Topic Wiki

Best offer available right now is...
« Last edited by Iz on May 14, 2020, 06:16:53 PM »

Author Topic: Optimum internet  (Read 192291 times)

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1363
  • Total likes: 125
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 18
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1545 on: November 20, 2020, 01:35:51 PM »
Where you located? And what speed do you have?

Yes it may seem you need to do that.

    I remember calling once and the phone system was able to help me register the product without speaking to anyone.
Iím in Lakewood. My neighbor will have to reregister his modem afterwards? Donít know if he would let me borrow it with that hassle...

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 19636
  • Total likes: 1391
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 308
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1546 on: November 20, 2020, 01:56:50 PM »
Iím in Lakewood. My neighbor will have to reregister his modem afterwards? Donít know if he would let me borrow it with that hassle...
I have an extra one lying around.
 Just tell me your speeds?
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1363
  • Total likes: 125
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 18
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1547 on: November 20, 2020, 01:59:22 PM »
I have an extra one lying around.
 Just tell me your speeds?
I pay for 300 mbps But actual speeds are between 15-25 mbps... and sometimes doesnít even work at all...

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 19636
  • Total likes: 1391
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 308
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1548 on: November 20, 2020, 02:00:30 PM »
I have an extra one lying around.
 Just tell me your speeds?
In english, I had upped my speeds to 400mb, and they sent me a new router.
 Didn't even request one, they just sent one.
 So I have my old one still hanging around in my home, never had a chance to return it to them and they never asked for it back.

 I think I used it when I had 200 megabytes.
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Offline joe1234

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2015
  • Posts: 1363
  • Total likes: 125
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 18
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1549 on: November 20, 2020, 02:02:20 PM »
In english, I had upped my speeds to 400mb, and they sent me a new router.
 Didn't even request one, they just sent one.
 So I have my old one still hanging around in my home, never had a chance to return it to them and they never asked for it back.

 I think I used it when I had 200 megabytes.
If I have to register it in order for it to work, they may think it as stolen?

Offline lubaby

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Jun 2010
  • Posts: 4887
  • Total likes: 398
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 12
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1550 on: November 20, 2020, 02:14:24 PM »
In english, I had upped my speeds to 400mb, and they sent me a new router.
 Didn't even request one, they just sent one.
 So I have my old one still hanging around in my home, never had a chance to return it to them and they never asked for it back.

 I think I used it when I had 200 megabytes.
Router or Modem?
Once the game is over, the king and the pawn go back in the same box.

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 19636
  • Total likes: 1391
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 308
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1551 on: November 20, 2020, 02:15:09 PM »
I pay for 300 mbps But actual speeds are between 15-25 mbps... and sometimes doesnít even work at all...
I'm on the same boat.
 I've been paying for 400mb for quite some time and I have seen the speeds between, 25-35.

  So I had them come down multiple times.
  Each time they said it was something else.
   Just last week they had replaced the entire line from the wires to my home. And then told me to wait a day or two for the system to reset and your speeds should be back up.

  But called the retention line and told them its insane how you guys are charging me for 400mb when my speeds top at 35mb.

 I was paying $90+ with a monthly modem fee+ $2.50 enhancement fee(which I never bothered checking what that's all about.)

  Had them lower it to $63.46 after auto pay and email billing.
  Gonna remove the $10 modem fee as I'm going to buy my own. Down to $53.
 Them I'll probably lower my speeds from 400 to 200 or 300.
  No reason for me to have 400mb.

 So that's another $10 fissure.
 Down to $43.
 That's more then half than what I was paying.

 But until I don't get my speeds back up to par, not touching anything.
Going to leave the modem fee and everything else in place, so I can have them come down for free if needed.
   I was told they only charge a service fee to come down if there's a problem in your home but as long as they don't step into your home and there is a problem outside you won't pay up any fees.

   Again depends on where you live and what's speeds, what other services you have.

  The promo pricing for the 1st year is $35 for 300mb.
   So technically speaking I can ask for a bigger discount. But then I'll have to be busy with it year to year.

 Here's a screenshot of the current pricing for internet alone in my area.
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 19636
  • Total likes: 1391
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 308
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1552 on: November 20, 2020, 02:17:49 PM »
Router or Modem?
Sorry about that.
  When ever I say router I usually mean modem.

 I keep on making that same mistake.

  BH haven't had any problem with my GOogle Home mesh.
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Offline myi

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 19636
  • Total likes: 1391
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 308
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: InMyPants! 🙈
  • Programs: 2Many2List!
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1553 on: November 20, 2020, 02:18:19 PM »
If I have to register it in order for it to work, they may think it as stolen?
Don't think so.
Don't try to be someone else , be who you are because everyone else is taken.

Offline yelped

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 5611
  • Total likes: 685
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 14
    • View Profile
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1554 on: November 21, 2020, 09:01:46 PM »
I'm using a 2-in-1 modem/router from optimum. However I can't access the settings. Optimum says it's a "technical problem" on their end that everyone is experiencing and that it should be fixed in a few weeks. That was 3 months ago.
Anyone having the same issue?
That has been an issue pretty much forever.

Offline Joel

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2018
  • Posts: 2982
  • Total likes: 411
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 41
    • View Profile
  • Location: NYC
  • Programs: Hilton Diamond, Wyndham Diamond, Hyatt Explorist, Marriott Gold, IHG Platinum, National EE, Hertz PC
Re: Optimum internet
« Reply #1555 on: November 22, 2020, 01:43:01 PM »
$20 off order
BLACKFRIDAY2020