Topic Wiki

I figured that even this thread can have a wiki.
If your computer or phone is giving you issues:

Please read this before posting: 4 Reasons Why IT People Ignore Your Requests for Help
Restart the computer. Hopefully this will take care of any issues
If your problem has not yet been solved, try to Google it. There may be a very simple solution
On a Windows computer, a system restore may do the trick.
(This is a work in progress, please feel free to add whatever you may feel is helpful)


Please post whether or not the problem was fixed

Apple iPhone Master Thread
« Last edited by Thingywingy on May 07, 2019, 08:00:02 PM »

Author Topic: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread  (Read 374135 times)

Offline pcgeek

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 839
  • Total likes: 17
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: פֹּה
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3345 on: November 14, 2016, 12:34:10 PM »
Can my computer get infected by just opening  a website without downloading anything?
Short answer: yes

Offline shulem92

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 2882
  • Total likes: 83
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3346 on: November 14, 2016, 12:54:32 PM »
Is there a way to check if a site is reliable?

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1443
  • Total likes: 138
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3347 on: November 14, 2016, 01:01:29 PM »
Is there a way to check if a site is reliable?
Not really something, one size fits all, that can be used as a yes or no.

It really depends in the kind of site Downloads, Shopping, forums, etc. Each kind of site has different ways to check, and a lot of times you need to have the touch for it to be able to observe signs of legitimacy or otherwise.

Offline jackofall

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 641
  • Total likes: 18
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3348 on: November 14, 2016, 03:16:51 PM »
I need an encryption certificate for outlook to send encrypted emails, any suggestions?
If you focus on being a boss, you will never be a leader. Leaders lead people to growth and improvement.

Offline DanH

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 2162
  • Total likes: 24
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3349 on: November 14, 2016, 04:17:55 PM »
For tech help feel free to Telegram me @DanTechSupp

Offline pixi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 1968
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3350 on: November 14, 2016, 10:09:18 PM »
Is there a way to check if a site is reliable?
Do some research on google.
money doesn't talk......      it SCREAMS !

Offline David R

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 1626
  • Total likes: 10
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3351 on: November 16, 2016, 01:23:58 AM »
Is there a way to check if a site is reliable?
On some level, the Chrome browser itself checks for infected sites. In addition to that, some of the antivirus programs offer a toolbar for the web browsers.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 9455
  • Total likes: 333
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3352 on: November 22, 2016, 10:16:41 AM »
Anyone know if this DDMS monitor deal would work with a laptop that just has one HDMI port?
http://www.dansdeals.com/archives/99010#comment-1291921
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline David R

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 1626
  • Total likes: 10
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3353 on: November 22, 2016, 07:59:50 PM »
Anyone know if this DDMS monitor deal would work with a laptop that just has one HDMI port?
http://www.dansdeals.com/archives/99010#comment-1291921
It says it comes with a DVI cable. So you have two cheap options for using one of the monitors with your laptop:
1. Get a female DVI to male HDMI adapter and use it together with the DVI cable it comes with.
2. Get a DVI male to HDMI male cable of the desired length.

If you need to use both of the monitors that come with this deal with your laptop, you would have to connect the second one using some other port, for example USB. That adapter costs somewhat more and may result in some lagging of the picture.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 9455
  • Total likes: 333
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3354 on: November 22, 2016, 08:01:59 PM »
It says it comes with a DVI cable. So you have two cheap options for using one of the monitors with your laptop:
1. Get a female DVI to male HDMI adapter and use it together with the DVI cable it comes with.
2. Get a DVI male to HDMI male cable of the desired length.

If you need to use both of the monitors that come with this deal with your laptop, you would have to connect the second one using some other port, for example USB. That adapter costs somewhat more and may result in some lagging of the picture.
Thanks!

This deal is dead, but I'd still like to get a 2-monitor setup. Is there any good way to  connect 2 monitors to a laptop with one HDMI port?
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline avromie7

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 4417
  • Total likes: 159
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3355 on: November 22, 2016, 08:11:28 PM »
Thanks!

This deal is dead, but I'd still like to get a 2-monitor setup. Is there any good way to  connect 2 monitors to a laptop with one HDMI port?
Dell docking station (d1000 or d3100)
ETA: there are cheaper options but I've had the best experience by far with dell
I wonder what people who type "u" instead of "you" do with all their free time.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1443
  • Total likes: 138
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3356 on: November 22, 2016, 08:13:23 PM »
Thanks!

This deal is dead, but I'd still like to get a 2-monitor setup. Is there any good way to  connect 2 monitors to a laptop with one HDMI port?
From the HDMI you cannot power two monitors, no such thing. But..., as etech0 said, you can do one monitor with the HDMI and the 2nd with a USB to VGA or DVI adapter (it is not a cheap adapter because it is basically an external graphics card) like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815343002

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 9455
  • Total likes: 333
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3357 on: November 22, 2016, 10:46:19 PM »
Dell docking station (d1000 or d3100)
ETA: there are cheaper options but I've had the best experience by far with dell
Thanks! Does it have to be used with a Dell laptop / Dell monitors, or does it work with any brand?
From the HDMI you cannot power two monitors, no such thing. But..., as etech0 said, you can do one monitor with the HDMI and the 2nd with a USB to VGA or DVI adapter (it is not a cheap adapter because it is basically an external graphics card) like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815343002
Thank you!
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 9455
  • Total likes: 333
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3358 on: November 23, 2016, 03:18:48 PM »
Where's the best place to get an SSD, warranty-wise? And also deal-wise :)
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline avromie7

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 4417
  • Total likes: 159
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3359 on: November 23, 2016, 03:26:55 PM »


Thanks! Does it have to be used with a Dell laptop / Dell monitors, or does it work with any brand?Thank you!
laptop brand makes no difference ( I saw the d1000 for $70 from amazon today)
I wonder what people who type "u" instead of "you" do with all their free time.