Author Topic: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?  (Read 48217 times)

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 379
  • Total likes: 36
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #100 on: November 28, 2017, 01:49:00 PM »
He might be able to change  his band settings on his laptop in the wifi advanced settings tab you should see 5.8ghz option if it's supported.... unfortunately mine isn't

Offline yelped

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 6646
  • Total likes: 1355
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 19
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #101 on: November 28, 2017, 02:41:30 PM »
He might be able to change  his band settings on his laptop in the wifi advanced settings tab you should see 5.8ghz option if it's supported.... unfortunately mine isn't
5ghz doesn't propagate as far as the lower frequencies, so even if it supports it, it may not reach him now.

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 969
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #102 on: November 28, 2017, 03:21:21 PM »
Anyone else notice optimum hotspots in residential areas in nj seem to have changed bands from 2.4g to 5.8 my house which always had a hot spot disappeared and I heard from others saw online the same... My Nexus phone seems to pick it up I guess it's 5.8 compatible...buying a dual adapter for my computer hope that works...
Tysm! I couldn't for the life of me figure this out, why I suddenly lost the 2.4.. and my phone doesn't connect to the 5g. Besides for the fact that being as much weaker signal my extender can barely pick it up.
Why did they do this?

Offline yitzf

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2655
  • Total likes: 51
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #103 on: November 28, 2017, 04:00:56 PM »
Same here, used to have pretty good reception, and for the last 2 weeks it's been either bad or non existent.

The 2.4 GHz band is a pretty crowded place, because its used by more than just Wi-Fi. Old cordless phones, garage door openers, baby monitors, and other devices tend to use the 2.4 GHz band. The longer waves used by the 2.4 GHz band are better suited to longer ranges and transmission through walls and solid objects.

The 5 GHz band is much less congested, which means you will likely get more stable connections. Youll also see higher speeds. On the other hand, the shorter waves used by the 5 GHz band makes it less able to penetrate walls and solid objects. Its also got a shorter effective range than the 2.4 GHz band.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2017, 04:06:13 PM by yitzf »

Offline cozmohoot

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 4353
  • Total likes: 67
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #104 on: November 28, 2017, 06:52:17 PM »
Would that affect a galaxy s8 that has the 5 band? Besides the range issues..

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 379
  • Total likes: 36
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #105 on: November 28, 2017, 08:51:46 PM »
5ghz doesn't propagate as far as the lower frequencies, so even if it supports it, it may not reach him now.
I was afraid of that but my Nexus was picking up a beautiful signal and it was pretty quick I'm wondering if maybe it had to do with the less congested 5ghz band.. I'm hoping that a dual adapter (dongle)that comes with an antenna may actually be better then the internal wifi adapter in the laptop and maybe now I'll actually have better wifi than before!

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 379
  • Total likes: 36
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #106 on: November 28, 2017, 08:55:13 PM »
Tysm! I couldn't for the life of me figure this out, why I suddenly lost the 2.4.. and my phone doesn't connect to the 5g. Besides for the fact that being as much weaker signal my extender can barely pick it up.
Why did they do this?
Maybe your extender only picks up 2.4 and there's a closer 5.8....

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 969
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #107 on: November 28, 2017, 08:59:12 PM »
Maybe your extender only picks up 2.4 and there's a closer 5.8....
It picks up both...
However i just played around with it a bit and I moved it to a spot in my house that previously didn't have any signal which now does...

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1556
  • Total likes: 202
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 18
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #108 on: November 28, 2017, 09:19:12 PM »
He might be able to change  his band settings on his laptop in the wifi advanced settings tab you should see 5.8ghz option if it's supported.... unfortunately mine isn't
Where do I find wifi setting on my laptop?

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1556
  • Total likes: 202
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 18
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #109 on: November 30, 2017, 10:21:32 PM »
I purchased this netgear extender I know this tp link will work as well. The one issue which I'm having with the netgear is sometimes when trying to connect to it I'll get a failed to obtain ip adress which the tp link reportedly doesn't have an issue with. I'd assume that other models should work as well being I'd assume the firmware etc are similar however I tried a cheaper tp link that didn't work
I added it's mac adress to optimum although I'm pretty sure it's not necessary.
I set up the extender to connect to the strongest optimum network.
I connected my devices to the extender and the optimum sign in page came up in my browser.
Important note for some reason the mac adress of your device is recognized differently then when connecting this way vs straight to the optimum network. If you do auto sign in you'll need to do it twice and will be reconized as different devices.
How do I set up the extender to connect to optimum?

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 969
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #110 on: December 01, 2017, 12:21:03 AM »
How do I set up the extender to connect to optimum?
Same way that you'd set it up to extend any other network...

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1556
  • Total likes: 202
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 18
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #111 on: December 01, 2017, 08:32:50 AM »
I tried setting it up and after setup it said "limited", basically meaning it didn't really connect to optimum. Does it matter that my laptop runs on 2.4 and optimum now on 5.8?

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 969
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #112 on: December 01, 2017, 09:32:22 AM »
I tried setting it up and after setup it said "limited", basically meaning it didn't really connect to optimum. Does it matter that my laptop runs on 2.4 and optimum now on 5.8?
I don't know the answer to the second question. As far as the first means that you need to login to Optimum.. you can try opening your browser to a new webpage and see if it'll come up. It should open by itself.. what extender are you using?

Offline real-brisker

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 2417
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #113 on: December 01, 2017, 09:42:41 AM »
Anyone else notice optimum hotspots in residential areas in nj seem to have changed bands from 2.4g to 5.8 my house which always had a hot spot disappeared and I heard from others saw online the same... My Nexus phone seems to pick it up I guess it's 5.8 compatible...buying a dual adapter for my computer hope that works...

oh!!! That's what it is. I have been using a usb long range wifi, and suddenly I lost all optimum wifis... Couldn't figure out what happened.

Offline Z56

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 2368
  • Total likes: 91
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC, TLV
  • Programs: SPG Gold, Marriot Gold, Hilton Gold, National EE, Hertz GP, Avis PP
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #114 on: December 02, 2017, 10:17:09 PM »
How can Make my optimum wifi (unsecured network) to a  secure network ?
Having problems connecting my google Home with optimum wifi
I have nothing in common with lazy people who blame others for their lack of success. Great things come from hard work

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 379
  • Total likes: 36
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #115 on: December 03, 2017, 01:03:03 PM »
How can Make my optimum wifi (unsecured network) to a  secure network ?
Having problems connecting my google Home with optimum wifi
Make your computer a hotspot and run it off that..

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 379
  • Total likes: 36
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #116 on: December 03, 2017, 01:07:53 PM »
I tried setting it up and after setup it said "limited", basically meaning it didn't really connect to optimum. Does it matter that my laptop runs on 2.4 and optimum now on 5.8?
Can't imagine that's the problem you can create a 2.4 hotspot out of a 5.8... which your extender seems to be doing

Offline Z56

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 2368
  • Total likes: 91
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC, TLV
  • Programs: SPG Gold, Marriot Gold, Hilton Gold, National EE, Hertz GP, Avis PP
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #117 on: December 03, 2017, 01:16:28 PM »
Make your computer a hotspot and run it off that..

how do I do that ?
I have nothing in common with lazy people who blame others for their lack of success. Great things come from hard work

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1556
  • Total likes: 202
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 18
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #118 on: December 03, 2017, 01:48:25 PM »
Can't imagine that's the problem you can create a 2.4 hotspot out of a 5.8... which your extender seems to be doing
Yeh I think the problem is just that the optimum wifi is too far away because of this new 5.8... is there any way to bring it closer?

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 379
  • Total likes: 36
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #119 on: December 03, 2017, 02:18:21 PM »
Yeh I think the problem is just that the optimum wifi is too far away because of this new 5.8... is there any way to bring it closer?
Antenna?