Topic Wiki

Rule 1: Did you try A.I? Right before you click post, give it a quick run. Most excel questions can be answered very quickly, thoroughly, and clearly via chatgpt. Wrong answer, or having trouble with the correct wording of the prompt? Post for help

=================
For cool Excel spreadsheet template to keep track of all Credit Card stuff, see here
« Last edited by Jojo202 on March 01, 2024, 12:09:44 AM »

Author Topic: Excel Help and Problems  (Read 291418 times)

Offline yesitsme

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5116
  • Total likes: 2238
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #320 on: July 24, 2015, 04:01:22 PM »
How do I bind text boxes from UserForm to Field Range? Lets say the value of 5 Text boxes should be bound to A1:A5 and Down (B1:B5, and so on)
["-"]

Offline PTU

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 289
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #321 on: July 24, 2015, 04:36:41 PM »
How do I bind text boxes from UserForm to Field Range? Lets say the value of 5 Text boxes should be bound to A1:A5 and Down (B1:B5, and so on)
merge and center button on the home ribbon?

Offline yesitsme

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5116
  • Total likes: 2238
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #322 on: July 24, 2015, 04:52:42 PM »
merge and center button on the home ribbon?
Code: [Select]
Sub Form()
'
' Form Macro
' Activate Form
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+f
'
Range(????).Select   <<<<< HERE is my problem
   
    ActiveSheet.ShowDataForm
End Sub
["-"]

Offline yesitsme

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5116
  • Total likes: 2238
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #323 on: July 26, 2015, 10:00:31 PM »
Code: [Select]
Sub Form()
'
' Form Macro
' Activate Form
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+f
'
Range(????).Select   <<<<< HERE is my problem
   
    ActiveSheet.ShowDataForm
End Sub
And here is the solution
["-"]

Offline PTU

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 289
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #324 on: August 07, 2015, 11:35:52 AM »
HELP.

Right click on a tab does nothing! no menu, cant move tabs, color etc.

Offline JoeyShmoe

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 1286
  • Total likes: 254
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #325 on: August 07, 2015, 11:44:11 AM »
HELP.

Right click on a tab does nothing! no menu, cant move tabs, color etc.

Based on this question and answers, is the file locked? If not, try the other answer
Quote
From your worksheet, press Alt + F11.   careful, that's ALT + F11
Next press Ctrl+G
Type in (or copy here and paste)
Application.CommandBars("Cell").Reset
Then press the Enter key.
Press Alt+Q to return to the worksheet.
Click your right mouse button on any worksheet cell.   Does your right click menu appear now?
DDF A-Z Link Extension
Chrome
Firefox
Info

Offline PTU

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 289
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #326 on: August 07, 2015, 11:50:13 AM »
Based on this question and answers, is the file locked? If not, try the other answer
its just the tabs that are not right clickable, the cells are fine

Offline JoeyShmoe

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 1286
  • Total likes: 254
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #327 on: August 07, 2015, 11:55:07 AM »
its just the tabs that are not right clickable, the cells are fine

So try
Code: [Select]
Application.CommandBars("Ply").Enabled = TrueI just tested False and I couldn't right click on the tabs and True reenabled it (from this SO)
DDF A-Z Link Extension
Chrome
Firefox
Info

Offline PTU

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 289
  • Total likes: 0
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #328 on: August 07, 2015, 12:36:33 PM »
So try
Code: [Select]
Application.CommandBars("Ply").Enabled = TrueI just tested False and I couldn't right click on the tabs and True reenabled it (from this SO)
Yep , that worked.

Thanks

Offline alpicone

  • Dansdeals Platinum Elite + Lifetime Gold Elite
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 879
  • Total likes: 5
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: New York
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #329 on: August 12, 2015, 09:22:57 AM »
I have a file that has multiple tabs where the data and formatting in each tab is the same. I have some groupings within each tab that groups some columns  and rows together to exclude that information when printing.

Is there any way to expand or collapse the groupings in each sheet by grouping the tabs together?

Offline smurf

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 4556
  • Total likes: 301
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
    • View Profile
  • Location: NJ
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #330 on: August 12, 2015, 10:11:22 AM »
I have workbook where sheet 1 contains the inventory where each row is another unique entry. So column A is "Style" B is "option" and C is "Quantity"
On sheet 1 "style" is repeated on every row for every variant
Sheet 2 has the price, however it is formatted differently. Each style is combined onto one row with additional columns for each variant so
Col A is "style" B is "Option1Name" C is "Option1Price" D is "Option2Name" E is "Option2price"

Now I want to add the correct price to sheet one which would mean Getting the row number based on looking up sheet1 Col A compared to Sheet 2 Col A but for the column I'll have to look up Sheet 1 Column B on the Row that was just found on sheet 2

Any way to do this without macros?

Thanks

Offline skyguy918

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 4077
  • Total likes: 835
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Queens, NY
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #331 on: August 12, 2015, 12:15:51 PM »
I have workbook where sheet 1 contains the inventory where each row is another unique entry. So column A is "Style" B is "option" and C is "Quantity"
On sheet 1 "style" is repeated on every row for every variant
Sheet 2 has the price, however it is formatted differently. Each style is combined onto one row with additional columns for each variant so
Col A is "style" B is "Option1Name" C is "Option1Price" D is "Option2Name" E is "Option2price"

Now I want to add the correct price to sheet one which would mean Getting the row number based on looking up sheet1 Col A compared to Sheet 2 Col A but for the column I'll have to look up Sheet 1 Column B on the Row that was just found on sheet 2

Any way to do this without macros?

Thanks
Do they actually say Option1Name, Option2Name, etc? Meaning, do they have the number in them, or is it actual names? And if it's names, how is it set up exactly?

Offline smurf

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 4556
  • Total likes: 301
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 8
    • View Profile
  • Location: NJ
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #332 on: August 12, 2015, 12:58:41 PM »
I have workbook where sheet 1 contains the inventory where each row is another unique entry. So column A is "Style" B is "option" and C is "Quantity"
On sheet 1 "style" is repeated on every row for every variant
Sheet 2 has the price, however it is formatted differently. Each style is combined onto one row with additional columns for each variant so
Col A is "style" B is "Option1Name" C is "Option1Price" D is "Option2Name" E is "Option2price"

Now I want to add the correct price to sheet one which would mean Getting the row number based on looking up sheet1 Col A compared to Sheet 2 Col A but for the column I'll have to look up Sheet 1 Column B on the Row that was just found on sheet 2

Any way to do this without macros?

Thanks
Shout out and a thanks to bubbles for a nice working formula

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12920
  • Total likes: 3373
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #333 on: August 12, 2015, 01:06:17 PM »
Shout out and a thanks to bubbles for a nice working formula
can you post the formula?
(just curious)
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline Zevi16

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 2161
  • Total likes: 78
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #334 on: August 20, 2015, 05:55:09 PM »
is there a way to create a hyperlink to a folder. Not a file! I would like to click on the link and itll open the folder to view the documents in it.

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12920
  • Total likes: 3373
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #335 on: August 20, 2015, 06:30:35 PM »
is there a way to create a hyperlink to a folder. Not a file! I would like to click on the link and itll open the folder to view the documents in it.
=HYPERLINK("C:\path\to\your\folder")
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline yesitsme

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5116
  • Total likes: 2238
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #336 on: August 20, 2015, 11:51:33 PM »
=HYPERLINK("C:\path\to\your\folder")
=HYPERLINK("C:\path\to\your\folder","My Folder")

With friendly name
["-"]

Online etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12920
  • Total likes: 3373
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #337 on: August 21, 2015, 12:09:53 AM »
=HYPERLINK("C:\path\to\your\folder","My Folder")

With friendly name


While we're on the topic, do you get a security warning when you click the link? Any way to disable it just for links within my computer?
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline yesitsme

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Posts: 5116
  • Total likes: 2238
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 4
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #338 on: August 21, 2015, 01:08:08 AM »
["-"]

Offline Zevi16

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 2161
  • Total likes: 78
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #339 on: August 21, 2015, 06:26:57 AM »
Thanx a mil.. worked.... no security warning tho...
I'm using open office database but i think its the same formulas generally...
I have another q. Is there a way to click on a link on the spreadsheet and directed to chrome-gmail-compose message-and have certain attachments waiting there for me(or some kind of canned response)