Topic Wiki

For cool Excel spreadsheet template to keep track of all Credit Card stuff, see here
« Last edited by shoobi on November 12, 2015, 11:24:07 PM »

Author Topic: Excel Help and Problems  (Read 106815 times)

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 9776
  • Total likes: 438
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #870 on: April 26, 2017, 07:41:31 PM »
It's something everyone in the office uses everyday. It's how we do billing and the list I want is the billing code list.
I may be wrong, but I think there's a way to add macros to a workbook on a server (I'm assuming you have one), and then set it up so everyone in the office can access those macros when they open Excel. Maybe as an add-in or something?
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline yitzf

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2606
  • Total likes: 42
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #871 on: April 26, 2017, 10:22:14 PM »
I may be wrong, but I think there's a way to add macros to a workbook on a server (I'm assuming you have one), and then set it up so everyone in the office can access those macros when they open Excel. Maybe as an add-in or something?

There is but you still need to enable macros in the workbook you are using.

Offline aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 8289
  • Total likes: 2348
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #872 on: April 26, 2017, 10:24:28 PM »
There is but you still need to enable macros in the workbook you are using.
But does it need to be saved as macro enabled?

Offline yitzf

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2606
  • Total likes: 42
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #873 on: April 26, 2017, 10:35:28 PM »
But does it need to be saved as macro enabled?

It can be .xlsx.

You don't get the typical yellow bar to enable macros rather you get a warning so I wonder if you can trust the location an not get the warning.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2017, 10:38:39 PM by yitzf »

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 9776
  • Total likes: 438
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #874 on: April 26, 2017, 11:32:33 PM »
You don't get the typical yellow bar to enable macros rather you get a warning so I wonder if you can trust the location an not get the warning.
I'm pretty sure there's a way
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline churnbabychurn

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 7234
  • Total likes: 280
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #875 on: April 27, 2017, 08:13:30 AM »
@aygart, haven't seen your spreadsheet or been following, but I would think this is something for a billing/quote software instead of excel... Especially with multiple reps etc

Offline aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 8289
  • Total likes: 2348
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #876 on: April 27, 2017, 10:21:50 AM »
It can be .xlsx.

You don't get the typical yellow bar to enable macros rather you get a warning so I wonder if you can trust the location an not get the warning.
Is this the entire issue?

Offline skyguy918

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2906
  • Total likes: 178
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Queens, NY
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #877 on: April 27, 2017, 10:29:38 AM »
Upon further review it did not work on page view because when adding it did not add to the printable area as Skyguy918 wrote that it is not dynamic.
THat leads me to the question if there is a way to have a letterhead show. I now have it in the header but if it is better some other way that is also fine.
It shows when it prints, right? You're just asking how to get it to show on the screen as well?

Offline dpk4588

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 1157
  • Total likes: 34
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 21
    • View Profile
  • Location: New York
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #878 on: April 27, 2017, 10:34:11 AM »
With VBA I think you can
I'm not well versed in VBA, any idea how? I found a video on youtube, but that has what seem like unnecessary steps, like having to double click a cell to prompt a combo box to appear. Is there a simpler way to do it?

@aygart, haven't seen your spreadsheet or been following, but I would think this is something for a billing/quote software instead of excel... Especially with multiple reps etc
We don't actually use it for billing, its more for keeping each employee's time, and it works pretty well for us, this would just make it easier for those of us who are lazy and or can't spell well (data validation would solve the spelling issues because it wont let you leave a misspelled name in the cell).
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.
-Albert Einstein

Offline yitzf

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2606
  • Total likes: 42
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #879 on: April 27, 2017, 10:36:24 AM »


Is this the entire issue?

Well you also have to set up the server and a button on the user file that links to the server.
The add-in is on the server and when you assign a macro to the button you put in a link to the add-in (location/filename.xla!macroname)

Offline jose34

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 1368
  • Total likes: 37
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #880 on: April 30, 2017, 07:52:12 AM »
I'm trying to Paste a bunch of lines from an Excel Document  into  a Microsoft Word table. However whenever I paste into Word it doubles the data a bunch of times over. Any suggestions?

Please see attachments for clarification.

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 9776
  • Total likes: 438
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #881 on: April 30, 2017, 08:33:57 AM »
I'm trying to Paste a bunch of lines from an Excel Document  into  a Microsoft Word table. However whenever I paste into Word it doubles the data a bunch of times over. Any suggestions?

Please see attachments for clarification.
Looks like something funny is going on. Can you attach your excel file?

You could also try copying and doing Paste Values into another excel sheet and then try copying that into Word.
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 8289
  • Total likes: 2348
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #882 on: April 30, 2017, 09:56:26 AM »
I'm trying to Paste a bunch of lines from an Excel Document  into  a Microsoft Word table. However whenever I paste into Word it doubles the data a bunch of times over. Any suggestions?

Please see attachments for clarification.
My guess is that you have some merged cells

Offline Yammer

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 3615
  • Total likes: 202
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #883 on: May 08, 2017, 05:08:04 PM »
I have an Google sheet that I'm putting in name/address information. I currently have a data validation list of all the state abbreviations.

Is there a way for the person entering the data to see the full state name but once selected, the abbreviation comes up?

Offline gozalim

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 3153
  • Total likes: 57
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #884 on: May 14, 2017, 07:03:35 PM »
I have excel data which I need sorted alphabetically.
Data is in hebrew
is there a way to get it to sort
יג, יד, טו, טז, יז...

(I'd try to create a unique order list, kind of 'sort array' then sort by that column, but I think that'll only work if the entire cell is the specific item match. here I need it to treat it that way 'alphabetically'-where it's the beginning of a larger string of data (e.g. טז,כ comes after יד, ח)