Author Topic: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?  (Read 47819 times)

Online grodnoking

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 5686
  • Total likes: 667
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 17
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #200 on: December 24, 2019, 01:48:30 PM »


No.
You need to install DD-WRT which can only be installed on a regular router. Once you install DD-WRT follow these instructions: https://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/747884-How-to-use-an-Optimum-WiFi-hot-spot-with-multiple-computers
What's the cheapest DD-WRT able router? Used/new dont care. What physical hardware would I need besides the router?
I'm not who you think I am.

Offline OMG!

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 38
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #201 on: December 24, 2019, 06:03:47 PM »
What's the cheapest DD-WRT able router? Used/new dont care. What physical hardware would I need besides the router?

I have the Netgear R6700, which works well.
You can check here for a list of compatible routers:
(Just make sure that the one you buy supports 5 GHZ, since optimum stopped 2.4 GHZ).
https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/
« Last Edit: December 24, 2019, 06:08:38 PM by OMG! »

Offline OMG!

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 38
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #202 on: December 24, 2019, 06:04:55 PM »
What physical hardware would I need besides the router?

None.

Online Realshlomo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 203
  • Total likes: 43
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #203 on: January 18, 2020, 10:55:37 PM »
Trying to use a linksys extender to extend optimum wifi. I added the extenders mac address to an optimum account. It's not connecting to optimum when setting it up. There is an option to manually enter a static ip. Any ideas?

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 967
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #204 on: January 18, 2020, 11:12:20 PM »
Trying to use a linksys extender to extend optimum wifi. I added the extenders mac address to an optimum account. It's not connecting to optimum when setting it up. There is an option to manually enter a static ip. Any ideas?
I don't believe anyone got it to work this way.

Online Realshlomo

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 203
  • Total likes: 43
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #205 on: January 18, 2020, 11:13:18 PM »
I don't believe anyone got it to work this way.
So only an extender that can access the login page?
Do you know of one that works?

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 967
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #206 on: January 18, 2020, 11:16:01 PM »
So only an extender that can access the login page?
Do you know of one that works?
Your connecting the extender to the optimum network,
When connected the login page will open on your device.

Most tp-link extenders will work

Offline Eliyohu

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 967
  • Total likes: 72
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #207 on: January 18, 2020, 11:20:37 PM »

Either this

I got the https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MR90E3A  and it works!


Or the more complicated version, which is similar to what you were trying to do



No.
You need to install DD-WRT which can only be installed on a regular router. Once you install DD-WRT follow these instructions: https://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/747884-How-to-use-an-Optimum-WiFi-hot-spot-with-multiple-computers


Offline y.arkhypov

  • DansDeals Copper Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2020
  • Posts: 1
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #208 on: April 19, 2020, 08:13:12 PM »
I got the https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MR90E3A  and it works!

Here is my 5 cents. I tried this extender and it works very well!
1) It is working in repeating mode and suppose to drop speed by half, like any typical router, but it does not! Speed remains the same, I would connect to hot spot or I connect to extender.
2) I also noticed one thing. After white-listing Mac address of extender and connecting to it from your desktop you are redirected to optimum.net to register a device. Here is important to do whitelisting desktops in browser of mobile mode, it should not ask mac and should register your device as Iphone. Only in this scenario I have a stable internet on my desktop, otherwise I had reconnection problems each time.

Cheers!

Offline ckmk47

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 6790
  • Total likes: 388
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Female
    • View Profile
  • Location: brooklyn
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #209 on: April 21, 2020, 12:42:22 AM »
Here is my 5 cents. I tried this extender and it works very well!
1) It is working in repeating mode and suppose to drop speed by half, like any typical router, but it does not! Speed remains the same, I would connect to hot spot or I connect to extender.
2) I also noticed one thing. After white-listing Mac address of extender and connecting to it from your desktop you are redirected to optimum.net to register a device. Here is important to do whitelisting desktops in browser of mobile mode, it should not ask mac and should register your device as Iphone. Only in this scenario I have a stable internet on my desktop, otherwise I had reconnection problems each time.

Cheers!
Welcome!
Thanks for registering just to give us your "5 cents".
I hope you'll stay and chat throughout the site.

Offline Joel

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2018
  • Posts: 3684
  • Total likes: 543
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 47
    • View Profile
  • Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, Wyndham Diamond, Marriott Gold, IHG Platinum, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #210 on: April 21, 2020, 12:47:32 AM »
Here is my 5 cents. I tried this extender and it works very well!
1) It is working in repeating mode and suppose to drop speed by half, like any typical router, but it does not! Speed remains the same, I would connect to hot spot or I connect to extender.
2) I also noticed one thing. After white-listing Mac address of extender and connecting to it from your desktop you are redirected to optimum.net to register a device. Here is important to do whitelisting desktops in browser of mobile mode, it should not ask mac and should register your device as Iphone. Only in this scenario I have a stable internet on my desktop, otherwise I had reconnection problems each time.

Cheers!
Welcome to DDF!
Thank you for the full review

Online simplicity

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2019
  • Posts: 656
  • Total likes: 52
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #211 on: August 14, 2020, 01:55:11 PM »
Can some one simplify things and make a link to which router and WiFi extensor will work eg 5 GHz... TIA

Offline OMG!

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 38
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #212 on: August 14, 2020, 02:03:33 PM »
Can some one simplify things and make a link to which router and WiFi extensor will work eg 5 GHz... TIA
The Netgear R6700, worked well for me.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00R2AZLD2

You can check here for a list of all compatible routers:
(Just make sure that the one you buy supports 5 GHZ, since optimum stopped 2.4 GHZ).
https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/

Online simplicity

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2019
  • Posts: 656
  • Total likes: 52
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #213 on: August 14, 2020, 04:25:17 PM »
The Netgear R6700, worked well for me.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00R2AZLD2

You can check here for a list of all compatible routers:
(Just make sure that the one you buy supports 5 GHZ, since optimum stopped 2.4 GHZ).
https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/
this will work as a router and WiFi extender? Meaning is this all I need to set up for optimum following the steps...

Offline OMG!

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 38
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #214 on: August 14, 2020, 04:30:58 PM »
this will work as a router and WiFi extender? Meaning is this all I need to set up for optimum following the steps...
Yes, this is the only device that you need.

It is a WiFi router, after you install DD-WRT you can convert it into an extender.

Online simplicity

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2019
  • Posts: 656
  • Total likes: 52
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #215 on: September 03, 2020, 03:33:47 PM »
Yes, this is the only device that you need.

It is a WiFi router, after you install DD-WRT you can convert it into an extender.
any suggestions on how to install DD-WRT [i.e link] via wifi?

Offline OMG!

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 38
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #216 on: October 20, 2020, 06:40:53 PM »
any suggestions on how to install DD-WRT [i.e link] via wifi?
Netgear:
1) Download the DD-WRT Firmware [.chk file] from: https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/ (enter the name/model number of your router) find the correct .chk file for your model, and click on it for the download to begin.

2) Reset your router to factory defaults. This can be done using the reset button on the back of the router. (Some routers require 30-30-30 reset).

3) Connect your router to your computer with an ethernet cable. Then, login to the (Netgear) router's interface (www.routerlogin.com), click on Advanced -> Administration -> Router Update. Select the .chk file from your computer (which was downloaded in step 1), and proceed with the upgrade. DO NOT unplug or power down the router. It may take a few minutes to complete.

4) Login to DD-WRT by entering 192.168.1.1 in the browser. (It will generally, prompt you to create a username and password to proceed).

Online elazarmn

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 474
  • Total likes: 52
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: kings County
Re: Wifi Extender for Optimum Wifi?
« Reply #217 on: November 06, 2020, 12:19:48 PM »
Having a problem setting up my wifi extender,
After connecting to power and connecting the extender wifi. Then going to setup in browser...the ap link never loads and keep getting error that there is no connection.
Any help would be appreciated