Topic Wiki

Open Serve: Do 1 of the following:
1) Buy a temporary card. (free in cvs in NJ won’t take cc)($3.95 fee), or
2) Open online. They’ll send you a card. (free)
Note that you COULD have more than one of these: Bluebird (BB), Redcard and serve. 

Loading Serve: Serve does not have any fees to load money.
a) At CVS, 7-11, and Rite Aid ONLY CASH can be loaded.
b) At Walmart GCs …uh Debit Cards (besides Vanilla cards) can be loaded onto Serve just like onto BB. Load limit: $2500/day up to $5000/month
c) At Family Dollar max $499.99/Day, not hard coded, YMMV, Cash or Debit/Gift Card.
WARNING: There are reports of debit cards being drained at FD, and not loading onto Serve, so FD is not recommended.
d) An Amex CC of the serve cardholder can be linked and used to fund your Serve ONLINE. Load limit: $200 per day/$1000 per month
Amex cc loads are not considered cash advance. They DO NOT earn points, or count towards a spending threshold.
e) Debit Cards linked to Serve: $200/day up to 1000/month ONLINE.  But only a permanent DC with your name on it. (NOT GCs)

So your total loading limit per month, if using all 3 methods is $7K.

-Serve has a $1 monthly inactivity fee (waived in VA, NY and TX) that is waived if you use Direct Deposit OR add $500.
-If Serve has a bonus for using direct deposit, use AP.

Using the funds on Serve:
-Free ATM use/withdrawal at MoneyPass ATMs. $2 elsewhere.
-Serve has a Bill Pay feature – same as BB.  You tell them who to pay, and they send a check for you.  You can pay up to 5k of unregistered billers, but 10K of registered ones (registered= those on their bill pay list). Pay your Credit Cards bills as well as many other bills or any person!
WARNING: Do not use the bill pay feature to pay the Credit Card that is linked for online loads.
-money in your Serve account can be withdrawn directly to a linked bank account, which, if done too much, may be seen as risky by Serve, but in moderation should be fine.
Withdraw to your bank https://secure.serve.com/Actions/WithdrawMoney

Make sure the name, address and phone number on your profile match your credit card billing address, or you may get declined.  When linking your credit card at serve.com, the website will only show you the address on your profile, but not the phone number, so this is easy to overlook.  Go to profile, and check/update your phone number there.

Error likely with the Serve account:
When you create a new account and add a credit card, you will be allowed to do the first transaction. After that, your account will probably go into system lockdown until you verify some information. Likely error message for this case is "Risk declined operation" when you try to add money on to the account. You will need to send in (online, fax or mail) a photo ID and a copy of your credit card or statement. Upload your documents here -
https://secure.serve.com/User/SecureFileUpload. Then Call up AMEX Account Protection Services at 1-800-555-4318 and tell them you uploaded the documents and ask them to verify it for you.
« Last edited by Iz on August 18, 2016, 10:36:02 AM »

Author Topic: Amexserve/Softcard  (Read 802406 times)

Offline Aerial Dag

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 859
  • Total likes: 44
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
  • Location: MS Desert
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4635 on: December 08, 2015, 04:56:16 PM »
Kings hwy + e18

Damn! I'm going to be a block away from there tomorrow and was expecting to load some.

Offline mord1

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 843
  • Total likes: 3
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4636 on: December 09, 2015, 03:41:28 PM »
Are there limits loading at Dollar General like there are at Family dollar?  Or is Dollar general like RA which sounds like its the normal 2500 a day?

Online ual902

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 1564
  • Total likes: 13
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4637 on: December 11, 2015, 03:25:53 PM »
Closed my regular serve by Phone, then registered for serve VIP and I  get this:

   
Quote
Your Account is being reviewed
Thanks for your application! However, we need additional information from you before we can approve your Account. Please check your email for further instructions. Don’t forget to check your spam folder.

Offline sedge

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Posts: 550
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Palm Springs, CA
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4638 on: December 11, 2015, 06:37:55 PM »
Closed my regular serve by Phone, then registered for serve VIP and I  get this:

They just want a copy of your DL and SS card. You can take a pic with your phone and use the app to send it. Then call and they'll verify on the spot and approve.

Offline yochiek93

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2015
  • Posts: 4315
  • Total likes: 21
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4639 on: December 12, 2015, 09:49:21 PM »
Does anyone have issues linking debit cards to serve?

Offline emjee

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 1382
  • Total likes: 19
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4640 on: December 14, 2015, 05:21:24 AM »
Anyone have experience with FD in FR /FT off burnside? gonna be out there soon and got a few cards to get rid of. TIA

Online mochjas

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Posts: 6542
  • Total likes: 357
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 47
    • View Profile
  • Programs: Hyatt Diamond, SPG Platinum, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum Elite
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4641 on: December 14, 2015, 01:00:29 PM »
Does anyone have issues linking debit cards to serve?

working fine for me

Offline bookwrm

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 356
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4642 on: December 14, 2015, 09:08:23 PM »
So I live in California, went to ra today to load my serve card using a $500 vgc. I selected the Serve free reload> swiped my serve card> cashier entered $500> swiped my "debit" card> entered pin> machine said approved> and then I got a load error.
Cashier said his screen was saying something like "unable to load card." I called AMEX they said my card was fine and active, when i said i was using a debit card to load it they said its "cash only" in store and the only way to load with a debit card is by linking it online.

Anyone else experience this?

Offline cozmohoot

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 3992
  • Total likes: 29
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4643 on: December 14, 2015, 09:10:58 PM »
Don't be such a bookworm and next time don't tell them it's a dc in store. In store a dc is treated as cash.

Offline bookwrm

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 356
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4644 on: December 14, 2015, 09:14:51 PM »
Don't be such a bookworm and next time don't tell them it's a dc in store. In store a dc is treated as cash.

i'm confused, did i do something wrong with the cashier? ( i followed all of the steps Dan posted, RA let me swipe the card, it was at the final moment, going from vgc > serve where it was erroring out).

Offline David Smith

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 8286
  • Total likes: 202
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 13
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4645 on: December 14, 2015, 09:17:23 PM »
i'm confused, did i do something wrong with the cashier? ( i followed all of the steps Dan posted, RA let me swipe the card, it was at the final moment, going from vgc > serve where it was erroring out).
You shouldn't have told Amex you were loading with a debit card, for starters.
Who do you think you are fooling? You think you are going to pull a quick one on your Creator? Good luck with that.
JTZ

Offline bookwrm

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 356
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4646 on: December 14, 2015, 09:18:23 PM »
You shouldn't have told Amex you were loading with a debit card, for starters.

ok, dumb rookie move. and now for the crux of the issue....

Offline Malachi

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 981
  • Total likes: 4
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4647 on: December 14, 2015, 09:20:08 PM »
So I live in California, went to ra today to load my serve card using a $500 vgc. I selected the Serve free reload> swiped my serve card> cashier entered $500> swiped my "debit" card> entered pin> machine said approved> and then I got a load error.
Cashier said his screen was saying something like "unable to load card." I called AMEX they said my card was fine and active, when i said i was using a debit card to load it they said its "cash only" in store and the only way to load with a debit card is by linking it online.

Anyone else experience this?
seems to me you did everything right.
Denny Crane

Offline David Smith

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 8286
  • Total likes: 202
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 13
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4648 on: December 14, 2015, 09:21:35 PM »
ok, dumb rookie move. and now for the crux of the issue....
It's definitely not hardcoded to cash only across the system. I'd be shocked if it was in that location. I'd try somewhere else. Sounds like a glitch.
Who do you think you are fooling? You think you are going to pull a quick one on your Creator? Good luck with that.
JTZ

Offline yochiek93

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2015
  • Posts: 4315
  • Total likes: 21
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Amexserve/Softcard
« Reply #4649 on: December 14, 2015, 09:28:57 PM »
ok, dumb rookie move. and now for the crux of the issue....
How much did you load and with what?