Author Topic: Savannah, GA  (Read 1976 times)

Offline cgr

• Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 7
    • View Profile
Savannah, GA
« on: November 02, 2019, 10:56:37 PM »
I’m not that good at writing, so I’ll keep it to bulleted points with ratings and short notes where applicable.
Background: Dan posted this awesome flight deal, so me and some friends decided to hop over to Savannah for the day.

Flights:
  • JFK to SAV
  • SAV to JFK
  • We had an awful landing because of a storm raging in NY. We circled for about 40 minutes over JFK, as they weren’t allowing the plains to land. After finally receiving the go-ahead, the plane dropped several times while landing, and the winds were horrendous. Probably one of the worst landings I’ve experienced.

Method of Transport:
  • Uber

Activities:
  • Old Savannah Tours- 3/5
  • We hopped a cab over to their visitor center straight from the airport. We got $3 off each ticket via this coupon page. The city is beautiful, with a real southern charm, but the tour itself wasn’t that enjoyable. I’d say its one of those hit or miss things that depend on your driver and how funny he is.
  • River Street- 3/5
  • We hopped off at River Street. I’ve heard people rave about it, but I didn’t find it that impressive. Just a bunch of store fronts facing the dirty river. We dropped by River Street Market Place which is full of kitchy stuff.
  • City Market- 3/5
  • This is basically a one-block pedestrian-only mall. Some bars, restaurants, and the Prohibition Museum, which was our next stop.
  • Prohibition Museum- 3/5
  • This museum is informative, and the guides stationed along the way are very knowledgeable, but I’m not too fond of museums that are made up of a bunch of posters and pictures, which is basically what it is. There’s definitely a lot of cool facts to be uncovered here, and if you have an extra hour or so, do check it out. We got $1 off each ticket via this coupon page.