Topic Wiki

Rule 1: Did you try A.I? Right before you click post, give it a quick run. Most excel questions can be answered very quickly, thoroughly, and clearly via chatgpt. Wrong answer, or having trouble with the correct wording of the prompt? Post for help

=================
For cool Excel spreadsheet template to keep track of all Credit Card stuff, see here
« Last edited by Jojo202 on March 01, 2024, 12:09:44 AM »

Author Topic: Excel Help and Problems  (Read 297106 times)

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12985
  • Total likes: 3449
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #380 on: October 29, 2015, 03:19:14 PM »
Did you try maximizing (Ctrl+F10)?
Did you try pressing this?
They both do the same thing - make the spreadsheet smaller within the excel window. It seems that it is already "maximized".

How it looks after pressing Ctrl-F10: http://i.imgur.com/BNoCUU2.png
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline skyguy918

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 4079
  • Total likes: 837
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Queens, NY
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #381 on: October 29, 2015, 03:39:02 PM »
They both do the same thing - make the spreadsheet smaller within the excel window. It seems that it is already "maximized".

How it looks after pressing Ctrl-F10: http://i.imgur.com/BNoCUU2.png
It's not maximized (look at the icon) for some reason. Try that combo several times. This guy seems to have had similar issues:
http://dailydoseofexcel.com/archives/2013/06/18/workbook-window-states-maximized-restored-minimized-limbo/

Offline churnbabychurn

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 7647
  • Total likes: 301
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #382 on: October 29, 2015, 03:51:52 PM »
They both do the same thing - make the spreadsheet smaller within the excel window. It seems that it is already "maximized".

How it looks after pressing Ctrl-F10: http://i.imgur.com/BNoCUU2.png
Try messing around with the view tab, arrange all etc

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12985
  • Total likes: 3449
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #383 on: October 29, 2015, 03:55:55 PM »
It's not maximized (look at the icon) for some reason.
Are you referring to my first screenshot, or the second?
http://dailydoseofexcel.com/archives/2013/06/18/workbook-window-states-maximized-restored-minimized-limbo/
I tried what it said in the link, but no dice. It doesn't seem to be the same problem either.
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline mancunian

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 1303
  • Total likes: 18
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #384 on: October 29, 2015, 04:12:59 PM »
Maybe try changing the resolution on your monitor, then change back after you can access that button
Or try resizing before moving across screens (not maximize just resize)

Just taking shots in the dark here - probably won't work...

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12985
  • Total likes: 3449
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #385 on: October 29, 2015, 04:16:39 PM »
Maybe try changing the resolution on your monitor, then change back after you can access that button
Or try resizing before moving across screens (not maximize just resize)

Just taking shots in the dark here - probably won't work...
which button am i trying to access? I can click the maximize button for that file, but it just minimizes it
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline mancunian

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 1303
  • Total likes: 18
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #386 on: October 29, 2015, 04:22:28 PM »
Ah wasn't understanding because in one picture you do indeed have those buttons.
Whatever - I can't use the old Excel for a similar reason - need everything in separate windows. If only you could put separate sheets within a workbook in separate windows like Google Docs.

BTW AFAIK if you sign up for Office 365 and cancel subscription the programs still work I think.

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12985
  • Total likes: 3449
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #387 on: October 29, 2015, 05:52:08 PM »
Ah wasn't understanding because in one picture you do indeed have those buttons.
Whatever - I can't use the old Excel for a similar reason - need everything in separate windows. If only you could put separate sheets within a workbook in separate windows like Google Docs.

BTW AFAIK if you sign up for Office 365 and cancel subscription the programs still work I think.
Right - that screenshot was showing what happens when I press crtl-f12.

btw, if  you alt-rightclick, or click with the mouse wheel, on the excel icon in the taskbar, you'll get another excel window in which you can create/open files. If you do it this way you can view 2 side by side.
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline tageed-lee

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1589
  • Total likes: 129
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 73
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #388 on: October 29, 2015, 06:28:24 PM »
If you do it this way you can view 2 side by side.

The day i learned that i went crazy... Gotta love learning something new in excel...

Offline mancunian

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 1303
  • Total likes: 18
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #389 on: October 29, 2015, 06:45:46 PM »
Does that new window run in a separate process?
Why don't they make it that when it crashes it doesn't ruin the whole thing as in chrome

Offline churnbabychurn

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 7647
  • Total likes: 301
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #390 on: October 29, 2015, 07:23:22 PM »
Does that new window run in a separate process?
Why don't they make it that when it crashes it doesn't ruin the whole thing as in chrome
You can run two instances of excel. Google it.

Offline myb821

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 7587
  • Total likes: 28
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: New York
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #391 on: October 29, 2015, 07:43:26 PM »
Does that new window run in a separate process?
Why don't they make it that when it crashes it doesn't ruin the whole thing as in chrome
You can run two instances of excel. Google it.
yup if you have an open instance of excel if you try and open a new one from the start menu you can open a second instance

Offline churnbabychurn

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 7647
  • Total likes: 301
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
    • View Profile
  • Location: Lakewood
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #392 on: October 29, 2015, 08:02:38 PM »
But ime when excel crashes, both instances crash.

Offline myb821

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 7587
  • Total likes: 28
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 2
    • View Profile
  • Location: New York
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #393 on: October 29, 2015, 08:11:52 PM »
But ime when excel crashes, both instances crash.
I believe I have seen otherwise but cant really remember

Offline etech0

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Posts: 12985
  • Total likes: 3449
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
    • View Profile
  • Location: not lakewood
  • Programs: DDF
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #394 on: October 29, 2015, 08:14:42 PM »
Does that new window run in a separate process?
Why don't they make it that when it crashes it doesn't ruin the whole thing as in chrome
don't know
The day i learned that i went crazy... Gotta love learning something new in excel...
yup. it was almost as exciting as pinned browser tabs!
Workflowy. You won't know what you're missing until you try it.

Offline aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 18802
  • Total likes: 14894
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 14
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #395 on: October 30, 2015, 09:39:33 AM »
Does that new window run in a separate process?
According to task manager it starts as a separate process and then they merge together.
Feelings don't care about your facts

Offline mancunian

  • Dansdeals Lifetime Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 1303
  • Total likes: 18
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #396 on: October 30, 2015, 09:45:56 AM »
In windows 8 it always looks like workbooks separate process in task manager but when it crashes the whole thing crashes. I'll see what happens this way.... Unless someone here knows

Offline aygart

  • Dansdeals Lifetime 10K Presidential Platinum Elite
  • *******
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 18802
  • Total likes: 14894
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 14
    • View Profile
    • Lower Watt Energy Brokers
  • Programs: www.lowerwatt.com
Feelings don't care about your facts

Offline skyguy918

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 4079
  • Total likes: 837
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Queens, NY
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #398 on: October 30, 2015, 10:11:00 AM »
There are significant limitations to running 2 instances of excel, especially if you want them to be able to interact at all. The biggest one for me is that copy/paste is treated as coming from an outside program - ie no paste formula, format, etc. The only time I use 2 instances is when the first is busy running a macro that will take a while.

Offline skyguy918

  • Dansdeals Presidential Platinum Elite
  • ********
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 4079
  • Total likes: 837
  • DansDeals.com Hat Tips 1
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
  • Location: Queens, NY
Re: Excel Problem
« Reply #399 on: October 30, 2015, 10:15:01 AM »
There are significant limitations to running 2 instances of excel, especially if you want them to be able to interact at all. The biggest one for me is that copy/paste is treated as coming from an outside program - ie no paste formula, format, etc. The only time I use 2 instances is when the first is busy running a macro that will take a while.
BTW, someone at my company came up with a really cool trick to make use of the multiple instance concept. Basically, you can't normally make use of all your CPU power (ie multiple cores) from a macro. So let's say you have a macro that's supposed to loop through a bunch of 'cases' and create output for each set of 'case' inputs. Instead of just letting it loop, the macro opens multiple instances of Excel and assigns 'cases' to each one for processing, then stores all the results in the sames spot. If you have 4 cores, you can finish the run of 'cases' close to 400% faster.