Author Topic: google voice?? is this possible  (Read 2513 times)

Offline lakewood1818

  • DansDeals Copper Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: nj
google voice?? is this possible
« on: September 06, 2010, 09:20:30 PM »
how do i access my google voice account from any number? w/o adding it as a number.

Offline Avid Reader

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4023
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Starwood Gold, Accor Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz Five Star Gold, Marriott Silver, National Executive
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 09:26:45 PM »
First, Welcome to the forum!

Can you clarify your question "w/o adding it as a number"?

Offline lakewood1818

  • DansDeals Copper Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 7
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: nj
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 09:31:08 PM »
meaning i'm going out of the country and want to call someone with my google numbe rcoming up on their caller id. by phone not online.

Offline Avid Reader

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4023
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Starwood Gold, Accor Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz Five Star Gold, Marriott Silver, National Executive
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2010, 10:24:19 PM »
Just dial into your google voice number from your phone and then call your desired number from there. That will take care of Caller ID.

Offline Yordai Dooma

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4248
  • Total likes: 54
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA EXP/LT Platinum, SPG gold, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, National EE,
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2010, 10:25:37 PM »
Just dial into your google voice number from your phone and then call your desired number from there.
I was thinking the issue is that he wont have his phone out of the country and wont be able to use his phone.

Offline Avid Reader

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4023
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Starwood Gold, Accor Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz Five Star Gold, Marriott Silver, National Executive
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2010, 10:40:10 PM »
I was thinking the issue is that he wont have his phone out of the country and wont be able to use his phone.

So no phone and no computer? How else can you make a call even at home?

Offline Yordai Dooma

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4248
  • Total likes: 54
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA EXP/LT Platinum, SPG gold, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, National EE,
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2010, 12:06:30 AM »
So no phone and no computer? How else can you make a call even at home?

No. Meaning using another phone to make the call. Similar to calling your cell, hitting *, putting in your pin when it goes to VM

Offline Avid Reader

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4023
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Starwood Gold, Accor Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz Five Star Gold, Marriott Silver, National Executive
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2010, 01:53:42 PM »
No. Meaning using another phone to make the call. Similar to calling your cell, hitting *, putting in your pin when it goes to VM

I'm not understanding. Are you saying that he can call in from another number or he can't? I know I can call into my GV from another phone not registered with GV and call through it. I don't know if you can do it from an out of country number, though I don't see why not.

Offline Yordai Dooma

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4248
  • Total likes: 54
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA EXP/LT Platinum, SPG gold, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, National EE,
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2010, 02:52:44 PM »
I'm not understanding. Are you saying that he can call in from another number or he can't? I know I can call into my GV from another phone not registered with GV and call through it. I don't know if you can do it from an out of country number, though I don't see why not.
When you call into your GV, what do you push in order to get the prompt for the pin? Thats the part i wasnt sure how to do. Mr Lakewood seems to have disappeared, so im not really sure what he was trying to do...

Offline Avid Reader

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4023
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Starwood Gold, Accor Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz Five Star Gold, Marriott Silver, National Executive
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2010, 03:42:46 PM »
I dial a number through GV that wont answer (like my cell and reject the call) ,wait for the GV voicemail to start, then press star, enter my pin, and press 2 to place the call.

I wonder if there is a more direct way to do it. You can also set your GV to go direct to voicemail and eliminate the 'no answering number part'.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 03:45:53 PM by Avid Reader »

Offline Mikeoracle

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 2051
  • Total likes: 69
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: NJ
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2010, 03:57:31 PM »
I dial a number through GV that wont answer (like my cell and reject the call) ,wait for the GV voicemail to start, then press star, enter my pin, and press 2 to place the call.

I wonder if there is a more direct way to do it. You can also set your GV to go direct to voicemail and eliminate the 'no answering number part'.
For Blackberry users there is a GV app that lets you click the BB key in your contact list and that gives you the option to dial using GV directly. This helps make Canada a local call from your cell  8)

Offline Yordai Dooma

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4248
  • Total likes: 54
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA EXP/LT Platinum, SPG gold, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Platinum Ambassador, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC, National EE,
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2010, 04:07:20 PM »
For Blackberry users there is a GV app that lets you click the BB key in your contact list and that gives you the option to dial using GV directly. This helps make Canada a local call from your cell  8)

I have the BB app. Didnt even think of that. Thanks!

Offline Avid Reader

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 4023
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Starwood Gold, Accor Gold, Hilton Gold, Hertz Five Star Gold, Marriott Silver, National Executive
Re: google voice?? is this possible
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2010, 07:39:31 PM »
For Blackberry users there is a GV app that lets you click the BB key in your contact list and that gives you the option to dial using GV directly. This helps make Canada a local call from your cell  8)

Yup, Ive been using it and it's great.