Author Topic: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question  (Read 62371 times)

Offline Alexsei

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6068
  • Total likes: 1610
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
    • Travel & Kivrei Zadikim
  • Location: Truckistan
  • Programs: COVID-23
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #140 on: June 05, 2018, 12:33:39 PM »
Update: cc gave them 45 days to respond to the chargeback
I noticed i never gave an update, Upwork ended up footing the bill
Party over country.

Offline Alexsei

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6068
  • Total likes: 1610
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
    • Travel & Kivrei Zadikim
  • Location: Truckistan
  • Programs: COVID-23
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #141 on: June 05, 2018, 12:35:16 PM »
I have a team of several offshore devs working on a site I created a copy of the live site for each of them and they are all assigned different tasks, over time their installations became so different that we are spending hours just for debugging, question: what would be the most efficient method to have a team work together without conflicting on each others work? (git? )
Party over country.

Offline JoeyShmoe

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 1286
  • Total likes: 254
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #142 on: June 05, 2018, 01:22:53 PM »
I have a team of several offshore devs working on a site I created a copy of the live site for each of them and they are all assigned different tasks, over time their installations became so different that we are spending hours just for debugging, question: what would be the most efficient method to have a team work together without conflicting on each others work? (git? )
Any form of subversioning (SVN, Git, Mercurial)
DDF A-Z Link Extension
Chrome
Firefox
Info

Offline Alexsei

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6068
  • Total likes: 1610
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
    • Travel & Kivrei Zadikim
  • Location: Truckistan
  • Programs: COVID-23
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #143 on: June 05, 2018, 01:54:24 PM »
Any form of subversioning (SVN, Git, Mercurial)
i started reading about all of this... I got a massive headache....

Essentially I want something that also has the website live (for specific users not for the general public) so in the backend there's a repo with full versioning and history of commits and on front end theres a website from the latest version so that we can use the same system for testing , and it is not a static website, it's php+sql

I found https://www.springloops.io/ what it does is connects to a git and than deploys to ftp (or other options) basically it's a IFTTT for git

Party over country.

Offline JoeyShmoe

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 1286
  • Total likes: 254
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #144 on: June 05, 2018, 04:55:17 PM »
i started reading about all of this... I got a massive headache....

Essentially I want something that also has the website live (for specific users not for the general public) so in the backend there's a repo with full versioning and history of commits and on front end theres a website from the latest version so that we can use the same system for testing , and it is not a static website, it's php+sql

I found https://www.springloops.io/ what it does is connects to a git and than deploys to ftp (or other options) basically it's a IFTTT for git
Are you sure you want to publish every commit? What if one of the developers commits something which breaks another developers work? Git allows you to have separate branches which you can then merge into the master when all seems well, and can easily be rolled back. All of your developers would have to know git well for that though.
DDF A-Z Link Extension
Chrome
Firefox
Info

Offline Alexsei

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6068
  • Total likes: 1610
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
    • Travel & Kivrei Zadikim
  • Location: Truckistan
  • Programs: COVID-23
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #145 on: June 05, 2018, 05:58:56 PM »
Are you sure you want to publish every commit? What if one of the developers commits something which breaks another developers work? Git allows you to have separate branches which you can then merge into the master when all seems well, and can easily be rolled back. All of your developers would have to know git well for that though.

No i will publish what I choose, however with git, how will the dev site be live for testing? do you suggest I create a dev site and push from git to ftp?
Party over country.

Offline whYME

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 3383
  • Total likes: 1245
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #146 on: June 05, 2018, 06:43:18 PM »
do you suggest I create a dev site and push from git to ftp?
Simple answer is yes.

Their remote repo should be your dev/testing server. Any changes go there. If all's good you push to the live server.

Offline Alexsei

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6068
  • Total likes: 1610
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
    • Travel & Kivrei Zadikim
  • Location: Truckistan
  • Programs: COVID-23
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #147 on: August 12, 2018, 05:09:40 PM »
Sorry for cross posting, got no response since me, this should essentialy be served as a BUMP... is anyone aware of a way to automatically pause/resume a shopify store checkout every shabbos? (or a reference to an api call that can possibly handle it?)
Party over country.

Offline Alexsei

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6068
  • Total likes: 1610
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
    • Travel & Kivrei Zadikim
  • Location: Truckistan
  • Programs: COVID-23
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #148 on: December 13, 2018, 04:57:52 PM »
I'm looking for feedback and critique for a website in development i'm involved in, the site is in Hebrew, if you would like to take a few minutes to give your opinion please PM me for the URL
Party over country.

Offline robbyrow

  • DansDeals Copper Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 1
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #149 on: January 04, 2019, 06:48:18 AM »
I'll start:
I have a WP website and recently, when I try to visit one of the pages I get the following message: This webpage has a redirect loop.
 Anybody have advice on how to fix this. I'm pretty much a novice when it comes to website development, so any help in layman's terms will be appreciated.
TIA

 In w.p there are many issues you have to check some plug in first for getting into some other idea because from some time i had a site with the same problem i have reserved it but there was a guy he told me that some plug in ar not supporting your site version that why i have changed it and you have to be extra careful in w.p if you uninstall any plug in the  then the site may crash.
I Work in new york website design agencies and doing freelance work for needy people.

Offline Definitions

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 1792
  • Total likes: 480
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #150 on: February 27, 2019, 01:29:35 AM »
So I have a website that I'm setting up. There was one thing that was really bugging me about it. It's a responsive site and  it had a pair of two buttons that moved to the top left corner of a section when on the mobile version. I wanted them to stay on the top right corner like how it looks on desktop.

I looked at the source code on the element inspector and saw that the buttons are an unordered list with each button being a list item.

It was something like this

<div class="mainarea">

<ul class="buttons">

<li>
<li>

The div had a property of position: relative  but the ul was position: absolute

First I just tried deleting the position: absolute totally from the css file but it didn't change anything.

Then I changed the ul to position: relative and the buttons went to the top right corner of the div where I wanted them to be.

My question is why did it go there because of that? Shouldn't it go on the top left?
(I don't really know much about html or css I'm asking based on my current understanding of what position: relative does)
My Tapatalk notifications don't always work.

Offline Definitions

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 1792
  • Total likes: 480
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #151 on: February 27, 2019, 02:03:14 AM »
What's even weirder is that I have a clone website where I test any changes before I do it on my main one. I just tried doing the same thing on my main site and it doesn't go to the top right it stays on the left  ???

Any help would be appreciated

ETA: I actually just cleared my browser data and tried it again and it seems to be working fine
« Last Edit: February 27, 2019, 02:09:55 AM by Definitions »
My Tapatalk notifications don't always work.

Offline Yammer

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 3755
  • Total likes: 224
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #152 on: April 05, 2019, 12:29:37 PM »
I'm trying to add 4 videos into MailChimp without making separate blocks for them. So I try to insert this via code


<iframe width="280" height="315" src="https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PsI7nyLNVvg" frameborder="10" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="280" height="315" src="https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PsI7nyLNVvg" frameborder="10" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="280" height="315" src="https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PsI7nyLNVvg" frameborder="10" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
<iframe width="280" height="315" src="https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PsI7nyLNVvg" frameborder="10" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

But it delete itself. I see that they have some T&C

Code Block Tips
Here are are some tips for how to use the Code content block.

Don't use JavaScript.
Because most email clients block JavaScript to protect against viruses, we automatically remove all detectable JavaScript from your code.
Don't use a word-processing program to create HTML content.
Programs like Microsoft Word or Publisher can add extra styling code, and distort your campaign. We recommend that you write the HTML code in a simple text editor and then paste the code into the Code block.
Use embedded or inline CSS.
In most cases, external CSS files will not work in HTML email. You can add embedded or inline CSS to a Code block, preferably above the body section of your campaign layout. For the best results, we recommend you use inline CSS.
Use media queries to ensure responsive design.
If you want your code to be mobile responsive, you’ll need to include media queries. A media query is a CSS component that allows your content to adapt to different devices. To learn more, check out the W3C Recommendation for Media Queries and the Litmus guide to How to Code a Responsive Email from Scratch.
Use the Content Manager or absolute paths for images and files.
Use our Content Manager to host files and images for your campaign. Grab the file URL from the Content Manager and paste it into your code in the Code block. If you host your images on your own server, use absolute paths.


Is there a way for me to insert it by changing a few small things?

Offline whYME

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 3383
  • Total likes: 1245
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #153 on: April 05, 2019, 12:52:52 PM »
I don't think I've ever seen a video actually embedded in an email. What's usually done is putting a placeholder image that when clicked takes you to a page with the video.

Offline Yammer

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 3755
  • Total likes: 224
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #154 on: April 05, 2019, 12:57:00 PM »
I don't think I've ever seen a video actually embedded in an email. What's usually done is putting a placeholder image that when clicked takes you to a page with the video.
They have an option of just putting in the URL and it automatically creates the picture. My problem is and I'd like to put in 4 different videos and don't want to have it as 4 different blocks.

Online stooges44

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Posts: 6621
  • Total likes: 2885
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 270
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #155 on: April 05, 2019, 01:03:18 PM »
They have an option of just putting in the URL and it automatically creates the picture. My problem is and I'd like to put in 4 different videos and don't want to have it as 4 different blocks.

why not different blocks?
If it's not free shipping it's not worth it.

Offline Yammer

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 3755
  • Total likes: 224
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #156 on: April 05, 2019, 01:07:48 PM »
why not different blocks?
It's a mixture of picture colleges and videos. I just didn't want to to go on forever...

Offline Definitions

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 1792
  • Total likes: 480
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #157 on: April 22, 2019, 05:12:49 PM »


I'm confused about what this means. Does a class name need to have something before the period. In this example they write "p.subheader" and they use the class for a <p> tag. Does it need a prefix before the period? If yes does it have to match the tag you're using?

For example can I make a class

Code: [Select]
.sampleclass {
Font-weight: bold;
Color: red;
}

Then use this for any HTML tag?
My Tapatalk notifications don't always work.

Offline yesitsme

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5127
  • Total likes: 2239
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #158 on: April 22, 2019, 07:21:22 PM »


I'm confused about what this means. Does a class name need to have something before the period.
No


However if you only want to apply a style to all elements that have the class subheader and are in a P this is how you would specify p.subheader

https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/Specificity

Offline Alexsei

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 6068
  • Total likes: 1610
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
    • Travel & Kivrei Zadikim
  • Location: Truckistan
  • Programs: COVID-23
Re: Website development and design troubleshooting/ question
« Reply #159 on: May 13, 2019, 09:22:06 PM »
I need help regarding the best and easiest method for redirecting old permalinks from my old website (using ID based links) to my new website using SEO optimized links.

I would appreciate a PM alternatively we can continue the discussion here.

TIA
Party over country.