Topic Wiki

Open Serve: Do 1 of the following:
1) Buy a temporary card. (free in cvs in NJ won’t take cc)($3.95 fee), or
2) Open online. They’ll send you a card. (free)
Note that you COULD have more than one of these: Bluebird (BB), Redcard and serve. 

Loading Serve: Serve does not have any fees to load money.
a) At CVS, 7-11, and Rite Aid ONLY CASH can be loaded.
b) At Walmart GCs …uh Debit Cards (besides Vanilla cards) can be loaded onto Serve just like onto BB. Load limit: $2500/day up to $5000/month
c) At Family Dollar max $499.99/Day, not hard coded, YMMV, Cash or Debit/Gift Card.
WARNING: There are reports of debit cards being drained at FD, and not loading onto Serve, so FD is not recommended.
d) An Amex CC of the serve cardholder can be linked and used to fund your Serve ONLINE. Load limit: $200 per day/$1000 per month
Amex cc loads are not considered cash advance. They DO NOT earn points, or count towards a spending threshold.
e) Debit Cards linked to Serve: $200/day up to 1000/month ONLINE.  But only a permanent DC with your name on it. (NOT GCs)

So your total loading limit per month, if using all 3 methods is $7K.

-Serve has a $1 monthly inactivity fee (waived in VA, NY and TX) that is waived if you use Direct Deposit OR add $500.
-If Serve has a bonus for using direct deposit, use AP.

Using the funds on Serve:
-Free ATM use/withdrawal at MoneyPass ATMs. $2 elsewhere.
-Serve has a Bill Pay feature – same as BB.  You tell them who to pay, and they send a check for you.  You can pay up to 5k of unregistered billers, but 10K of registered ones (registered= those on their bill pay list). Pay your Credit Cards bills as well as many other bills or any person!
WARNING: Do not use the bill pay feature to pay the Credit Card that is linked for online loads.
-money in your Serve account can be withdrawn directly to a linked bank account, which, if done too much, may be seen as risky by Serve, but in moderation should be fine.
Withdraw to your bank https://secure.serve.com/Actions/WithdrawMoney

Make sure the name, address and phone number on your profile match your credit card billing address, or you may get declined.  When linking your credit card at serve.com, the website will only show you the address on your profile, but not the phone number, so this is easy to overlook.  Go to profile, and check/update your phone number there.

Error likely with the Serve account:
When you create a new account and add a credit card, you will be allowed to do the first transaction. After that, your account will probably go into system lockdown until you verify some information. Likely error message for this case is "Risk declined operation" when you try to add money on to the account. You will need to send in (online, fax or mail) a photo ID and a copy of your credit card or statement. Upload your documents here -
https://secure.serve.com/User/SecureFileUpload. Then Call up AMEX Account Protection Services at 1-800-555-4318 and tell them you uploaded the documents and ask them to verify it for you.
« Last edited by Iz on August 18, 2016, 10:36:02 AM »

Author Topic: Amexserve/Softcard  (Read 848549 times)

Offline ben89

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 2834
  • Total likes: 192
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 141
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5520 on: January 13, 2016, 11:18:20 AM »
Just loaded $200 3 times in rite aid Bli ayin hara. I tried to load $500 with splitting between gcs but it would not work. How do I do that for next time?

Offline username

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 4055
  • Total likes: 280
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: C Heights
  • Programs: ┌──────────────────┐ │───> Ữ₴ΣЯИΛΜӘ <─── │ └──────────────────┘
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5521 on: January 13, 2016, 11:23:03 AM »
Anyone have:
 a card with no email, logging in not getting any 'loading limited' messages, can edit etc. loading methods. only 'block' right now is that online amex loads are failing/erroring "call CS 800-...."
(haven't tried in store loads)

anyone?
Check your spam mail?
^^^

Offline gozalim

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 3097
  • Total likes: 37
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5522 on: January 13, 2016, 11:47:25 AM »
Check your spam mail?
checked.
It's a new card, loaded once before

Offline duvz

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 284
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Pittsburgh
  • Programs: United MileagePlus, Chase UR, BA Avios, SW Rapid Rewards, Amex SPG
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5523 on: January 13, 2016, 12:23:08 PM »
I successfully loaded with Staples VGC's in Rite Aid in Pittsburgh, Forbes/Murray location. Only had $800 to load, did 2 separate transactions each time (went twice to load it up).

What is the disadvantage of loading with multiple transactions (if any)? ie. What's the advantage of utilizing split-tender to load all at once?

Offline Malachi

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 994
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5524 on: January 13, 2016, 12:33:17 PM »
I successfully loaded with Staples VGC's in Rite Aid in Pittsburgh, Forbes/Murray location. Only had $800 to load, did 2 separate transactions each time (went twice to load it up).

What is the disadvantage of loading with multiple transactions (if any)? ie. What's the advantage of utilizing split-tender to load all at once?
no advantage just more convenient to load them quicker.
Denny Crane

Offline CS91

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 3538
  • Total likes: 35
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5525 on: January 13, 2016, 12:42:02 PM »
no advantage just more convenient to load them quicker.
I haven't come across a rep at RA that knows how to split tender.

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 53903
  • Total likes: 2488
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16441
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5526 on: January 13, 2016, 12:47:03 PM »
Split tender is a huge time saver.
It did error out for me once though. Got me good and nervous  ;D
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline duvz

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 284
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Pittsburgh
  • Programs: United MileagePlus, Chase UR, BA Avios, SW Rapid Rewards, Amex SPG
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5527 on: January 13, 2016, 01:08:16 PM »
Split tender is a huge time saver.
It did error out for me once though. Got me good and nervous  ;D

Thanks Dan. Maybe I'll try it next time!

Offline srulky

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 248
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5528 on: January 13, 2016, 01:41:56 PM »
Split tender is a huge time saver.
It did error out for me once though. Got me good and nervous  ;D
If it got Dan nervous, us plebes should be tzittering in the hoisen  :P

Offline kayef

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 1028
  • Total likes: 4
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5529 on: January 13, 2016, 01:47:48 PM »

Split tender is a huge time saver.
It did error out for me once though. Got me good and nervous  ;D
Did you do split tender at RA?

Offline smaxber

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Posts: 1410
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5530 on: January 13, 2016, 02:17:56 PM »
I haven't come across a rep at RA that knows how to split tender.
same

Offline CS91

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 3538
  • Total likes: 35
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5531 on: January 13, 2016, 02:20:00 PM »
Is Serve down? Can't log on and I just tried loading and it didn't work. No, I haven't been shutdown. No emails.

Offline Dan

  • Administrator
  • Dansdeals Lifetime 50K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • **********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 53903
  • Total likes: 2488
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 16441
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: CLE
  • Programs: UA Global Services, AA Lifetime Plat, DL Dirt, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Fairmont Lifetime Plat, Hilton Diamond, Priority Club Plat, Avis Chairman, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5532 on: January 13, 2016, 02:23:55 PM »
Did you do split tender at RA?
Several times.
Save your time, I don't answer PM. Post it in the forum and a dedicated DDF'er will get back to you as soon as possible.

Offline PETERP

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 3220
  • Total likes: 4
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5533 on: January 13, 2016, 02:33:33 PM »
Several times.

How do I explain to them to do it ? I don't know the procedure and they surely don't .

Offline mimb

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 372
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Programs: AA, United, Delta, AMEX, CHASE UR, SPG
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #5534 on: January 13, 2016, 02:47:20 PM »
Anyone else having some difficulty trying to reload at RA? My card wasn't shut down b"h but after i swiped the VGC to be loaded onto my serve card, the POS system was just loading for a long time until the CSR gave up and had to cancel the transaction. It's usually a quick and seamless transaction so I was very suprised.