Author Topic: Smart homes  (Read 21665 times)

Offline Yonah

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 284
  • Total likes: 97
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #180 on: June 03, 2019, 10:40:05 AM »
If you have led lamp is it even worth it to invest in this product to save light on Shabbes?

From a purely financial standpoint, probably not. The cost of running a single 12W LED for all of shabbos is likely less than 10 cents.

(My math - 12*25 = 425 Watts - or 0.425 KW - cost per KWh is about 12 cents or so).

In all likelihood, unless you want lights off for shabbos - i.e. the hallway light that will keep your kids up at night, and even if you have a lot of lights in your home, it will still have a payback period of at least a year or maybe two for any automation system.

Offline @Yehuda

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 9739
  • Total likes: 140
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #181 on: July 11, 2019, 01:26:47 PM »
Heating and cooling are on separate systems with 2 thermostats. Do any of these devices allow you to buy 2 and have them work together?

Offline Yonah

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 284
  • Total likes: 97
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #182 on: July 11, 2019, 02:44:52 PM »
Heating and cooling are on separate systems with 2 thermostats. Do any of these devices allow you to buy 2 and have them work together?

You *could*, but as my wife would say - that's a patchke arbeit.  I believe that it is possible to combine your two thermostats into one with many of these, but you'd have to research with that company's support folks.

For example, I found this on Nest: https://www.nest-community.com/s/question/0D51W00005Wzi5TSAR/can-i-wire-my-two-thermostats-into-one-radiant-heat-and-separate-ac

If you really wanted to, you could essentially install two separate thermostats and have different schedules for each - but why would you? Is there ever a situation where you're running both heat and AC at the same time?

Offline @Yehuda

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 9739
  • Total likes: 140
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #183 on: July 11, 2019, 03:06:15 PM »
You *could*, but as my wife would say - that's a patchke arbeit.  I believe that it is possible to combine your two thermostats into one with many of these, but you'd have to research with that company's support folks.

For example, I found this on Nest: https://www.nest-community.com/s/question/0D51W00005Wzi5TSAR/can-i-wire-my-two-thermostats-into-one-radiant-heat-and-separate-ac

If you really wanted to, you could essentially install two separate thermostats and have different schedules for each - but why would you? Is there ever a situation where you're running both heat and AC at the same time?
My research since I posted has said that it's not very expensive to get the wires re-routed to the other location so that both systems run on the same thermostat. Is that why you're suggesting too?

Offline Yonah

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 284
  • Total likes: 97
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #184 on: July 11, 2019, 05:06:38 PM »
My research since I posted has said that it's not very expensive to get the wires re-routed to the other location so that both systems run on the same thermostat. Is that why you're suggesting too?

I'm not sure I get what you are saying, but it sounds like you are saying that the wiring for your two existing systems is far enough apart that it would be expensive to re-route them. I don't believe that these thermostats work in a way where you can combine two different units into 1 virtual unit, but you could do the following:

- Buy two thermostats
- Label one "Heat" and one "AC"
- Set the "Heat" mode to always be heating
- Set the "AC" mode to always be cooling

Set the schedules as you would for your current system. I would imagine that the heating threshold and cooling threshold would be far enough apart that they wouldn't overlap.

Offline yuneeq

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jan 2013
  • Posts: 5576
  • Total likes: 253
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 10
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: NJ
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #185 on: July 11, 2019, 11:11:24 PM »
Heating and cooling are on separate systems with 2 thermostats. Do any of these devices allow you to buy 2 and have them work together?

In what way do you need them to work "together"?
If you wanna manage them from the same app, I know ecobee manages multiple thermostats from the same app, I'm sure others do this as well.
So what exactly are you trying to accomplish?
Live forever or die trying.

Offline @Yehuda

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 9739
  • Total likes: 140
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #186 on: July 12, 2019, 09:35:58 AM »
I'm not sure I get what you are saying, but it sounds like you are saying that the wiring for your two existing systems is far enough apart that it would be expensive to re-route them. I don't believe that these thermostats work in a way where you can combine two different units into 1 virtual unit, but you could do the following:

- Buy two thermostats
- Label one "Heat" and one "AC"
- Set the "Heat" mode to always be heating
- Set the "AC" mode to always be cooling

Set the schedules as you would for your current system. I would imagine that the heating threshold and cooling threshold would be far enough apart that they wouldn't overlap.
In what way do you need them to work "together"?
If you wanna manage them from the same app, I know ecobee manages multiple thermostats from the same app, I'm sure others do this as well.
So what exactly are you trying to accomplish?
Correct, they are far apart from each other. Your suggestion seems like it would work. I'm finding out how much it would cost to just move the wires into the same location so I can have just 1 thermostat.

The issues I'm trying to solve are to make sure the ac and heat won't turn on at the same time (seems like Yonah's idea would solve this), 1 app to control both (good to know about ecobee), and save the $ from buying a second one.

Offline mercaz1

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 1907
  • Total likes: 29
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: NY
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #187 on: July 12, 2019, 10:21:00 AM »
this is what I have
I have 2 separate Nests
1 for AC and 1 for Heat
they both wok off the same app
its not that big a deal

Offline Yonah

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 284
  • Total likes: 97
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #188 on: July 12, 2019, 11:56:58 AM »
Correct, they are far apart from each other. Your suggestion seems like it would work. I'm finding out how much it would cost to just move the wires into the same location so I can have just 1 thermostat.

The issues I'm trying to solve are to make sure the ac and heat won't turn on at the same time (seems like Yonah's idea would solve this), 1 app to control both (good to know about ecobee), and save the $ from buying a second one.

I believe (but not 100% sure) that there might be a way to add wireless controls to your HVAC. I don't believe that Ecobee/Nest are compatible, but Honeywell might have some thermostats that support this.

When I say wireless, I mean that you hard wire the controls into a wireless transmitter in your HVAC room, and then your thermostat connects wirelessly. Your best bet might be to call nest, honeywell or ecobee to see if they have a solution for this that they support. You'd only need it for one of the two systems, as you could wire in one thermostat, and then wire in the wireless receiver to it as well. i.e. - You put the new thermostat where your current A/C thermostat is, then add a wireless transmitter to your heating wires and a wireless receiver to the heating control inputs on your new thermostat.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2019, 12:00:03 PM by Yonah »

Offline @Yehuda

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 9739
  • Total likes: 140
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #189 on: July 16, 2019, 04:15:34 PM »
this is what I have
I have 2 separate Nests
1 for AC and 1 for Heat
they both wok off the same app
its not that big a deal
Thank you!!

I believe (but not 100% sure) that there might be a way to add wireless controls to your HVAC. I don't believe that Ecobee/Nest are compatible, but Honeywell might have some thermostats that support this.

When I say wireless, I mean that you hard wire the controls into a wireless transmitter in your HVAC room, and then your thermostat connects wirelessly. Your best bet might be to call nest, honeywell or ecobee to see if they have a solution for this that they support. You'd only need it for one of the two systems, as you could wire in one thermostat, and then wire in the wireless receiver to it as well. i.e. - You put the new thermostat where your current A/C thermostat is, then add a wireless transmitter to your heating wires and a wireless receiver to the heating control inputs on your new thermostat.
Thanks for this idea. I'll be getting a quote from my electrician this week I hope. If he's more than $200 to rewire, I'll just buy a second thermostat.

Offline @Yehuda

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 9739
  • Total likes: 140
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #190 on: July 29, 2019, 01:43:37 PM »
Update:
My electrician said it isn't possible to wire the 2 systems together. My HVAC guy said you wouldn't want to. When they're 2 separate systems, you want the AC thermostat to be upstairs where it's hotter and you want the heat thermostat to be downstairs where it's colder. While that makes sense, I'm a bit confused as to how a single system works - the thermostat can only be in 1 place. Nowadays you can say that the sensors help, but before smart thermostats, did the old systems also have sensors throughout the house?

Offline grodnoking

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 4524
  • Total likes: 232
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 10
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #191 on: July 29, 2019, 02:26:31 PM »
Update:
My electrician said it isn't possible to wire the 2 systems together. My HVAC guy said you wouldn't want to. When they're 2 separate systems, you want the AC thermostat to be upstairs where it's hotter and you want the heat thermostat to be downstairs where it's colder. While that makes sense, I'm a bit confused as to how a single system works - the thermostat can only be in 1 place. Nowadays you can say that the sensors help, but before smart thermostats, did the old systems also have sensors throughout the house?

No. Before smart sensors PEOPLE were smart. They knew that if the heat thermostat was on 68 downstairs itll be 71 upstairs.
I'm not who you think I am.

Offline @Yehuda

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 9739
  • Total likes: 140
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 5
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #192 on: October 04, 2019, 06:58:12 AM »
Seems like a good deal on ecobee 4 for $118 - https://www.lowes.com/pd/ecobee-4-Thermostat-with-Wi-Fi-Compatibility/1000203625

Does ecobee 4 have any Shabbos issues that are different than ecobee 3? Seems like it's the same plus you don't need the piece of tape. @Dan is the only thing you didn't like about it the fact that turning off Alexa gives you a red status bar? (which is not a Shabbos issue, more of a preference)

Offline thaber

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 2831
  • Total likes: 135
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #193 on: October 06, 2019, 03:33:43 AM »
Seems like a good deal on ecobee 4 for $118 - https://www.lowes.com/pd/ecobee-4-Thermostat-with-Wi-Fi-Compatibility/1000203625

Does ecobee 4 have any Shabbos issues that are different than ecobee 3? Seems like it's the same plus you don't need the piece of tape. @Dan is the only thing you didn't like about it the fact that turning off Alexa gives you a red status bar? (which is not a Shabbos issue, more of a preference)
Showing up as $199 for my location. Costco has for $169 online.

Offline thaber

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 2831
  • Total likes: 135
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
    • View Profile
Re: Smart homes
« Reply #194 on: October 06, 2019, 03:34:24 AM »
Sensibo

Anyone have experience with sensibo.?

I heard it's pretty good to control mini splits. But not that cheap of a product. Amazon offer similar product for much cheaper any options?
I bought one, but haven't installed yet