Topic Wiki

Open Serve: Do 1 of the following:
1) Buy a temporary card. (free in cvs in NJ won’t take cc)($3.95 fee), or
2) Open online. They’ll send you a card. (free)
Note that you COULD have more than one of these: Bluebird (BB), Redcard and serve. 

Loading Serve: Serve does not have any fees to load money.
a) At CVS, 7-11, and Rite Aid ONLY CASH can be loaded.
b) At Walmart GCs …uh Debit Cards (besides Vanilla cards) can be loaded onto Serve just like onto BB. Load limit: $2500/day up to $5000/month
c) At Family Dollar max $499.99/Day, not hard coded, YMMV, Cash or Debit/Gift Card.
WARNING: There are reports of debit cards being drained at FD, and not loading onto Serve, so FD is not recommended.
d) An Amex CC of the serve cardholder can be linked and used to fund your Serve ONLINE. Load limit: $200 per day/$1000 per month
Amex cc loads are not considered cash advance. They DO NOT earn points, or count towards a spending threshold.
e) Debit Cards linked to Serve: $200/day up to 1000/month ONLINE.  But only a permanent DC with your name on it. (NOT GCs)

So your total loading limit per month, if using all 3 methods is $7K.

-Serve has a $1 monthly inactivity fee (waived in VA, NY and TX) that is waived if you use Direct Deposit OR add $500.
-If Serve has a bonus for using direct deposit, use AP.

Using the funds on Serve:
-Free ATM use/withdrawal at MoneyPass ATMs. $2 elsewhere.
-Serve has a Bill Pay feature – same as BB.  You tell them who to pay, and they send a check for you.  You can pay up to 5k of unregistered billers, but 10K of registered ones (registered= those on their bill pay list). Pay your Credit Cards bills as well as many other bills or any person!
WARNING: Do not use the bill pay feature to pay the Credit Card that is linked for online loads.
-money in your Serve account can be withdrawn directly to a linked bank account, which, if done too much, may be seen as risky by Serve, but in moderation should be fine.
Withdraw to your bank https://secure.serve.com/Actions/WithdrawMoney

Make sure the name, address and phone number on your profile match your credit card billing address, or you may get declined.  When linking your credit card at serve.com, the website will only show you the address on your profile, but not the phone number, so this is easy to overlook.  Go to profile, and check/update your phone number there.

Error likely with the Serve account:
When you create a new account and add a credit card, you will be allowed to do the first transaction. After that, your account will probably go into system lockdown until you verify some information. Likely error message for this case is "Risk declined operation" when you try to add money on to the account. You will need to send in (online, fax or mail) a photo ID and a copy of your credit card or statement. Upload your documents here -
https://secure.serve.com/User/SecureFileUpload. Then Call up AMEX Account Protection Services at 1-800-555-4318 and tell them you uploaded the documents and ask them to verify it for you.
« Last edited by Iz on August 18, 2016, 10:36:02 AM »

Author Topic: Amexserve/Softcard  (Read 854745 times)

Offline yitzy93

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 875
  • Total likes: 12
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3705 on: June 01, 2015, 11:31:24 AM »
It pays to use your American Express Serve® Card when you go shopping! Get up to $20 in Account credits after you spend $150 with your Card in June and then again in July.1 From everyday purchases like your morning coffee and groceries to big-ticket items like electronics and home improvements, you can spend $150 or more however you like!

 MONTH:    SPEND A TOTAL OF:    YOU GET:
 
 June    $150 Or More    $10 Account Credit
 
 July    $150 Or More    $10 Account Credi

Link?

Offline nafnaf12

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 3421
  • Total likes: 157
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 73
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3706 on: June 01, 2015, 12:18:07 PM »
A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor.

Offline yitzy93

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 875
  • Total likes: 12
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3707 on: June 01, 2015, 12:57:17 PM »
got it in an email

Most probably targeted.

Offline JunkYardUnz

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 343
  • Total likes: 7
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: NJ
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3708 on: June 01, 2015, 11:52:37 PM »

I did. But corporate FD reversed it and put the money back

Well my FD, knows that already. Last time I was there I loaded one card and then I tried the other card and it was declined. I was about to leave and she said hold on I need to refund you card..... When I called up to get my balance it showed a in and a out for $500 that day.

Offline Amusch

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 590
  • Total likes: 30
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Queens, New York
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3709 on: June 04, 2015, 01:26:31 PM »
Just looked this up and only found some pre-4/15 posts. With Amex (obviously diff numbers on each card), can different Serve accts load from same main account, e.g. my wife as an AU and me as primary card holder? I know this was an issue with Visas in the pre-4/15 days...

Offline yitrap

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 3318
  • Total likes: 49
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3710 on: June 04, 2015, 02:59:43 PM »

Just looked this up and only found some pre-4/15 posts. With Amex (obviously diff numbers on each card), can different Serve accts load from same main account, e.g. my wife as an AU and me as primary card holder? I know this was an issue with Visas in the pre-4/15 days...
Wasnt the issue due to the same card number?

Offline JT27MP

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 173
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3711 on: June 04, 2015, 05:09:04 PM »
If you can't load a Prepaid staples visa reward card onto a serve card, is there anyplace else you can load it to?

I was able to load it onto the Dunkin Donuts app to be able to use for some donuts.

Any other ideas?
Is this the right place for this discussion?

Offline foseph

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Posts: 377
  • Total likes: 3
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3712 on: June 04, 2015, 05:14:22 PM »
If you can't load a Prepaid staples visa reward card onto a serve card, is there anyplace else you can load it to?

I was able to load it onto the Dunkin Donuts app to be able to use for some donuts.

Any other ideas?
Is this the right place for this discussion?
U can use for normal purchases or I put a bunch of mostly used up ones on my amazon account

Offline JT27MP

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 173
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3713 on: June 05, 2015, 12:05:36 AM »
U can use for normal purchases or I put a bunch of mostly used up ones on my amazon account

I tried using for normal purchase at Dunkin Donuts and was declined.
I followed the instructions of choosing Credit card.
Was denied.
But was able to load the $20 from the card onto the app.

Offline keemster26

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 2288
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3714 on: June 05, 2015, 01:28:08 AM »
Has anyone tried to load using a vgc lately? I tried and was about to get charged a $3 loading fee???

Offline yitrap

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 3318
  • Total likes: 49
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3715 on: June 05, 2015, 07:16:15 AM »
Has anyone tried to load using a vgc lately? I tried and was about to get charged a $3 loading fee???
Happened again after this time?
I went to Walmart today and was about to load w/ a debit card, but for some reason the cashier was charging a $3 loading fee. Anyone else have this happen to them?
« Last Edit: June 05, 2015, 07:34:13 AM by yitrap »

Offline a mirrer

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 1255
  • Total likes: 22
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: israel
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3716 on: June 05, 2015, 07:32:06 AM »

Offline yitrap

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 3318
  • Total likes: 49
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3717 on: June 05, 2015, 07:32:53 AM »
its the same guy
That's why I'm asking him if it happened again....
Eta. Sorry I see my post was in the quote I guess that's why you missed it...ftfm

Offline keemster26

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 2288
  • Total likes: 26
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3718 on: June 05, 2015, 10:59:10 AM »
That's why I'm asking him if it happened again....
Eta. Sorry I see my post was in the quote I guess that's why you missed it...ftfm
No. I haven't tried since it happened to me. That's why I'm asking if anyone has tried since my posts.

Offline Zzzzx

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Posts: 72
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #3719 on: June 06, 2015, 08:18:48 AM »
No. I haven't tried since it happened to me. That's why I'm asking if anyone has tried since my posts.

No issues in the Midwest.
All typos are Apple's fault.