this will surely solve ur problem."

But when I put in 192.168.1.1 nothing happens because I'm not connected to any network.
You need to plug in a cable from your computer to the router
I wonder what people who type "u" instead of "you" do with all their free time.

Offline Yammer

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 3697
  • Total likes: 215
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3322 on: November 06, 2016, 10:44:17 AM »
You need to plug in a cable from your computer to the router
Lol...

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4602
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3323 on: November 06, 2016, 12:23:39 PM »
Found one...
Just my experience, but I would avoid WD passport.
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline Centro

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 2973
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 33
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3324 on: November 06, 2016, 09:04:38 PM »
My laptop had some fatty chicken soup for supper and it's acting up now,
It powers up normally but the keyboard is acting up, the touch pad is sleepy and some windows are popping up as if I'd open them,

I already took the entire laptop apart and wiped it off (was barely wet inside as far as I saw),
I doubt waiting would help for this as it's not plain clear water,
So what's my next step?

TIA!

Offline User6669

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 3526
  • Total likes: 213
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3325 on: November 06, 2016, 09:38:59 PM »
My laptop had some fatty chicken soup for supper and it's acting up now,
It powers up normally but the keyboard is acting up, the touch pad is sleepy and some windows are popping up as if I'd open them,

I already took the entire laptop apart and wiped it off (was barely wet inside as far as I saw),
I doubt waiting would help for this as it's not plain clear water,
So what's my next step?

TIA!

If it doesn't get better, you might need to replace the keyboard.
".איזהו חכם, הלומד מכל אדם"

Offline Centro

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 2973
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 33
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3326 on: November 06, 2016, 10:07:28 PM »
If it doesn't get better, you might need to replace the keyboard.
Keyboard is 1 issue, what about the others?

Offline avromie7

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 6817
  • Total likes: 1383
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3327 on: November 06, 2016, 10:16:24 PM »
Keyboard is 1 issue, what about the others?
Seems like there is only 1 other issue - the TouchPad. All other issues sound like the effects of the week primary issues. I would try wiping the contacts from the TouchPad with a wet paper towel. I would also try washing out the keyboard by disconnecting it and washing it out in the sink and wait till it's fully dry before putting it back
I wonder what people who type "u" instead of "you" do with all their free time.

Offline User6669

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 3526
  • Total likes: 213
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3328 on: November 06, 2016, 10:17:18 PM »
Keyboard is 1 issue, what about the others?

Most probably caused by the keyboard.
".איזהו חכם, הלומד מכל אדם"

Offline avromie7

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 6817
  • Total likes: 1383
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3329 on: November 06, 2016, 10:19:13 PM »
Most probably caused by the keyboard.
TouchPad issue is probably not caused by the keyboard but the others are.
I wonder what people who type "u" instead of "you" do with all their free time.

Offline Centro

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2012
  • Posts: 2973
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 33
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3330 on: November 06, 2016, 10:34:54 PM »
Thanks @User6669 and @avromie7

1. About how long would it take for the keyboard to dry?

2. Contacts from the TouchPad, do you mean the this strip?

3. The reason you're not telling me to rinse the pad is because it'll get ruined?

Thanks again guys.

Offline avromie7

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 6817
  • Total likes: 1383
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3331 on: November 06, 2016, 10:39:29 PM »


Thanks @User6669 and @avromie7

1. About how long would it take for the keyboard to dry?

2. Contacts from the TouchPad, do you mean the this strip?

3. The reason you're not telling me to rinse the pad is because it'll get ruined?

Thanks again guys.

1 I don't have an answer for that but shake it out and leave it to dry on a paper towel till it looks dry.

2 yes

3 potentially, a keyboard is a very basic peice of hardware, some water shouldn't ruin it, a TouchPad is not as basic so I can't tell you what will happen if you wash it off.
I wonder what people who type "u" instead of "you" do with all their free time.

Offline Yammer

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 3697
  • Total likes: 215
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3332 on: November 07, 2016, 10:18:19 AM »


Im wondering if this makes sense

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-2043772/laptop-detecting-wifi.html

"ur wifi adapter does not support channel of broadcast above 8
so open ur modem configuration by connecting ur lan cable(192.168.1.1)
find channel and set its value to 1
this will surely solve ur problem."

Will this have any affect on the other users that are connected?

Offline Yammer

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 3697
  • Total likes: 215
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3333 on: November 07, 2016, 12:04:09 PM »
My assumption then is that maybe its broadcasting to 5ghz, or its AC and your wifi card doesnt support that.
Yup it seems that that was the issue. When I connected through my IP address ( http://192.168.1.1 ) I saw  2 Wi-Fi connections. there was a different  name for the 2.4GHz option. Same password different username.

That one worked.



Offline pixi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 1970
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3334 on: November 13, 2016, 04:23:08 PM »
How can I find  my existing windows (10) activation key?  I'm about to do a fresh install and I assume that I'll have to re-activate windows (wrong?) .
money doesn't talk......      it SCREAMS !

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1819
  • Total likes: 235
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3335 on: November 13, 2016, 04:34:50 PM »
How can I find  my existing windows (10) activation key?  I'm about to do a fresh install and I assume that I'll have to re-activate windows (wrong?) .
You should not have to re-activate, to make sure you can always re-activate easily (if you are running the July 2016 update of Windows 10) you can simply sign in to a Microsoft Account on the activation page (Select the Start  button, select Settings>Update & security>Activation) then it'll say on the page Windows is activated with a digital license linked to your Microsoft account, and that way when you'll reinstall Windows it'll activate once you're signing in with your MS account.

I don't know what way you plan to do the fresh install, but the easiest way is with the special Windows 10 tool for this, see here https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10startfresh

Offline DanH

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 2180
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3336 on: November 13, 2016, 04:45:56 PM »
How can I find  my existing windows (10) activation key?  I'm about to do a fresh install and I assume that I'll have to re-activate windows (wrong?) .
As Yisroel said - you don't need to know your key.  Once your machine is activated once, Microsoft will always activate an install of Windows 10 on that machine.
For tech help feel free to Telegram me @DanTechSupp

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1819
  • Total likes: 235
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3337 on: November 13, 2016, 04:49:15 PM »
As Yisroel said - you don't need to know your key.  Once your machine is activated once, Microsoft will always activate an install of Windows 10 on that machine.
Except in the case of a big hardware change (motherboard or CPU etc.) it might make problems unless - as said - the license is linked to the Microsoft account.

Offline pixi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 1970
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3338 on: November 14, 2016, 12:22:58 AM »
You should not have to re-activate, to make sure you can always re-activate easily (if you are running the July 2016 update of Windows 10) you can simply sign in to a Microsoft Account on the activation page (Select the Start  button, select Settings>Update & security>Activation) then it'll say on the page Windows is activated with a digital license linked to your Microsoft account, and that way when you'll reinstall Windows it'll activate once you're signing in with your MS account.

I don't know what way you plan to do the fresh install, but the easiest way is with the special Windows 10 tool for this, see here https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10startfresh

Thank you for the information .  I wasn't sure how to do  fresh install of windows 10 but the link you provided seems to be very simple.  (my computer got  infected with some viruses, not AVG nor avast were able to detect it so didn't malwarebyts, so I decided to do a fresh install and get over it,  maybe you have some  advice for that too)
money doesn't talk......      it SCREAMS !

Offline pixi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 1970
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3339 on: November 14, 2016, 12:26:31 AM »
Except in the case of a big hardware change (motherboard or CPU etc.) it might make problems unless - as said - the license is linked to the Microsoft account.
Thanks,  but that is not the case here.
money doesn't talk......      it SCREAMS !