Topic Wiki

The AA Advantage Executive Platinum number with almost no waiting time has ended. Had to wait 16 minutes. Does anyone have the new good number?


According to Wiki in "Starwood Starpoints Transfer To Airline Miles Master Thread" Starwood > Aerplan transfers..."Aeroplan - Names don't need to match. - Usually takes about a day and half to 2 days to transfer."

Author Topic: Aeroplan Master Thread  (Read 130801 times)

Offline benjie1305

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 6144
  • Total likes: 15
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 15
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY Area
Work hard, Play harder!

Offline Mendy1414

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 44
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: somewhere
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #341 on: April 12, 2016, 10:57:37 AM »
Hope I am in the right place. I have a booking with Aeroplan for me and my wife that I want to upgrade to First now that it became available. Problem is that I for some bad reason do not have enough Amex points to transfer to Aeroplan, but my wife has plenty in her account, how can she transfer amex points to my aeroplan account? 

Offline yul-que.

  • DansDeals Copper Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 12
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: montreal
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #342 on: April 12, 2016, 11:14:50 AM »
Hope I am in the right place. I have a booking with Aeroplan for me and my wife that I want to upgrade to First now that it became available. Problem is that I for some bad reason do not have enough Amex points to transfer to Aeroplan, but my wife has plenty in her account, how can she transfer amex points to my aeroplan account? 
same address worked for me
« Last Edit: April 12, 2016, 11:17:54 AM by yul-que. »

Offline LoLo

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 3706
  • Total likes: 160
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #343 on: April 13, 2016, 02:57:29 AM »
Hope I am in the right place. I have a booking with Aeroplan for me and my wife that I want to upgrade to First now that it became available. Problem is that I for some bad reason do not have enough Amex points to transfer to Aeroplan, but my wife has plenty in her account, how can she transfer amex points to my aeroplan account? 
Add yourself as an AU on her account.

Offline Mendy1414

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 44
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: somewhere
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #344 on: April 14, 2016, 03:22:23 PM »
thanks all worked fine.

Here is the big weird thing that happened. We are 4 people on a reservation on SA via Aeroplan, so I called to have 2 of the passengers upgraded to Biz/1st all went fine they deducted the 100k and charged the $90 per person, they said you have to pay the miles for the whole round trip even though at this time the return in 1st is still not available, they said I should just call as it gets closer to the flight and if it is available they will upgrade it with no more fees, Ok so all seems fine till here.

This is where it gets intresting, I go online a short while later and I see that 2 more seats have become available, so I call to upgrade the other 2 seats (which at this point it is kind of split in to 2 separate reservations) and I get this very pleasant lady on the phone we chat and I tell her that I want to upgrade the 2 as when I called it was not available, make a long story short, she upgrades the other 2 passengers, though does not charge the $90 per passenger and the 100k remain in my account, I get the SA refrence and when I call the SA rep was able to assign me seats in 1st for all 4 of us, and when I check on SA it all shows up good, but when I check on earoplans site, so the 1st reservation where I paid it says ticketed... where as mine it shows up fine and it says reward value 250k and it says unticketed.

should I call aeroplan and figure it out and they will probably charge the fees and the 100k miles, or do I just go with the fact that It shows up on SA? 

Offline travel agent

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 622
  • Total likes: 16
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #345 on: April 14, 2016, 03:49:31 PM »
if the tickets are not reissued, you will be unable to check in, but some times its not reissued immediately, wait a day or 2, otherwise you will have to call aeroplan.

Offline Mendy1414

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 44
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: somewhere
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #346 on: April 14, 2016, 04:17:35 PM »
if the tickets are not reissued, you will be unable to check in, but some times its not reissued immediately, wait a day or 2, otherwise you will have to call aeroplan.
So you have seen this happen in the past?

Offline travel agent

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 622
  • Total likes: 16
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #347 on: April 14, 2016, 04:28:01 PM »
seen what? a case like you, not
but tickets not reissued immediately, yes

Offline Mendy1414

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 44
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: somewhere
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #348 on: April 14, 2016, 04:33:29 PM »
seen what? a case like you, not
but tickets not reissued immediately, yes
I will wait another day and see what happens

Offline ABC

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 426
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Jerusalem
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #349 on: April 26, 2016, 03:07:42 PM »
Does this still work?

http://onemileatatime.boardingarea.com/2014/01/09/booking-aeroplan-awards-without-fuel-surcharges/

So in the above example if you booked United roundtrip and flew Washington to Frankfurt, you could change your Frankfurt to Washington flight from United to Lufthansa and you would just be charged the $90CAD change fee, and not for the additional ~$430 worth of fuel surcharges that would apply if you had booked it in advance.

Offline mmm740

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Posts: 347
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #350 on: April 26, 2016, 04:53:55 PM »
Does this still work?

http://onemileatatime.boardingarea.com/2014/01/09/booking-aeroplan-awards-without-fuel-surcharges/

So in the above example if you booked United roundtrip and flew Washington to Frankfurt, you could change your Frankfurt to Washington flight from United to Lufthansa and you would just be charged the $90CAD change fee, and not for the additional ~$430 worth of fuel surcharges that would apply if you had booked it in advance.
I don't think that works anymore. I had them reprice the taxes both up and down in changes.

Offline LoLo

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 3706
  • Total likes: 160
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #351 on: April 26, 2016, 05:48:43 PM »
I don't think that works anymore. I had them reprice the taxes both up and down in changes.
After taking the first leg?

Offline high end hobo

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 1587
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: Detroit
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #352 on: May 01, 2016, 03:10:05 PM »
does Aircanada allow circuitous routings like that  i can call in (they're not showing up online) e.g. TLV-ZRH-IST-SIN

Offline hvaces42

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 5333
  • Total likes: 987
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 14
    • View Profile
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #353 on: May 01, 2016, 06:28:42 PM »
does Aircanada allow circuitous routings like that  i can call in (they're not showing up online) e.g. TLV-ZRH-IST-SIN
They rejected much simpler routing than that for me. The multi-city rules dont allow you to bypass the original point of departure. They are very strict about zones etc.
Fair warning - Any PMs sent in response to forum posts are fair game for ridicule in public.

Offline Yaalili

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 12381
  • Total likes: 311
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 154
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Crown Heights, NY
  • Programs: Caesars Diamond, F9 100K, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Spire, Marriott Silver, Radisson Gold, Wyndham Diamond, DansDeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite.
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #354 on: May 15, 2016, 10:28:08 PM »
Anyone know another number to reach a live person at Aeroplan besides for the one posted on the web? I cannot remember my number and trying to access my account, the only way you can speak to an agent is if you put in the 9 digit number.

Offline lubaby

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 5281
  • Total likes: 677
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 12
    • View Profile
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #355 on: May 16, 2016, 07:11:51 AM »
Anyone know another number to reach a live person at Aeroplan besides for the one posted on the web? I cannot remember my number and trying to access my account, the only way you can speak to an agent is if you put in the 9 digit number.
800-479-1205

Connects to a live agent right away (usually).

Offline Yaalili

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 12381
  • Total likes: 311
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 154
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Crown Heights, NY
  • Programs: Caesars Diamond, F9 100K, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Spire, Marriott Silver, Radisson Gold, Wyndham Diamond, DansDeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite.
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #356 on: May 16, 2016, 07:36:13 AM »
800-479-1205

Connects to a live agent right away (usually).

Thanks.

Offline Elchay

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 193
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #357 on: July 04, 2016, 12:14:52 AM »
Just transferred 80k from amex to book LH first DME-MUC-EWR. When I tried to book it says it's no longer available. Called and they said there is no availability on the DME-MUC leg. It is still showing up on both Aeroplan and UA as available. Any options?

Offline mmm740

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2012
  • Posts: 347
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #358 on: July 04, 2016, 12:48:35 AM »
Just transferred 80k from amex to book LH first DME-MUC-EWR. When I tried to book it says it's no longer available. Called and they said there is no availability on the DME-MUC leg. It is still showing up on both Aeroplan and UA as available. Any options?
In NH showing that flight?

Offline Elchay

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 193
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Re: Aeroplan Master Thread
« Reply #359 on: July 04, 2016, 01:11:44 AM »
« Last Edit: July 04, 2016, 01:15:22 AM by Elchay »