Topic Wiki

I figured that even this thread can have a wiki.
If your computer or phone is giving you issues:

Please read this before posting: 4 Reasons Why IT People Ignore Your Requests for Help
Restart the computer. Hopefully this will take care of any issues
If your problem has not yet been solved, try to Google it. There may be a very simple solution
On a Windows computer, a system restore may do the trick.
(This is a work in progress, please feel free to add whatever you may feel is helpful)


Please post whether or not the problem was fixed

Apple iPhone Master Thread
« Last edited by Thingywingy on May 07, 2019, 08:00:02 PM »

Author Topic: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread  (Read 425659 times)

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 10582
  • Total likes: 751
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5250 on: October 24, 2019, 06:03:12 PM »
it happens allot I have 2 screens on my pc and the 2nd screen will stop working I cant type on it till I restart my pc what does it mean ?
I have the same problem sometimes, not sure if it's RAM but it seems the computer is too tired to handle both screens :)
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline sam28

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 1510
  • Total likes: 16
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5251 on: October 24, 2019, 08:20:39 PM »
that does not make any sense I have a fast pc and allot of space in it

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 10582
  • Total likes: 751
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5252 on: October 24, 2019, 08:55:26 PM »
that does not make any sense I have a fast pc and allot of space in it
as do I.

Do you restart your computer on a regular basis?
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Online aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 9780
  • Total likes: 3476
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5253 on: October 25, 2019, 12:44:08 AM »
it happens allot I have 2 screens on my pc and the 2nd screen will stop working I cant type on it till I restart my pc what does it mean ?
I have the same problem sometimes, not sure if it's RAM but it seems the computer is too tired to handle both screens :)
Graphics card?

I actually once had such a thing with both screens and it was a faulty secondary hard drive.

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 10582
  • Total likes: 751
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5254 on: October 25, 2019, 08:09:40 AM »
Graphics card?

I actually once had such a thing with both screens and it was a faulty secondary hard drive.
I have a pretty good graphics card. Or at least 3 years ago when I bought the laptop it was...
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline sam28

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 1510
  • Total likes: 16
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5255 on: October 25, 2019, 09:42:44 AM »
does it has to do with the keyboard it keeps heaping every hour ?

Online aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 9780
  • Total likes: 3476
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5256 on: October 25, 2019, 09:44:41 AM »
I have a pretty good graphics card. Or at least 3 years ago when I bought the laptop it was...
There are a few measurements involved with GCs and it is possible that one is inadequate or simply on its way out.

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 10582
  • Total likes: 751
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5257 on: October 25, 2019, 09:47:07 AM »
There are a few measurements involved with GCs and it is possible that one is inadequate or simply on its way out.
I have a NVIDIA GeForce MX150, whatever that means. And a Dell D3100 doc with two monitors plugged into it. Sometimes one of the monitors doesn't work and I have to restart to get it back on. Not such a big deal, though.
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline jack stone

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 25
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5258 on: October 27, 2019, 09:58:08 AM »
Hi - One of my computers in my office cant connect to any website even though it shows connected to the internet - the error it says is "the remote device or resource wont accept the connection" - I tried the fixes that I googled but so far no luck...any suggestions?
Thanks

Offline pcgeek

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 856
  • Total likes: 22
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: פֹּה
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5259 on: October 27, 2019, 10:31:54 AM »
Hi - One of my computers in my office cant connect to any website even though it shows connected to the internet - the error it says is "the remote device or resource wont accept the connection" - I tried the fixes that I googled but so far no luck...any suggestions?
Thanks
Did you try restarting? Do you have a content filter? Try another browser?

Offline jack stone

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 25
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5260 on: October 27, 2019, 10:44:54 AM »
Did you try restarting? Do you have a content filter? Try another browser?
I tried restarted - no change - we have Nativ but never made problems before and working fine on the other computer - will try different browser

Offline jack stone

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 25
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5261 on: October 27, 2019, 10:48:15 AM »
Did you try restarting? Do you have a content filter? Try another browser?
I tried restarted - no change - we have Nativ but never made problems before and working fine on the other computer - will try different browser
Different browser same problem

Offline pcgeek

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 856
  • Total likes: 22
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: פֹּה
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5262 on: October 27, 2019, 12:04:52 PM »
Different browser same problem
Open your start menu and type in "cmd" (everything I tell you, type without quotes) and hit enter. In the black window, type "ping google.com". Tell me the output that it gives you.

Online jose34

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 1444
  • Total likes: 50
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5263 on: November 03, 2019, 03:21:22 PM »
Is it safe ( as far as personal information) to sell a computer with SSD hard drive that I used but I wiped it though?

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1578
  • Total likes: 176
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Computer Troubleshooting/Help Master Thread
« Reply #5264 on: November 03, 2019, 07:27:25 PM »
Is it safe ( as far as personal information) to sell a computer with SSD hard drive that I used but I wiped it though?
The question is really what it means that you "wiped" it. Just reinstalling Windows clean isn't really securely wiped. Most SSD manufacturer software suites have a Secure Wipe/Erase option.