Topic Wiki

Open Serve: Do 1 of the following:
1) Buy a temporary card. (free in cvs in NJ won’t take cc)($3.95 fee), or
2) Open online. They’ll send you a card. (free)
Note that you COULD have more than one of these: Bluebird (BB), Redcard and serve. 

Loading Serve: Serve does not have any fees to load money.
a) At CVS, 7-11, and Rite Aid ONLY CASH can be loaded.
b) At Walmart GCs …uh Debit Cards (besides Vanilla cards) can be loaded onto Serve just like onto BB. Load limit: $2500/day up to $5000/month
c) At Family Dollar max $499.99/Day, not hard coded, YMMV, Cash or Debit/Gift Card.
WARNING: There are reports of debit cards being drained at FD, and not loading onto Serve, so FD is not recommended.
d) An Amex CC of the serve cardholder can be linked and used to fund your Serve ONLINE. Load limit: $200 per day/$1000 per month
Amex cc loads are not considered cash advance. They DO NOT earn points, or count towards a spending threshold.
e) Debit Cards linked to Serve: $200/day up to 1000/month ONLINE.  But only a permanent DC with your name on it. (NOT GCs)

So your total loading limit per month, if using all 3 methods is $7K.

-Serve has a $1 monthly inactivity fee (waived in VA, NY and TX) that is waived if you use Direct Deposit OR add $500.
-If Serve has a bonus for using direct deposit, use AP.

Using the funds on Serve:
-Free ATM use/withdrawal at MoneyPass ATMs. $2 elsewhere.
-Serve has a Bill Pay feature – same as BB.  You tell them who to pay, and they send a check for you.  You can pay up to 5k of unregistered billers, but 10K of registered ones (registered= those on their bill pay list). Pay your Credit Cards bills as well as many other bills or any person!
WARNING: Do not use the bill pay feature to pay the Credit Card that is linked for online loads.
-money in your Serve account can be withdrawn directly to a linked bank account, which, if done too much, may be seen as risky by Serve, but in moderation should be fine.
Withdraw to your bank https://secure.serve.com/Actions/WithdrawMoney

Make sure the name, address and phone number on your profile match your credit card billing address, or you may get declined.  When linking your credit card at serve.com, the website will only show you the address on your profile, but not the phone number, so this is easy to overlook.  Go to profile, and check/update your phone number there.

Error likely with the Serve account:
When you create a new account and add a credit card, you will be allowed to do the first transaction. After that, your account will probably go into system lockdown until you verify some information. Likely error message for this case is "Risk declined operation" when you try to add money on to the account. You will need to send in (online, fax or mail) a photo ID and a copy of your credit card or statement. Upload your documents here -
https://secure.serve.com/User/SecureFileUpload. Then Call up AMEX Account Protection Services at 1-800-555-4318 and tell them you uploaded the documents and ask them to verify it for you.
« Last edited by Iz on August 18, 2016, 10:36:02 AM »

Author Topic: Amexserve/Softcard  (Read 843728 times)

Offline clear thinker

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 2791
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3180 on: February 10, 2015, 07:04:07 AM »
Can staples rebate cards be used to load online as a debit card?
It does have ur name printed on it.
BUMP

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 9385
  • Total likes: 312
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3181 on: February 10, 2015, 10:55:50 AM »
That can only be done with gift cards or debit cards.
You can buy them with CC, though
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Moes Tavern

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 1043
  • Total likes: 21
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 28
    • View Profile
  • Location: The Garden State
  • Programs: Marriott Platinum Premier Elite
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3182 on: February 12, 2015, 01:16:07 AM »
United Miles for December's purchase were finally posted today.
"I've done some things I'm not proud of, and the things I am proud of are pretty disgusting"

Offline clear thinker

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 2791
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3183 on: February 12, 2015, 09:52:06 AM »
United Miles for December's purchase were finally posted today.
+2500

Offline avadah

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Sep 2012
  • Posts: 1980
  • Total likes: 12
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Jerusalem
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3184 on: February 12, 2015, 02:35:27 PM »
Does each softcard need it's own phone or can I have multiple accounts (me and my wife) on one phone?

Offline eli.f

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 1203
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: TLV
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3185 on: February 12, 2015, 03:04:45 PM »
Does each softcard need it's own phone or can I have multiple accounts (me and my wife) on one phone?
Since one could use a house phone, I don't see why that would be a problem.

Offline D93

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9191
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 14
    • View Profile
  • Location: PHL - TLV
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3186 on: February 12, 2015, 03:33:10 PM »
Since one could use a house phone, I don't see why that would be a problem.

Huh? How you install the Softcard app on a house phone?? (last time i checked only smart phones and the like can have apps)

Offline AnonymousUser

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 3008
  • Total likes: 4
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3187 on: February 12, 2015, 03:34:18 PM »
Does each softcard need it's own phone or can I have multiple accounts (me and my wife) on one phone?
If you mean the phone number you enter on the application page, just mark it as a home number and you can reuse it. If you mean the physical phone that you have the app on, it's one account per SIM, so if you have 2 Sims you can have 2 accounts.

Offline eli.f

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 1203
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: TLV
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3188 on: February 12, 2015, 03:35:52 PM »
Huh? How you install the Softcard app on a house phone?
Misunderstood. Thought he was asking about the number on the app page.

Offline eli.f

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 1203
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: TLV
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3189 on: February 12, 2015, 03:36:44 PM »
If you mean the phone number you enter on the application page, just mark it as a home number and you can reuse it. If you mean the physical phone that you have the app on, it's one account per SIM, so if you have 2 Sims you can have 2 accounts.
Does one need to clear the app data every switch?

Offline D93

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9191
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 14
    • View Profile
  • Location: PHL - TLV
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3190 on: February 12, 2015, 03:40:23 PM »
Misunderstood. Thought he was asking about the number on the app page.

Woops. Reading too fast :)

Offline D93

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 9191
  • Total likes: 2
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 14
    • View Profile
  • Location: PHL - TLV
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3191 on: February 12, 2015, 03:41:44 PM »
Does one need to clear the app data every switch?

Yes

Offline eli.f

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 1203
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: TLV
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3192 on: February 12, 2015, 03:42:40 PM »

Offline reed

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 439
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3193 on: February 13, 2015, 12:23:31 PM »
True true. Gotta work on it :)

AA citi mastercard should work with this right?

Offline reed

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 439
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3194 on: February 13, 2015, 12:31:04 PM »
Will AA citi mastercard be able to be loaded as a purchase on serve?