Author Topic: Smart homes  (Read 29774 times)

Offline efflpetzel

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2461
  • Total likes: 39
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile

Offline skyguy918

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 3080
  • Total likes: 234
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Queens, NY

Offline efflpetzel

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2461
  • Total likes: 39
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile

Offline ushdadude

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 4638
  • Total likes: 163
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Long Island
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #33 on: June 12, 2017, 01:23:37 PM »
does anyone here control their lights remotely?
Trolls will always post stupid replies

Offline ushdadude

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 4638
  • Total likes: 163
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Long Island
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #34 on: June 22, 2017, 03:04:39 PM »
If i'm rewiring my house, is there anything i should take into consideration if i want to have a smart home in the future? or is everything wireless nowadays anyway
Trolls will always post stupid replies

Online aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 10561
  • Total likes: 4286
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #35 on: June 22, 2017, 03:38:07 PM »
If i'm rewiring my house, is there anything i should take into consideration if i want to have a smart home in the future? or is everything wireless nowadays anyway
To be able to have range extenders or mesh network around the house and to have a c wire for the thermostats.
Just because things turned out a certain way doesn't mean you were right.

Offline ushdadude

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 4638
  • Total likes: 163
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Long Island
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #36 on: June 22, 2017, 03:46:56 PM »
To be able to have range extenders or mesh network around the house and to have a c wire for the thermostats.

for the range extenders or mesh network, does that require extra wiring? I guess I can have ethernet ports throughout the house.
Trolls will always post stupid replies

Online aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 10561
  • Total likes: 4286
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #37 on: June 22, 2017, 04:02:05 PM »
for the range extenders or mesh network, does that require extra wiring? I guess I can have ethernet ports throughout the house.
It is not required but can sometimes be helpful especially if you want it to extend far without need extender to extender connections. I would add some ethernet ports.
Just because things turned out a certain way doesn't mean you were right.

Offline efflpetzel

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 2461
  • Total likes: 39
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #38 on: June 23, 2017, 12:55:31 AM »
for the range extenders or mesh network, does that require extra wiring? I guess I can have ethernet ports throughout the house.
Yup PoE wiring is the way to go, only thing I'm not sure about is whether it pays the extra cost to get cat 6 over cat 5

Online aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 10561
  • Total likes: 4286
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #39 on: June 23, 2017, 08:57:22 AM »
Yup PoE wiring is the way to go, only thing I'm not sure about is whether it pays the extra cost to get cat 6 over cat 5
I would guess that yes since we do not know what will come in the future which will require cat6
Just because things turned out a certain way doesn't mean you were right.

Offline ushdadude

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 4638
  • Total likes: 163
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Long Island
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #40 on: June 23, 2017, 09:10:03 AM »
So basically, to have a smart home, it's better to have Poe wiring but it's not necessary.
Trolls will always post stupid replies

Online aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 10561
  • Total likes: 4286
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #41 on: June 23, 2017, 09:12:22 AM »
So basically, to have a smart home, it's better to have Poe wiring but it's not necessary.
I would do it since again
I would guess that yes since we do not know what will come in the future which will require cat6
Just because things turned out a certain way doesn't mean you were right.

Offline ushdadude

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 4638
  • Total likes: 163
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
    • View Profile
  • Location: Long Island
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #42 on: June 23, 2017, 09:13:54 AM »
I would do it since again

Just have to get it priced out. Wiring would have to be in the walls
Trolls will always post stupid replies

Offline somefield

  • Dansdeals Silver Elite
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Posts: 84
  • Total likes: 6
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #43 on: June 23, 2017, 09:24:34 AM »
To be able to have range extenders or mesh network around the house and to have a c wire for the thermostats.
There's something called "Add-a Wire" cost about $8-10 allows you to convert a standard 4 wire stat to a 5 wire (adding the "c").

Online aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 10561
  • Total likes: 4286
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #44 on: June 23, 2017, 09:37:28 AM »
There's something called "Add-a Wire" cost about $8-10 allows you to convert a standard 4 wire stat to a 5 wire (adding the "c").
This looks like a similar idea but if someone is rewiring just do it right.
https://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-THP9045A1023-Wiresaver-Wiring-Thermostat/dp/B0060ASWPE/ref=pd_sim_328_6?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B0060ASWPE&pd_rd_r=YFAQDAT4E7WDWFZPG74S&pd_rd_w=WuMVg&pd_rd_wg=W6nX9&psc=1&refRID=YFAQDAT4E7WDWFZPG74S
Just because things turned out a certain way doesn't mean you were right.