Author Topic: Remote Desktop  (Read 5905 times)

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Remote Desktop
« on: December 28, 2010, 07:20:07 AM »
Anyone know of a cheap corporate use remote desktop app?
I've been using Teamviewer personal, but I would like to do it legally as I need it for a large business. $750 is a bit too much for me.
I would also be interested if someone had a TV Corporate account, and didn't mind if I used one channel (I wouldn't use more than 1). I would be willing to pay for the use of that channel.
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline Smirk

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 587
  • Total likes: 15
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 09:16:36 AM »
Logmein.com

Offline elikay

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2010
  • Posts: 5438
  • Total likes: 38
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2010, 09:32:00 AM »
showmypc has a free version for individuals but they also have other plans.

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2010, 12:44:07 PM »
Logmein.com
Thanks. I didn't realize there were no corporate limitations on LMI (or are there)
showmypc has a free version for individuals but they also have other plans.
Looks interesting, especially the self-hosted option
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline Cholentfresser

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 1921
  • Total likes: 50
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2010, 02:29:43 PM »
I've used LMI, IMO its pretty good. they have a free version and there's paid versions which u can print at the log in location.
In order to understand recursion, you first need to understand recursion.

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2010, 02:46:29 PM »
I've used LMI, IMO its pretty good. they have a free version and there's paid versions which u can print at the log in location.
Is there a stand-alone app, or is it browser plug-in only
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline Cholentfresser

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 1921
  • Total likes: 50
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2010, 03:02:09 PM »
you need to install a program on the computer u wanna have access to and then u go to logmein.com, enter your info and u have access from anywhere u have internet.
In order to understand recursion, you first need to understand recursion.

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2010, 03:14:08 PM »
you need to install a program on the computer u wanna have access to and then u go to logmein.com, enter your info and u have access from anywhere u have internet.
What I meant was,  is there a stand alone viewer app, or does the viewer have to go through a browser plug-in
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline beej

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 408
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Israel
  • Programs: SPG Gold
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2010, 04:13:43 PM »
What I meant was,  is there a stand alone viewer app, or does the viewer have to go through a browser plug-in
i'm not sure if its a plug  in(it may be) but you don't need it on the host PC only on the remote PC.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2010, 04:26:40 PM by beej »

Offline AsherO

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 25K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 31354
  • Total likes: 8213
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 79
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2010, 06:06:15 PM »
What I meant was,  is there a stand alone viewer app, or does the viewer have to go through a browser plug-in
The LMI is a browser plugin (they have Java and ActiveX versions, and an HTML version which doesn't require an install). The company might also have other paid solutions which include a standalone app.

I've been using LMI almost daily for years, and I'm a very happy customer.
DDF FFB (Forum From Birth)

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2010, 06:48:22 PM »
The LMI is a browser plugin (they have Java and ActiveX versions, and an HTML version which doesn't require an install). The company might also have other paid solutions which include a standalone app.

I've been using LMI almost daily for years, and I'm a very happy customer.
Thanks. I was actually going to ask for your opinion by name. Some ppl have a hard time understanding what ppl like us are asking ;) I never realized that LMI Free didn't have restrictions on amount of usage etc. IMO Teamviewer is faster, and I like stand-alone much better than plug-in, but I think LMI fits better into the company's budget
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline AsherO

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 25K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 31354
  • Total likes: 8213
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 79
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2010, 07:00:23 PM »
Thanks. I was actually going to ask for your opinion by name. Some ppl have a hard time understanding what ppl like us are asking ;) I never realized that LMI Free didn't have restrictions on amount of usage etc. IMO Teamviewer is faster, and I like stand-alone much better than plug-in, but I think LMI fits better into the company's budget

Thanks for the compliment.

It's free, albeit not the neatest/fastest/most efficient solution. We have LMI free running on like 2 dozen computers, but in our office and remote. We only have one paid version for a remote client who needs some of the Pro features. If you're trying to save money you can probably replicate some of the pro features using alternatives, but in LMI Pro those features are seamlessly integrated.
DDF FFB (Forum From Birth)

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2010, 07:08:42 PM »
Thanks for the compliment.

It's free, albeit not the neatest/fastest/most efficient solution. We have LMI free running on like 2 dozen computers, but in our office and remote. We only have one paid version for a remote client who needs some of the Pro features. If you're trying to save money you can probably replicate some of the pro features using alternatives, but in LMI Pro those features are seamlessly integrated.
It's mainly for support. I really only have a use for file transfer on personal systems, and TV is free for personal use.
Central looks pretty good. I'm using the trial, lets see if it's worth the price
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline AsherO

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 25K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 31354
  • Total likes: 8213
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 79
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2010, 07:37:22 PM »
It's mainly for support. I really only have a use for file transfer on personal systems, and TV is free for personal use.
Central looks pretty good. I'm using the trial, lets see if it's worth the price

There's also Hamachi (LMI bought them) for like transfer, it's free (with a limit of how many clients on the VPN it creates) and works well. That's what I was using before I started using dropbox for transfer of small files, works like a charm.
DDF FFB (Forum From Birth)

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2010, 12:57:26 AM »
There's also Hamachi (LMI bought them) for like transfer, it's free (with a limit of how many clients on the VPN it creates) and works well. That's what I was using before I started using dropbox for transfer of small files, works like a charm.
I'm currently using Hamachi for VPN. It's great, but the gateway is only at one location (where the server is).
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline smurf

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 4567
  • Total likes: 318
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
    • View Profile
  • Location: NJ
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2010, 01:03:34 AM »
I remember reading about a hamachi alternative, I believe it was called easy-vpn by comodo.

Offline AsherO

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 25K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 31354
  • Total likes: 8213
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 79
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2010, 01:36:53 AM »
I'm currently using Hamachi for VPN. It's great, but the gateway is only at one location (where the server is).

Does this limit you in any way?
DDF FFB (Forum From Birth)

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2010, 02:01:21 AM »
Does this limit you in any way?
I believe (although I may be wrong) that you can only access resources on the gateways LAN, but not on clients LAN, Besides the clients are not always connected
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline Chaikel

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 6844
  • Total likes: 173
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 20
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Programs: LH SEN, SPG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Rav Kav Platinum
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2010, 02:10:58 AM »
I remember reading about a hamachi alternative, I believe it was called easy-vpn by comodo.
Hmmm includes remote desktop. Worth taking for a ride (on VPCs obviously)
Create professional looking itineraries.
Check out eliteitinerary.com

Offline AsherO

  • Global Moderator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 25K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 31354
  • Total likes: 8213
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 79
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
Re: Remote Desktop
« Reply #19 on: December 29, 2010, 02:42:09 AM »
I believe (although I may be wrong) that you can only access resources on the gateways LAN, but not on clients LAN, Besides the clients are not always connected

I'm just using it to transfer files between clients, wouldn't affect me. Good to know though, thanks.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2010, 02:49:07 AM by AsherO »
DDF FFB (Forum From Birth)