Topic Wiki

I figured that even this thread can have a wiki.
If your computer or phone is giving you issues:

Please read this before posting: 4 Reasons Why IT People Ignore Your Requests for Help
Restart the computer. Hopefully this will take care of any issues
If your problem has not yet been solved, try to Google it. There may be a very simple solution
On a Windows computer, a system restore may do the trick.
(This is a work in progress, please feel free to add whatever you may feel is helpful)


Please post whether or not the problem was fixed

Apple iPhone Master Thread
« Last edited by Thingywingy on May 07, 2019, 08:00:02 PM »

Author Topic: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread  (Read 521751 times)

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1724
  • Total likes: 209
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3735 on: January 31, 2017, 05:53:55 PM »
yes! In the list when I added it, it then showed me 2 users: realname, and realname_2.

In C:\Users, all I see is fakename and Public. Do I have to log into that new account for it to make a User folder?
Yes, I think so.

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11852
  • Total likes: 1799
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3736 on: January 31, 2017, 07:45:14 PM »
Yes, I think so.
Okay, just did that. Now my new folder in Users is called realname_2 !
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1724
  • Total likes: 209
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3737 on: January 31, 2017, 07:51:16 PM »
Okay, just did that. Now my new folder in Users is called realname_2 !
You say in the list at control userpasswords2 you only saw realname (before adding the new account)? If so go back to that list and try to change the username there from Realname to Fakename. Then (after reboot) create a new account (using this method) called Realname.

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11852
  • Total likes: 1799
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3738 on: January 31, 2017, 08:12:41 PM »
You say in the list at control userpasswords2 you only saw realname (before adding the new account)? If so go back to that list and try to change the username there from Realname to Fakename. Then (after reboot) create a new account (using this method) called Realname.
Correct! Trying that now. The funny thing is that after rebooting I only see one account in the list, called fakename.

Okay, this is weird. I'm looking at that users dialog box, and when I click the Add button nothing happens!
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11852
  • Total likes: 1799
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3739 on: January 31, 2017, 08:18:33 PM »
Correct! Trying that now. The funny thing is that after rebooting I only see one account in the list, called fakename.

Okay, this is weird. I'm looking at that users dialog box, and when I click the Add button nothing happens!
I logged in as fakename (the original account) and was able to add a new account called realname. However, when I log off I don't see the option to log in with that new account.
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 11852
  • Total likes: 1799
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3740 on: January 31, 2017, 08:25:08 PM »
I logged in as fakename (the original account) and was able to add a new account called realname. However, when I log off I don't see the option to log in with that new account.
Next update: I just realized that when I click on realname on the login screen and click Login Options (or something like that), it gives me 2 pictures of keys. I clicked the second one, put in the password, and got to the new account. And its profile folder is called realname!

B"H!

Thanks for all your help!

I guess I'm good to know, and can just delete the other 2 user accounts (I hope).

Thanks again!
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline yakov116

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2014
  • Posts: 1480
  • Total likes: 76
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3741 on: February 01, 2017, 09:51:02 AM »
any way to check when hardware was installed in a specific computer?
Money talks...mine says goodbye!

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1724
  • Total likes: 209
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3742 on: February 01, 2017, 01:57:25 PM »
any way to check when hardware was installed in a specific computer?
AFAIK there is no way to check a date for when hardware was installed. But given that almost all hardware installed uses drivers that got installed when they are installed you can check in the properties for this devices driver.

Offline David R

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 1765
  • Total likes: 24
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3743 on: February 01, 2017, 02:03:01 PM »
any way to check when hardware was installed in a specific computer?
In the Device Manager, the Events tab for the device should have the answer, but if you had a major Windows Update after the hardware was installed, you might only see the date of the update.

ETA: Same thing for the Details tab that Yisroel Tech showed - you might only be seeing the date of a Windows Update that was subsequent to the hardware being installed.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2017, 02:08:40 PM by David R »

Offline Jkhein

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4538
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3744 on: February 03, 2017, 01:11:18 AM »
I have a new desktop pc that is running slow, when checking the system information, I see
Installed physical memory (RAM) 8.00GB
Total Physical memory                  7.94GB
Available physical memory            1.12GB
Total virtual memory                     19.9GB
Available virtual memory               4.89GB

is the the reason? Where is all my memory gone?

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1724
  • Total likes: 209
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3745 on: February 03, 2017, 01:15:52 AM »
I have a new desktop pc that is running slow, when checking the system information, I see
Installed physical memory (RAM) 8.00GB
Total Physical memory                  7.94GB
Available physical memory            1.12GB
Total virtual memory                     19.9GB
Available virtual memory               4.89GB

is the the reason? Where is all my memory gone?
I guess some program or programs is using a lot of memory. You can try looking in Task Manager which programs are using the most memory.

Offline Jkhein

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4538
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3746 on: February 03, 2017, 01:17:55 AM »
I guess some program or programs is using a lot of memory. You can try looking in Task Manager which programs are using the most memory.
biggest program is google chrome at 419mb....

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1724
  • Total likes: 209
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3747 on: February 03, 2017, 01:19:51 AM »
biggest program is google chrome at 419mb....
But how many tabs (processes) does Chrome have? Each tab has its own process.

Offline Jkhein

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4538
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3748 on: February 03, 2017, 01:29:21 AM »
But how many tabs (processes) does Chrome have? Each tab has its own process.
Wow correct I just closed down chrome and it freed up quite a few gb - whats the solution to this as I do need all those tabs open and I did not have these sluggish problems with my laptop that had less features?

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1724
  • Total likes: 209
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #3749 on: February 03, 2017, 01:36:35 AM »
Wow correct I just closed down chrome and it freed up quite a few gb - whats the solution to this as I do need all those tabs open and I did not have these sluggish problems with my laptop that had less features?
Chrome is very much known as an extream RAM hogger. If you are using a whole bunch of open tabs at a time (and you see that you're using very high RAM) you might wanna consider switching browser, Firefox or Opera are good alternatives. If Chrome is a must then try uninstalling extensions that you don't need etc.