Author Topic: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?  (Read 27007 times)

Offline Sammyonetwo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Posts: 150
  • Total likes: 8
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #180 on: December 24, 2018, 03:55:18 PM »
Im buying my own modem for optimum do  i also have to buy a wireless wifi thing or optimum will give me that for free.

Offline Definitions

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 574
  • Total likes: 69
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #181 on: December 24, 2018, 03:59:22 PM »
Im buying my own modem for optimum do  i also have to buy a wireless wifi thing or optimum will give me that for free.
A router? Optimum gives you one for free to use
Jack of all trades, master of none.

Offline Sammyonetwo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Posts: 150
  • Total likes: 8
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #182 on: December 24, 2018, 04:00:17 PM »
thanks

Offline pointer

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2018
  • Posts: 274
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: United States
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #183 on: December 28, 2018, 11:52:00 AM »
A router? Optimum gives you one for free to use
They charged me $5 a month for it

Offline yesitsme

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 1527
  • Total likes: 168
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #184 on: December 28, 2018, 11:53:27 AM »
They charged me $5 a month for it
Are you sure its for the router and not for the modem?

Offline Yisroel Tech

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Posts: 1313
  • Total likes: 111
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Monsey, NY
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #185 on: December 28, 2018, 12:40:58 PM »
Are you sure its for the router and not for the modem?
Probably router-modem combo device.

Offline buchir

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 57
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #186 on: January 10, 2019, 02:07:12 PM »
I purchased this netgear extender I know this tp link will work as well. The one issue which I'm having with the netgear is sometimes when trying to connect to it I'll get a failed to obtain ip adress which the tp link reportedly doesn't have an issue with. I'd assume that other models should work as well being I'd assume the firmware etc are similar however I tried a cheaper tp link that didn't work
I added it's mac adress to optimum although I'm pretty sure it's not necessary.
I set up the extender to connect to the strongest optimum network.
I connected my devices to the extender and the optimum sign in page came up in my browser.
Important note for some reason the mac adress of your device is recognized differently then when connecting this way vs straight to the optimum network. If you do auto sign in you'll need to do it twice and will be reconized as different devices.
Trying to figure this out. How did you login to optimum on the extender? (I understood from this thread that adding the device ID on optimum website doesnít work).                                                                                                                               

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 839
  • Total likes: 59
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #187 on: January 10, 2019, 02:25:01 PM »
Trying to figure this out. How did you login to optimum on the extender? (I understood from this thread that adding the device ID on optimum website doesnít work).                                                                                                                               
Your signing in on the device not the extender

Offline buchir

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 57
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #188 on: January 10, 2019, 02:46:24 PM »
Your signing in on the device not the extender
Thanks! Ordered!

Offline gozalim

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 3004
  • Total likes: 32
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #189 on: January 10, 2019, 06:19:17 PM »
Your signing in on the device not the extender
is signing in on the extender doable?

Offline Essen est zich

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 263
  • Total likes: 12
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Abiya
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #190 on: January 10, 2019, 06:25:06 PM »
is signing in on the extender doable?
Take the Mac address and add it as a device in the optimum account.

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 839
  • Total likes: 59
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #191 on: January 10, 2019, 07:09:21 PM »
is signing in on the extender doable?
Take the Mac address and add it as a device in the optimum account.
I tried but it didn't work.. in theory it should work..
Recently Auto sign-in doesn't work for connections through the extender.. so im not sure that would work anyways

Offline Thingywingy

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 4170
  • Total likes: 17
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 23
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #192 on: February 20, 2019, 05:27:37 PM »
I got the https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MR90E3A  and it works!

Long version: The device has no wire- it's meant to be plugged right into the outlet. When I did that, it didn't improve the situation much. It's an old building with thick walls (and sometimes spotty cell service) so I used an extension cord and placed the device on the windowsill.  I'm not tech savvy enough, so I needed to call customer support  to walk me through the setup.   The device picks up  enough Optimum signal to repeat it throughout the apartment. We now have strong wifi!

Thank you @Yisroel Tech and everyone else who kibitz.
You've made my father and me very happy.
Iíve been using this for many months with little interruption. Now the strangest thing has happened. When I connect to the extended network from my phone it works fine even when I turn off cellular data but I canít seem to get an internet connection from my laptop...? It shows how m connected but I get a yellow exclamation point on top of the WiFi icon or even when it goes away I just can access the web...any clue what could be going on?
I am sometimes accused of overthinking things. I am still mulling over whether that accusation has merit.

Offline sams

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 897
  • Total likes: 16
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #193 on: February 20, 2019, 11:16:25 PM »
I have a sprint magic box to improve service but I have issues using it because itís weekends Wi-Fi from my extender any solution? I was told they have to run on different channels

Offline KSMH

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 237
  • Total likes: 16
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: N.J.
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #194 on: March 25, 2019, 01:52:41 AM »
Didn't read the entire thread.

Its possible to do by using router and formatting software to DD WRT with special configurations. Works well.