Author Topic: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?  (Read 17878 times)

Offline yelped

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 2955
  • Total likes: 106
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 6
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #135 on: December 04, 2017, 05:08:31 PM »
before 5.8 it was slower... the with 5.8 it stopped working and now it works very well
Probably because way less people using it.

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1100
  • Total likes: 70
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 18
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #136 on: December 05, 2017, 06:04:08 PM »
but when i go to the deals thread i get "The requested URL /web_login.html was not found on this server." why??
anyone know why now that i get optimum wifi through a netgear extender, i cant access some websites but most websites i can??
🏃🏻Time flies when you're in a rush

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 187
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #137 on: December 06, 2017, 01:33:40 PM »
I thought I'd share I finally got one of these https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LW442N4?psc=1&ref=yo_pop_mb_pd
And what do you know those lost wifi signals are back!! Getting 4 bars better than before maybe cause there's a small
antenna.. however not as fast like I hoped maybe cause it's been a while since my computer had internet updating stuff...and my computer recognized it immediately just had to click by the wifi settings "wifi 2"
« Last Edit: December 06, 2017, 01:41:25 PM by 4yourinfo »

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1165
  • Total likes: 96
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #138 on: December 07, 2017, 06:49:01 PM »
Anyone else notice optimum hotspots in residential areas in nj seem to have changed bands from 2.4g to 5.8 my house which always had a hot spot disappeared and I heard from others saw online the same... My Nexus phone seems to pick it up I guess it's 5.8 compatible...buying a dual adapter for my computer hope that works...
My friend got a dual-band adapter and it works fine. Thanks for the heads up.

Here is it in their own words:

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 187
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #139 on: December 09, 2017, 11:09:25 PM »
My friend got a dual-band adapter and it works fine. Thanks for the heads up.
Your welcome

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 3971
  • Total likes: 14
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 21
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #140 on: December 12, 2017, 06:07:32 PM »
So I followed this

Yay! My obi is working.

But for some reason, my devices (phone, computer) can not login to the SSID "MY REPEATER" that I set up.
Can anyone think of a reason why?
TIA!
I followed the linked instructions but had troube with step 4. There is no wireless mode "repeater". While OP writes that he is using DD-WRT v24 my router is using v3.0-r29396. I have a TP-Link WA901ND version3.

Would updating to this version work/help?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 3971
  • Total likes: 14
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 21
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #141 on: December 12, 2017, 09:40:37 PM »
Should this work on my current version?
http://electrodisc.com/dd-wrt/atheros/repeater.htm
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline 4yourinfo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 187
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: usa
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #142 on: December 23, 2017, 10:48:40 PM »
I thought I'd share I finally got one of these https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LW442N4?psc=1&ref=yo_pop_mb_pd
And what do you know those lost wifi signals are back!! Getting 4 bars better than before maybe cause there's a small
antenna.. however not as fast like I hoped maybe cause it's been a while since my computer had internet updating stuff...and my computer recognized it immediately just had to click by the wifi settings "wifi 2"
The seller seemed to have raised the price here's a link to another one https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0759J2V74/ref=mp_s_a_1_85?ie=UTF8&qid=1514086921&sr=8-85&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=wifi+dual+band&dpPl=1&dpID=41Oej9tMDTL&ref=plSrch
Ebay may sell it cheaper but be careful I purchased one that was listed as dual but was only 2.4....

Offline ckmk47

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 5516
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Female
    • View Profile
  • Location: brooklyn
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #143 on: January 08, 2018, 06:54:29 PM »
My father's laptop no longer connects with Optimum as of about 2 months ago, and now that I've read through this thread, I know why.
I think I need an antenna to  better catch the 5.8 that's outside his window. (My phone had optimum as a choice of wifi when standing outside.)
@Yisroel Tech or anyone else, can you recommend one?  Or tell me what to look for so I can shop for one? Sorry to bother you, but I don't know the difference between the $11.99 one, and the $37.99 one.  I was going to buy the second one, but I think it's only 2.4 not dual or 5.8.
Or do I need something else entirely?
Thanks.


  This one?

« Last Edit: January 08, 2018, 07:04:59 PM by ckmk47 »

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1165
  • Total likes: 96
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #144 on: January 08, 2018, 07:07:55 PM »
My father's laptop no longer connects with Optimum as of about 2 months ago, and now that I've read through this thread, I know why.
I think I need an antenna to  better catch the 5.8 that's outside his window. (My phone had optimum as a choice of wifi when standing outside.)
@Yisroel Tech or anyone else, can you recommend one?  Or tell me what to look for so I can shop for one? Sorry to bother you, but I don't know the difference between the $11.99 one, and the $37.99 one.  I was going to buy the second one, but I think it's only 2.4 not dual or 5.8.
Or do I need something else entirely?
Thanks.
The first one is indeed dual-band but from a cheapo off-brand. The 2nd one is from a brand name and is very long range (and physically long) antenna and can possibly pick up a better signal, but is only 2.4 GHz.

The thing in the middle - and I would recommand this one - would be this dual-band one from Alfa https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073X6RL9D

Offline ckmk47

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 5516
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Female
    • View Profile
  • Location: brooklyn
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #145 on: January 08, 2018, 09:06:22 PM »
Thank you very much!

Offline yitzf

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 2511
  • Total likes: 8
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #146 on: January 08, 2018, 11:06:16 PM »
I don't want to get into the whole radiation debate because I don't know much about it, but you should realize that these antennas have an output power of 2000mW (2 watts) which really very high, so if you use it as your main internet and it's pretty close to you, then you might want to read up on the risks. I think the FCC legal limit is 1 watt for 2.4GHz.

If you're using this one in a while I wouldn't be so concerned, but if it's your regular internet connection it's something you should at least be aware of.

Perhaps someone with more knowledge can chime in.

Offline ckmk47

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 5516
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Female
    • View Profile
  • Location: brooklyn
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #147 on: January 18, 2018, 03:30:29 AM »
Recap:
Dad's laptop doesn't get Optimum signal anymore.
Tried Yisroel Tech's recommendation to get a dual-band antenna from Alfa https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073X6RL9D


Unfortunately it only improves the signal to 'fair' in one side of the apartment and doesn't stay connected.


What do I try next?


Do I need something like this, or something else?

Offline ckmk47

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 5516
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Female
    • View Profile
  • Location: brooklyn
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #148 on: January 25, 2018, 01:22:38 PM »
Recap:
Dad's laptop doesn't get Optimum signal anymore.
Tried Yisroel Tech's recommendation to get a dual-band antenna from Alfa https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073X6RL9D


Unfortunately it only improves the signal to 'fair' in one side of the apartment and doesn't stay connected.


What do I try next?


Do I need something like this, or something else?
bump
Anyone have any advice?

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1165
  • Total likes: 96
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #149 on: January 25, 2018, 07:34:22 PM »
bump
Anyone have any advice?
It is very hard to just say things while not knowing really why it is happening what's happening... But maybe buy this longer range antenna and connect to the Alfa device you bought.