Topic Wiki

I figured that even this thread can have a wiki.
If your computer or phone is giving you issues:

• Please read this before posting: 4 Reasons Why IT People Ignore Your Requests for Help
• Restart the computer. Hopefully this will take care of any issues
• If your problem has not yet been solved, try to Google it. There may be a very simple solution
• On a Windows computer, a system restore may do the trick.
(This is a work in progress, please feel free to add whatever you may feel is helpful)


Please post whether or not the problem was fixed

Apple iPhone Master Thread
« Last edited by Thingywingy on May 07, 2019, 08:00:02 PM »

Author Topic: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread  (Read 466652 times)

Offline Yo ssi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 1045
  • Total likes: 272
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 15
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5475 on: July 16, 2020, 10:48:47 PM »
What do you mean you can't do? You press Type Shortcut and press (when the "press the keys" box is open) Alt+F4 and it doesn't recognize it?
Correct. It's as if nothing is pressed.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11312
  • Total likes: 1346
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5476 on: July 16, 2020, 10:51:32 PM »
Correct. It's as if nothing is pressed.
I wonder if it's trying to close the window :)
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Yo ssi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 1045
  • Total likes: 272
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 15
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5477 on: July 16, 2020, 11:01:29 PM »
I wonder if it's trying to close the window :)
It's definitely not, don't forget in order to close the window I need to use the function key..

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11312
  • Total likes: 1346
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5478 on: July 16, 2020, 11:02:50 PM »
Good point!

It's possible that windows doesn't let you remap that key combination for some reason
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1650
  • Total likes: 188
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5479 on: July 16, 2020, 11:04:05 PM »
It's definitely not, don't forget in order to close the window I need to use the function key…
How about selecting it manually from the list? (Press the Type Shortcut and then only F4 to see what name it give it.)

Offline Yo ssi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 1045
  • Total likes: 272
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 15
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5480 on: July 16, 2020, 11:18:43 PM »
How about selecting it manually from the list? (Press the Type Shortcut and then only F4 to see what name it give it.)
Nothing shows up, which entry in the list should I put?

Similar to this problem
https://github.com/microsoft/PowerToys/issues/4905
« Last Edit: July 16, 2020, 11:29:07 PM by Yo ssi »

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1650
  • Total likes: 188
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5481 on: July 16, 2020, 11:46:30 PM »
Nothing shows up, which entry in the list should I put?

Similar to this problem
https://github.com/microsoft/PowerToys/issues/4905
Oh got it, indeed the Brightness and Keyboard light ones on my Surface also do not work.

So for now you can use ALT+F3 as you said but Subscribe to the GitHub issues to see when they possibly resolve it.

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4530
  • Total likes: 24
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5482 on: July 20, 2020, 12:37:34 PM »
All the PDF's I open in Adobe are in red. Any clue how to change that setting?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11312
  • Total likes: 1346
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5483 on: July 20, 2020, 01:55:07 PM »
Any thoughts on cisco vs netgear for ethernet switches? Cisco seems to be more expensive, are they better in any way?
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline kayef

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 1085
  • Total likes: 15
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5484 on: July 20, 2020, 03:02:29 PM »
Any thoughts on cisco vs netgear for ethernet switches? Cisco seems to be more expensive, are they better in any way?
What functionality are you looking for?

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11312
  • Total likes: 1346
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5485 on: July 20, 2020, 04:24:49 PM »
What functionality are you looking for?
Nothing specific, buying this for an office that runs a bunch of phones and computers over the internet, and the boss said to find out if cisco will be better. I doubt it's a question of features, probably just speed and reliability.
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1650
  • Total likes: 188
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5486 on: July 20, 2020, 06:32:43 PM »
Nothing specific, buying this for an office that runs a bunch of phones and computers over the internet, and the boss said to find out if cisco will be better. I doubt it's a question of features, probably just speed and reliability.
Managed or unmanaged?

Netgear is very reliable as well (in our office we use Netgear and Ubiquity and both never made any slowdowns or issue.) If you're talking about managed (Cisco has unmanaged?) you can probably get much more advanced (but not as easy) with Cisco.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1650
  • Total likes: 188
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5487 on: July 20, 2020, 06:33:11 PM »
All the PDF's I open in Adobe are in red. Any clue how to change that setting?
Where is it red? Maybe post a screenshot.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11312
  • Total likes: 1346
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5488 on: July 20, 2020, 06:33:40 PM »
Managed or unmanaged?

Netgear is very reliable as well (in our office we use Netgear and Ubiquity and both never made any slowdowns or issue.) If you're talking about managed (Cisco has unmanaged?) you can probably get much more advanced (but not as easy) with Cisco.
I don't know the difference between managed and unmanaged. Does that answer the question by any chance?
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1650
  • Total likes: 188
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5489 on: July 20, 2020, 06:38:25 PM »
I don't know the difference between managed and unmanaged. Does that answer the question by any chance?
Maybe  ;)

Managed means you can do a lot of configuration in it for advanced routing (VLANs and much more), unmanaged are simple dumb (not a bad thing) switches.

Are you doing PoE or not?

Maybe post the products you're comparing prices for (Netgear vs Cisco) since it's possible they are not in the same product type at all (Cisco does have Unmanaged as well, checked now.)