Author Topic: Sprint now offers free international data and sms and 0.20 calls. Limited countries  (Read 1354 times)

Offline cozmohoot

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 4303
  • Total likes: 66
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
Wonder if this will slowly lead to all carriers copying tmobile. Sprint has very few countries.
http://support.sprint.com/support/article/FAQs_about_Sprint_International_Value_Roaming/8fc1976f-831b-44a4-ab93-d1b3c36c39a3

Countries included :
Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Spain, Chile, Costa Rica, Panama, Germany, Japan, Russia, South Korea and United Kingdom.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2015, 02:44:05 PM by cozmohoot »

Offline efflpetzel

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2484
  • Total likes: 39
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
It doesn't say what kind of calls are free,
Incoming, outgoing, Cellphone to USA, cellphone to local?
Am I to assume they're all free

Offline cozmohoot

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 4303
  • Total likes: 66
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
Calls are 20 cents, not free. Seems to be all calls.

Offline Achas Veachas

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 4224
  • Total likes: 51
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
    • Torah && Tech
You'd think Canada would be included... :-\

Offline JoeCha

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Posts: 512
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Avis President's Club, Expedia+ Silver
You'd think Canada would be included... :-\
Rep just told me that Canada was already in the final stages of being added, hopefully they'll know exact date shortly.

She also said HKG & China are most likely the next to be added.
"There is no such thing as bad whiskey. Some whiskeys just happen to be better than others" ― William Faulkner

Offline Mendylab

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 426
  • Total likes: 14
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 10
    • View Profile
Rep just told me that Canada was already in the final stages of being added, hopefully they'll know exact date shortly.

She also said HKG & China are most likely the next to be added.

They did add recently some better plans for Canada, but still ridiculously expensive...
Hope they will add it like the other country's...

Offline lunatic

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 4281
  • Total likes: 11
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
    • View Profile
So I chatted with Sprint and the rep told me that only 2g data is free? Has anyone here been told otherwise? If so,  how do you prevent your phone from accessing 3g or 4g?

Offline yitrap

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 3319
  • Total likes: 49
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile

So I chatted with Sprint and the rep told me that only 2g data is free? Has anyone here been told otherwise? If so,  how do you prevent your phone from accessing 3g or 4g?
I thought it was 3G but could be I'm just thinking about T-Mobile, with them it would automatically just stop using 4g unless I bought that package.

Offline cozmohoot

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 4303
  • Total likes: 66
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
I thought it was 3G but could be I'm just thinking about T-Mobile, with them it would automatically just stop using 4g unless I bought that package.
So I chatted with Sprint and the rep told me that only 2g data is free? Has anyone here been told otherwise? If so,  how do you prevent your phone from accessing 3g or 4g?
tmobile intl data is also officially only 2g. if you happen to get faster they dont charge. maybe sprint is the same way.
i dont think they would charge if you get faster speeds in selected countries

Offline lunatic

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 4281
  • Total likes: 11
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
    • View Profile
tmobile intl data is also officially only 2g. if you happen to get faster they dont charge. maybe sprint is the same way.
i dont think they would charge if you get faster speeds in selected countries
Anyone else have experience with Sprint?

Offline lunatic

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2009
  • Posts: 4281
  • Total likes: 11
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
    • View Profile
Update : called Sprint and apparently they throttle the data at 2g. But can't complain,  free is free