Topic Wiki

Best offer available right now is $50 for internet & phone for 6 months, afterwards bumped up to $60/month.
Standalone internet service isn't cheaper. You can try calling retention to extend your promotional rate, though recently DDFers have been unsuccessful.

The best available promo for Optimum internet (only), is the $40/month for 12 months for new customers.
Many people reported success in retaining the $40/month plan (after 12 months) after calling Optimum to cancel.

The old promo for internet was $30, but that has been replaced with the $40 plan around May 2013.
As of now, it isn't coming back, even with persistent HUCA, but users have had success upgrading to a higher speed plan for $45/month


« Last edited by yuneeq on August 19, 2014, 03:26:52 PM »

Author Topic: Optimum internet  (Read 153254 times)

Offline ludmila

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 5164
  • Total likes: 268
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: IND
  • Programs: Hilton Diamond,Marriott Platinum,SPG Platinum.
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1140 on: June 17, 2018, 09:46:23 PM »
I pay for ATT Uverse $36 -a promo i keep renewing yearly-50 mbps.
I was the Best,still the Best, and will always be the Best.
Pele Good,Maradona Better, George Best.

Offline Pad18

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Silver Elite
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 732
  • Total likes: 62
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 9
    • View Profile
  • Location: United States
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1141 on: June 17, 2018, 10:24:31 PM »
Sadly only Optimum internet in my address ..

Offline David R

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 1651
  • Total likes: 11
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1142 on: June 17, 2018, 11:45:16 PM »
-1/2

IME when you plug it in and try to connect to the internet you should get an installation screen where you could do it yourself, no need to call.
I switched out my modem, but haven't yet sent back the Optimum one. ever since then (2-3 months), they haven't been charging me the $5 modem fee.

are they gonna slap me soon with an equipment fee for the price of their modem?
I have been paying the modem fee for years even though I have a DOCSIS 3.0 modem of my own sitting unused. I never connected it because their website only listed a few specific compatible models. I just saw your posts now. Can this still be done? Did you return the borrowed one or get charged a fee?

Offline gozalim

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 3139
  • Total likes: 57
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1143 on: June 18, 2018, 02:08:25 AM »
I have been paying the modem fee for years even though I have a DOCSIS 3.0 modem of my own sitting unused. I never connected it because their website only listed a few specific compatible models. I just saw your posts now. Can this still be done? Did you return the borrowed one or get charged a fee?
I did not and was not?
Should still be able to

Offline whYME

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 2827
  • Total likes: 519
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1144 on: June 18, 2018, 03:49:15 PM »
Can this still be done?
Unless something changed in the last few weeks, yes.

Did you return the borrowed one or get charged a fee?
Just connect yours and send back theirs.

2. Here's the link to get a shipping label for the modem: https://www.optimum.net/pages/equipmentShippingInstructions.html

Offline Iz

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5737
  • Total likes: 100
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 13
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1145 on: June 18, 2018, 05:46:31 PM »
I got this: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0111MRLES/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
And it works fine. Just needed 5 min on the phone with them to provision it. :)
Re the Optimum modem, you can either ship it or drop it off at a local office.

Offline David R

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 1651
  • Total likes: 11
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Brooklyn, NY
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1146 on: June 19, 2018, 11:38:58 AM »
-1/2

IME when you plug it in and try to connect to the internet you should get an installation screen where you could do it yourself, no need to call.
I had to manually go to http://install.optimum.com but once I figured that out, I was up and running in less than 5 minutes. I can't believe I spent $150 in modem fees so far when I had this modem all along.
It's a good thing I did this now. I just noticed they doubled my modem fee this month.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2018, 11:42:19 AM by David R »

Offline Werth-it

  • Dansdeals Bronze Elite
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2015
  • Posts: 29
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1147 on: July 05, 2018, 01:42:32 PM »
And it works fine. Just needed 5 min on the phone with them to provision it. :)
Re the Optimum modem, you can either ship it or drop it off at a local office.
I have the same modem as you. I recently switched out the optimum modem for it. Ever since then it seems like my internet acts up more than usual. It drops from my phone randomly and seems to be very slow as random times as well. When itís working it works great. It just seems to be acting up more than usual. This may be my imagination. This happen to you at all?
TIA

Offline Iz

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5737
  • Total likes: 100
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 13
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1148 on: July 05, 2018, 02:12:36 PM »
I have the same modem as you. I recently switched out the optimum modem for it. Ever since then it seems like my internet acts up more than usual. It drops from my phone randomly and seems to be very slow as random times as well. When itís working it works great. It just seems to be acting up more than usual. This may be my imagination. This happen to you at all?
TIA
Yes! I don't use it for phone service, but often I get "No internet", so I click to reconnect the wifi, and then it's good...until it's not... Maybe I should complain to Amazon, and replace it... Which one would be better?

Online yelped

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 4633
  • Total likes: 267
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 12
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1149 on: July 05, 2018, 02:21:18 PM »
I have the same modem as you. I recently switched out the optimum modem for it. Ever since then it seems like my internet acts up more than usual. It drops from my phone randomly and seems to be very slow as random times as well. When itís working it works great. It just seems to be acting up more than usual. This may be my imagination. This happen to you at all?
TIA
Same here. Anyone want to try to get Optimum to push out the latest firmware update? It is several versions behind and Netgear says that the ISP pushes out updates.

Offline Iz

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5737
  • Total likes: 100
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 13
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1150 on: July 05, 2018, 02:27:07 PM »
Same here. Anyone want to try to get Optimum to push out the latest firmware update? It is several versions behind and Netgear says that the ISP pushes out updates.
Go for it! Meanwhile, I'm switching routers. Trying this one: asin B010Q29YF8

Online TimT

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 17984
  • Total likes: 1010
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 3
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1151 on: July 05, 2018, 10:07:40 PM »
Been a lot of outages lately. Price went up & service went down

Offline gozalim

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 3139
  • Total likes: 57
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1152 on: July 05, 2018, 10:09:51 PM »
I have lately had issues with specific websites not loading while on hotspot (no issue from home optimum service)
how would I troubleshoot that?

Offline dealfinder85

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 3751
  • Total likes: 8
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1153 on: July 13, 2018, 09:18:14 AM »
i want to get a new modem for a business account (a shul) and they sent me this site
http://shop.surfboard.com/optimum-store/modems/
i dont know if those models are outdated but they arent available at typical sites online.

Do i need those types? any other recommendations?

Thanks

Offline ydbe

  • Dansdeals Gold Elite
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 171
  • Total likes: 1
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: nj
  • Programs: daf yomi
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1154 on: July 15, 2018, 12:27:29 AM »
i want to get a new modem for a business account (a shul) and they sent me this site
http://shop.surfboard.com/optimum-store/modems/
i dont know if those models are outdated but they arent available at typical sites online.

Do i need those types? any other recommendations?

Thanks

don't know why you aren't seeing it, i see it when i type in arris 1602 in amazon search bar. try ebay, i got one there for under $45.