Topic Wiki

I figured that even this thread can have a wiki.
If your computer or phone is giving you issues:

• Please read this before posting: 4 Reasons Why IT People Ignore Your Requests for Help
• Restart the computer. Hopefully this will take care of any issues
• If your problem has not yet been solved, try to Google it. There may be a very simple solution
• On a Windows computer, a system restore may do the trick.
(This is a work in progress, please feel free to add whatever you may feel is helpful)


Please post whether or not the problem was fixed

Apple iPhone Master Thread
« Last edited by Thingywingy on May 07, 2019, 08:00:02 PM »

Author Topic: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread  (Read 581290 times)

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1808
  • Total likes: 232
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5740 on: April 08, 2021, 10:28:59 AM »
Is there a way to upload multiple files (about 100) and simultaneously boost the speed of the audio by 2x and then download them?
With Audacity you should be able to do it pretty easily. See https://lifehacker.com/how-do-i-speed-up-hundreds-of-audio-files-5458052

Offline sguitarist18

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 1418
  • Total likes: 250
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5741 on: May 05, 2021, 03:52:47 PM »
Does anyone here have knowledge of how much a server should cost in terms of hardware and setup?

Offline yoshyosh

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 911
  • Total likes: 116
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 147
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5742 on: May 05, 2021, 04:40:30 PM »
Does anyone here have knowledge of how much a server should cost in terms of hardware and setup?
For what use? 2k - 500k+

Offline Yo ssi

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2019
  • Posts: 3893
  • Total likes: 1230
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 38
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5743 on: May 07, 2021, 05:32:40 PM »
Does anyone here have knowledge of how much a server should cost in terms of hardware and setup?
Wrong thread, your question is similar to asking how much a computer costs or how much a house costs..

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4603
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5744 on: May 12, 2021, 04:07:52 PM »
Is there any way to have word autosave locally, instead of to onedrive?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1808
  • Total likes: 232
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5745 on: May 12, 2021, 05:10:34 PM »
Is there any way to have word autosave locally, instead of to onedrive?
I believe no.

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4603
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5746 on: May 12, 2021, 06:23:18 PM »
I believe no.
Thanks. Just to clarify, this even if I own, as opposed to a 365 subscription?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline biobook

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 675
  • Total likes: 842
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5747 on: May 12, 2021, 06:45:29 PM »
Thanks. Just to clarify, this even if I own, as opposed to a 365 subscription?
Does this work?:
Open a Word doc, > File, then Options (bottom of navigation bar)
A window pops up with Word Options.  > Save, and it lets you change the autosave location.
I haven't tried it, but it looks doable.  I think I own this Word, and that everything is saved locally, including autosave.

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4603
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5748 on: May 13, 2021, 12:39:33 AM »
Does this work?:
Open a Word doc, > File, then Options (bottom of navigation bar)
A window pops up with Word Options.  > Save, and it lets you change the autosave location.
I haven't tried it, but it looks doable.  I think I own this Word, and that everything is saved locally, including autosave.
Thanks for responding. I think that the "Default local file location", 9 lines down in that window, refer to AutoRecovery as opposed to AutoSave.
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline biobook

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 675
  • Total likes: 842
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5749 on: May 13, 2021, 11:33:05 AM »
Thanks for responding. I think that the "Default local file location", 9 lines down in that window, refer to AutoRecovery as opposed to AutoSave.
Microsoft seems to think that AutoSave is something they invented for the online version (365):
"AutoSave is a new feature available in Excel, Word, and PowerPoint for Microsoft 365 subscribers that saves your file automatically, every few seconds, as you work. "
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/what-is-autosave-6d6bd723-ebfd-4e40-b5f6-ae6e8088f7a5

And the bought (non-subscription) version doesn't have that ability to save every few seconds.  The closest you can get to that is to decrease the AutoRecover to 10 or 5 or even 1 minute, and to remember to hit the Save when you're written something particular brilliant.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/help-protect-your-files-in-case-of-a-crash-551c29b1-6a4b-4415-a3ff-a80415b92f99#ID0EBBH=Newer_versions

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4603
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5750 on: June 08, 2021, 09:14:23 AM »
When I leave my Dell XPS 13 (9380) on battery overnight, I find that that the battery gets depleted very significantly. It seems like the sleep function is not property functioning. Any suggestions? Thanks
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12112
  • Total likes: 2165
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5751 on: June 08, 2021, 09:26:52 AM »
When I leave my Dell XPS 13 (9380) on battery overnight, I find that that the battery gets depleted very significantly. It seems like the sleep function is not property functioning. Any suggestions? Thanks
Have same problem with my Inspiron
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1808
  • Total likes: 232
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5752 on: June 08, 2021, 09:30:45 AM »
When I leave my Dell XPS 13 (9380) on battery overnight, I find that that the battery gets depleted very significantly. It seems like the sleep function is not property functioning. Any suggestions? Thanks
Have same problem with my Inspiron
Does it actually go to sleep, is it staying sleeping the whole time?

Look at this to try to figure that out https://www.ghacks.net/2013/12/31/find-pc-wakes-stop/

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12112
  • Total likes: 2165
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5753 on: June 08, 2021, 09:35:34 AM »
Does it actually go to sleep, is it staying sleeping the whole time?

Look at this to try to figure that out https://www.ghacks.net/2013/12/31/find-pc-wakes-stop/
Doesn't go to sleep. I put it to sleep but it wakes itself back up immediately.
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4603
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5754 on: June 08, 2021, 09:55:00 AM »
I didn't figure it out from event viewer but from the same article it seems that a common source for the problem is it being waked by the network. The article suggests disabling "allow this device to wake the computer. Trying to follow their instruction but it seems that there is no longer a power management tab for network adapter in device manager...?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1808
  • Total likes: 232
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5755 on: June 08, 2021, 10:00:21 AM »
I didn't figure it out from event viewer but from the same article it seems that a common source for the problem is it being waked by the network. The article suggests disabling "allow this device to wake the computer. Trying to follow their instruction but it seems that there is no longer a power management tab for network adapter in device manager...?
I think that depends on your driver, maybe try updating or reinstalling from manufacturer's site.

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4603
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 24
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5756 on: June 08, 2021, 10:10:19 AM »
By the manufacturer, you mean Dell or Qualcomm? When I check Dell update, it doesn't show any updates for drivers? It does show a Bios update but I'm guessing that is unrelated...?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1808
  • Total likes: 232
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5757 on: June 08, 2021, 10:16:42 AM »
By the manufacturer, you mean Dell or Qualcomm? When I check Dell update, it doesn't show any updates for drivers? It does show a Bios update but I'm guessing that is unrelated...?
Meant Dell.

Not update, sometimes later versions were coming from Microsoft and not from Dell, but uninstall and install from their site.

Offline ah giten

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 1530
  • Total likes: 239
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5758 on: July 02, 2021, 04:21:19 PM »
I bought an HP gaming desktop on sale. My plan was to swap out the GPU and sell it, leaving me with a great desktop for a great price.

I need the PC for office work, no gaming.

It needs to be able to handle Adobe PS, AI, etc. A lot of browser tabs, and MS office, running simultaneously.
Can anyone tell me if this will fit my needs, or I should rather buy something that was built for my needs?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.


https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp-pavilion-gaming-desktop-tg01-2176z-bundle-pc
 
Product specifications
Operating system
Windows 10 Home 64
Processor
AMD Ryzen™ 7 5700G (3.8 GHz base clock, up to 4.6 GHz max boost clock, 16 MB L3 cache, 8 cores)
][6,7]
Graphics
Integrated: AMD Radeon™ Graphics
 Discrete: NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 3060 (12 GB GDDR6 dedicated)
Memory
16 GB DDR4-3200 MHz RAM (2 x 8 GB)
Memory slots
2 DIMM
Storage
512 GB PCIe® NVMe™ M.2 SSD
Secondary storage
1 TB 7200 rpm SATA HDD
Memory card device
HP 3-in-1 memory card reader
Network interface
Integrated 10/100/1000 GbE LAN
Wireless technology
Realtek RTL8822CE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac (2x2) Wi-Fi® and Bluetooth® 5 combo
Power supply
400 W Gold efficiency power supply
External I/O Ports
Front:1 SuperSpeed USB Type-C® 5Gbps signaling rate; 4 SuperSpeed USB Type-A 5Gbps signaling rate; 1 headphone/microphone combo
 Rear:4 USB 2.0 Type-A; 1 audio-in; 1 audio-out; 1 microphone; 1 RJ-45

Expansion slots
2 M.2; 1 PCIe x16; 1 PCIe x1
Video connector
1 HDMI; 3 DisplayPort™
Audio
]5.1 surround sound
 
« Last Edit: July 02, 2021, 04:33:02 PM by ah giten »

Offline stv17

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 76
  • Total likes: 3
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: N.Y.
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5759 on: July 15, 2021, 10:11:39 AM »
I have a MSI Laptop which the last few days the touchpad cursor is out of control. whenever i move the cursor on the laptop it opens up different files and on websites it opens up every thing that i just move over it(i.e. ads, videos etc.). Although, when i hook my laptop to a second screen which i use when i work, it acts normal.

Anyone knows a solution?

TYVM