Author Topic: Question on changing the award ticket from AA to JAL (still "On Request" status)  (Read 2666 times)

Offline joykid

• DansDeals Copper Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
I am newbie here so please bear with me :) First off, Happy New Year 2015! I wish you a prosperous new year with more miles and travels for you! :)

I have a couple questions, appreciate it a lot if you could please
help since I am in so much stress thinking of my first award tickets now:

1. I called AA to change my award ticket from AA F class to JAL F class, the agent told me it won’t be any additional fee and she helped me to cancel the old booking and made new booking, she said it require the redeposit of miles into my AA account and refund for the tax and then it will automatically deduct the miles and charges for the tax from same credit card I used for the new booking. She gave me the record locator number. She said it takes few hours before it gets ticketed. I checked online on AA website and it says it still in “On Request” status since Dec 20. The tax fee for old booking has already been refunded to my credit card and also the miles also has been deposited into my AA account. But no charges made for the new booking yet. What gives?
Do you think I should wait it out until it gets automatically “Ticketed” or call AA again?
My concern is, since the old award ticket from SFO-NRT and new one is SFO-HND, I am afraid if I call and get different agent they will tell me that I need to pay additional fee since the destination is different (NRT verse HND), while the agent who helped me canceled the old award ticket and rebooked the new award ticket said that there would be no additional fee.