Topic Wiki

IF YOUR OBI NEEDS UPDATES SEE HERE

See here for some good tutorials on setting up the Obi.

You can switch your current landline number into a Google Voice account to retain your phone number on a free Obi phone line.
To port your landline to GV:
  • Get ahold of an old Page Plus or Verizon cell phone that isn't being used. Port your existing landline to Page Plus for free through their website.
  • Fill out the port form and put in your landline number and the old PP cell phone's ESN or MEID number (from under the battery) and wait a couple of days for it to go through. You will know that the port is complete, when dialing your landline rings on the cell phone.
  • Once the account is active, buy $10 worth of minutes from PagePlus in order to receive the verification call from GV.
  • Now you can initiate the GV port. It's a good idea to open a new Gmail account. You can then setup all emails that come to that account (all the voicemails notifications) to be forwarded to your main Gmail account. Login to GV from the new account and port in your number. It will cost $20, and you will get an email when the port to GV is complete.
Using the above method will only have incoming Caller ID numbers, not names. If you want names as well, follow these steps:
  • Go to https://www.callcentric.com/, click Products, then click the yellow Get A Number button next to Free Phone Number.
  • Use the tool on the left to pick an area code, then order the number. It doesnít have to be something memorable, because no one will ever have to dial it.
  • When it asks if youíre in US/Canada, either select Yes to use their E911 service, or No if you want to use something else. Callcentric setup is free, plus $1.50/mo if you want E911 services. See below for more details.
  • After you receive a confirmation email from Callcentric with your new account info, go to obitalk.com, and log into your Obi. Click SP2, scroll down to OBiTALK Compatible Service Providers, then click Next. Follow the prompts to link your Callcentric account. In the box that says Callcentric Number, enter the 1777 number you got in the email. Uncheck Primary Line for Outgoing Calls and 911.
  • Open Google Voice, go into Settings, and add a forwarding phone. Enter the real phone number you got in the email from Callcentric. Google will call it to confirm; it should ring on your Obi. Answer it and enter the code shown by GV.
  • Uncheck forward to Google Chat.
  • Log into your Callcentric account. Click Preferences. Under General, enable Caller ID with name (Inbound calls). (You can also change the maximum call duration, and unlist yourself from the directory).
or this for a $5 one time fee.
https://simonics.com/gw/?promo=nerdvittles


If youíre not using Callcentric, you have to set up SP3 in Obi settings to point to your E911 providerís account.
E911 providers:
Callcentric$18/year ($1.50/mo) + $1.50 setup
Anveo$15/year
http://www.gv911.com/$12/year
http://www.bulkvs.com/e911.html$8.64/year ($0.72/mo)

If you want the SP2 to ring like the standard US ringtone:
go to obi expert config, then to voice service, select sp2, and change it to this:
X_ServProvProfile B
X_RingProfile   A
X_CodecProfile   A

You can add your CID http://www.listyourself.net/ListYourself/listing.jsp?ID=new
and check your CID http://who.scalling.com/411/

Author Topic: OBi Master Thread  (Read 148294 times)

Offline sammy n

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 2763
  • Total likes: 15
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #870 on: May 29, 2016, 07:19:03 PM »
From the phone press *** option 9 is reboot.
And then 1 to confirm the reboot.

Offline sammy n

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 2763
  • Total likes: 15
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #871 on: May 29, 2016, 07:19:41 PM »
From the phone press *** option 9 is reboot.
And then 1 to confirm the reboot.
But still didn't work for me.

Offline ExGingi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 6101
  • Total likes: 1030
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
  • Location: 770
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #872 on: May 29, 2016, 07:24:28 PM »
I am at the OBI interface and its not there.

Excuse my graphic abilities, but I pointed out the Reboot button in this post: http://forums.dansdeals.com/index.php?topic=5945.msg1479140#msg1479140 (scroll the image to the right to see it)
I've been waiting over 5 years with bated breath for someone to say that!
-- Dan

Offline ilherman

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 8389
  • Total likes: 58
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 34
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #873 on: May 29, 2016, 07:36:53 PM »
Excuse my graphic abilities, but I pointed out the Reboot button in this post: http://forums.dansdeals.com/index.php?topic=5945.msg1479140#msg1479140 (scroll the image to the right to see it)
Not showing here.

You can say what you think when you think what you say.

Offline Baruch

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 2502
  • Total likes: 82
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #874 on: May 29, 2016, 07:40:23 PM »
If I'm having technical difficulties, and I want to reboot. Does rebooting delete all the info on the obi? (such as my gv number and callcentric number)
When somebody thanks you for a favor you've done, respond "my pleasure", not "no problem".

Offline ExGingi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 6101
  • Total likes: 1030
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
  • Location: 770
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #875 on: May 29, 2016, 07:51:33 PM »
If I'm having technical difficulties, and I want to reboot. Does rebooting delete all the info on the obi? (such as my gv number and callcentric number)

Shouldn't delete. But just in case you can backup your settings.
I've been waiting over 5 years with bated breath for someone to say that!
-- Dan

Offline ilherman

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 8389
  • Total likes: 58
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 34
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #876 on: May 29, 2016, 09:49:34 PM »
Excuse my graphic abilities, but I pointed out the Reboot button in this post: http://forums.dansdeals.com/index.php?topic=5945.msg1479140#msg1479140 (scroll the image to the right to see it)
I followed all the steps and still no caller id. What is the issue?
You can say what you think when you think what you say.

Offline ExGingi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 6101
  • Total likes: 1030
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
  • Location: 770
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #877 on: May 29, 2016, 10:32:04 PM »
I followed all the steps and still no caller id. What is the issue?

Is that your only issue? Did you update the OBi firmware or are you using simonics? Did you previously have caller ID on this device /line?
I've been waiting over 5 years with bated breath for someone to say that!
-- Dan

Offline ilherman

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 8389
  • Total likes: 58
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 34
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #878 on: May 30, 2016, 12:39:39 AM »
Is that your only issue? Did you update the OBi firmware or are you using simonics? Did you previously have caller ID on this device /line?
what do u mean? I signed up for simonics and then followed ur instructions.

I did have caller id before.

Anyway to have outgoing caller id? My name should come up?
You can say what you think when you think what you say.

Offline ExGingi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 6101
  • Total likes: 1030
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
  • Location: 770
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #879 on: May 30, 2016, 12:46:48 AM »
what do u mean? I signed up for simonics and then followed ur instructions.

I did have caller id before.

Anyway to have outgoing caller id? My name should come up?
Is your problem with outgoing caller ID, incoming caller ID, or both?
I've been waiting over 5 years with bated breath for someone to say that!
-- Dan

Offline ilherman

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 8389
  • Total likes: 58
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 34
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #880 on: May 30, 2016, 01:07:13 AM »
Now that a fix has been posted (copied below to save people from needing to go to another site), does anyone still want me to take the time and post detailed instructions/screenshots to make Obi work with simonics.com?


Here's the fix posted elsewhere:

Found the solution on another thread for the Obi100. 

Download this firmware for the Obi110 http://fw.obihai.com/OBi110-1-3-0-2886.fw
(Yes, I know its for the Obi110 but it will work in the Obi100).

Then Reboot.

If you don't know how to install the firmware:

Dial * * * 1

It will give  you the IP Address:  192.168.XXX.XXX   (example 192.168.1.27 )

My edit: if, like in my case, ***1 doesn't give you the ip address but gives you an error, log into your router (you can find the address for your router by clicking on the Start button in windows and entering cmd in the universal search bar, this should open a "DOS style" command prompt/window. In there type ipconfig and Enter, it should display your Gateway ip address. You can then go to your browser and type in that number as the address you want to browse.
You will probably be prompted to enter a username and password for your router. Unless you set it up yourself, it is often
admin , if unsure try Google to find the default password for your router.

Once logged into the router, you should be able to find the ip address for attached devices, possibly under status. If you're still having difficulty finding the ip address for your pm me for help


In your browser, enter the IP Address as the URL.

User Name: admin
password: admin

On the left side, navigate to SYSTEM MANAGEMENT

Click DEVICE UPDATE

At the top where it says "Firmware Update
Select file to update firmware [BROWSE] ...."

Click BROWSE and add the file.    Then click UPLOAD

Once it reboots its done.

In the obitalk portal, you can delete the old device and add a new device.  Its should work with Google Voice using OAuth.
When I put in IP address as URL i get this The requested URL was not found!
You can say what you think when you think what you say.

Offline ilherman

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 8389
  • Total likes: 58
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 34
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #881 on: May 30, 2016, 01:07:32 AM »
Is your problem with outgoing caller ID, incoming caller ID, or both?
Both.
You can say what you think when you think what you say.

Offline sammy n

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 2763
  • Total likes: 15
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #882 on: May 30, 2016, 04:01:50 AM »
Can someone help me?
I updated to 2886 and rebooted and its still not working.
What am I doing wrong??
Anyone?

Offline aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 6940
  • Total likes: 1591
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #883 on: May 30, 2016, 09:08:46 AM »
Both.
Afaik there is no way to have outgoing cnam with gv
You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say can and will be used to start a religious discussion.

Offline stevendre

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 76
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: New York
Re: OBi 110
« Reply #884 on: May 30, 2016, 08:43:51 PM »
So I got a new number a year ago using Vestalink and my obi. Now I would like to switch it back to GV and my obi and to leave vestalink. What is the process for me to port my vestalink phone number to GV.
GV says its not available to be ported ??